Gone, Baby, Gone

How was your Fourth?  Mine was great.  I mean, as great as a mid-week holiday with oppressive heat and a sick baby can get.  The first half of the day was spent like this:

In the afternoon, when I started grilling hot dogs and bacon cheddar burgers, I peeped a house full of handsome goodlookings a couple of yards over.  My suspicious eye went up at the fact that there didn’t seem to be any women in sight, then one of them got a little flirty FROM TWO YARDS OVER and I seriously considered ditching my mom and my baby to go over and see what the happs were.  That baby, however, had other plans for me.  Seems she got a fever and was feeling under the weather.  She didn’t even want to play in her new water table or run through the sprinklers. 

So I hot footed it down to the drug store for some meds and came home.  The evening included lots of snuggles and kisses and prayers that the fever would go away cause I needed to be free.  What do I mean?

Yesterday, Regan got on a plane and went to New Jersey for a whole week.  FREEDOM!!!

I had been looking forward to my mini-break for weeks, but when I took them to the airport I actually started to cry.  Last night when she called me on FaceTime, I cried some more.  I totally wasted night one of baby freedom.  I didn’t laze by the pool, I didn’t have a cocktail, I didn’t even cook dinner.  I was actually in the bed at 730pm on a Thursday night.

Tonight I have tennis so at least I can go to practice and not worry about getting home at a decent time.  Tomorrow I need to come up with something fun to do.  Mayhaps I’ll go see the movie with nekkid menz in it.  Yes, I know it’s supposed to be bad, but I likely cannot pass up a chance to see Cha.nning Ta.tum do the pe.nis pop.

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gone, Baby, Gone

  1. dmac says:

    Chedder burgers sound delish!

    It’s always funny to me how I sooooo look forward to being home alone but after just a few hours, I get lonely. I don’t know what I’d do with a full week of freedom, lol!

  2. Rose's Daughter says:

    I’m so afraid this is going to happen to me when I go to New York next month ! But enjoy your time!!!

  3. AmyG says:

    I am rolling.on.the.floor. You said penis pop :):):)

  4. jacquie2010 says:

    Enjoy the break! And I love that teal dress on you…it pops!!!

Say something

