The Complainer

Ever since finding out I was pregnant, I have been doling out non-stop complaints.  Due to no fault of my own, I always have an ailment.  First there were the weeks of constant nausea, then the swollen and sore bosoms, the teenage acne, the pain when I sneeze.  Oh and the constant sneezing!  It’s something every single day.  Even as I type this I am having a weird throbbing sensation in my left breast.  TMI?  Sorry.

I really don’t want to be the woman that is constantly whining, and I am afraid that Tim is ready to put his hands around my neck, but I can’t help it.  I think part of the problem is that I may look like I feel completely fine, while I secretly suffering some sort of malaise on the inside.  I want everyone to know that all is not well up under my ever increasingly tight clothes.

I promise to try to do better, but if I don’t can you cut me some slack for the next few months?

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Complainer

  1. CaliSlim says:

    Thanks for the warning! I’ll make sure I keep the ailments in mind. Sorry things are so uncomfortable. You know if I could make things better, I would. Thank you for being my pioneer. I’ll have nothing to fear when it’s my turn.

  2. Sherri says:

    Sure! I would share some of the other stuff you should expect but that no one will tell you, but then I would sound like a non-stop complainer.

  3. *Coop* says:

    Absolutely! I mean, you do have a na.ked person growing in your belly. Things are gonna get thrown off. Complain away.

  4. KKAve says:

    Aw man, this sounds like a friend of mine. Her doc suggested she try to find as many emotional outlets (friends who will agree to take complaint calls, pregnancy yoga, writing in a journal) as possible as not to wear her child’s dad down. I’m sure your friends will help and understand!!! It’s for the greater good. 🙂

  5. onefromphilly says:

    I also suffered from morning (all day) sickness. It passed as quickly as it came. All of the pains and different sensations that you fell are all very natural. You body has to expand in order to accomodate your little one. Your bossom is going into milk production. And you might develop other reactions, allergies, aches, and pains. BUT it’s all temporary. Call a buddy who has already experienced this stuff. We mothers can always talk an expectant Mom down off a ledge. My baby,hahahaha, is 19 and I still remember all of the things that happened to my body.

    Phone a friend, a new mom, or an old Mom like me. Try to give Tim a break. This is a wonderful experience having a baby grow in your womb, and I know you want to share it with him. But he call only sympathize he can’t empathize. He doesn’t have a uterus.

  6. Mrs TDJ says:

    It really does have friends who you can unload on. My BFF and I were pregnant at the same time, and 3 of my close friends had children under 2 while I was pregnant. As onefromphilly said, it’s so very helpful to talk to other moms who have been through it all. They have the best shoulders to cry on and they usually know just what to say to make things a little better. I’m sure that Keyalus has some wisdom and empathy for you. Hoping you feel better as you get further along.

  7. Lori F says:

    You’re excused from responsibility of any and all complaints for the next 18 years! Welcome to the Mom Club!!! As someone with a 13 y.o. & preggo again I can tell you that even when your body finally becomes yours again, you will most undoubtedly have continued gripes regarding parenthood. If it’s not one thing it’s another. You should call on any (or all) of your friends during these times to vent or pray for patience. Please feel free to add me to your list as well, you can email me for the number. You know I’ll give it to ya straight! Love ya! Hang in there!

  8. keyalus says:

    You get all the slack you want from me! Shoot, I’m still complaining post-partum. It seems like something is always wrong with me now and pregnancy is my favorite place to assign blame.

    That sneezing was the worst! I think I was stuffy and congested for my whole pregnancy. Thank goodness my doc was OK with me taking Zyrtec!

  9. Coming from someone who has never been pregnant but would like to be someday, I appreciate the honesty and realistic information about the TRUE experience, not just the baby showers and sonogram pictures ! LOL

  10. jamie says:

    all of that is just part and parcel of motherhood and being a parent. those that hve been there before will understand and make allowances for you.

  11. najalimu says:

    I know this is my first go ’round with the whole pregnancy thing. Perhaps a book to help Tim understand what’s going on with your body may be helpful. While I’m reading “What to Expect when you are Expecting” the hubby is reading “The Expectant Father” he seems to “get it” more than he “get’s me” most of the time these days :/

Say something

