The Grandmother

I was talking to my mommy over the weekend about what Young Foxy should call her.  For those of you that know or have met my momma, she is hip and young and, well, quite Foxy herself.  She hardly fits the bill of a typical grandmother.

Mommy informed me that she isn’t too fond of just being called “grandma.”  Too her it’s a bit country and she is already aghast that her daughter is going to be raised Southern.  I guess she assumed her grandchildren would always be raised as hip, progressive Northeastern children.  I’m not sure why since we’re from the Midwest, but I digress.

She threw out the option of being called, simply, Grandmother.  I told her I thought that was a bit stiff and impersonal.  To me, it doesn’t at all sound warm and endearing.

So we are now in discussions for what Foxy will call my mother.  The problem is that neither of us has any better ideas.  That’s where you come in, favorite readers!

What do your children call their grandmothers?  What did you call your grandmother?  Ever heard of a cool name for a grandmother?

Suggestions, please!

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The Grandmother

  1. SHERRI says:

    I like Gram

    I had a book as a little called I Love Gram.

  2. Tsiporah says:

    Why don’t you try calling her grandma, but in a different language. For example we call my mother’s grandma Bubbe (buh-bee), which is yiddish for grandma. Pick a language and look up the word for grandma and see what sounds good to you all.

  3. Lori F says:

    When my first born arrived, she had 3 grandma’s, and 4 grandpa’s. My mom, who also thought she was too young to be a grandma, decided on Memaw instead, which to me sounded even older, but hey, it was easy to say as it’s simply Mommy reversed! Sometimes I think that’s why Mom chose it! Her other grandma’s were on the other side of the family & great-grandma was dubbed Nanny while grandma was content to simply go by Gran. However, my little one never called her Gran. She made up her own name for her after partially hearing someone call her by a nickname at 18 mos old, and has since called her J.J. All the grandpas are Pawpaw and she discerns one from another by adding their first name in conversation.

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    I called my grandmothers Paffo (this was her nickname – no one knew why) and Grandma Lorene.

    My mom is called Matu – she made it up.

    I think I’d like to be called GiGi when it’s my turn.

    I’ve always liked GiGi too!

  5. keyalus says:

    My mom announced that she wanted to be called “Gramby”. I guess it is because her first name begins with a B.

    My MIL just wants to be Granny.

    Grandmother is definitely very formal! Makes me think of that old movie “Flowers In The Attic” and how they just called her “The Grandmother” LOL.

  6. Gladys says:

    I was very young when my maternal grandmother died. So I can’t remember what I called her. Most of my older cousins called her Grandma Gladys, though. I called my paternal grandmother Mama Dora because her first name was Doretha. My nieces and nephews call my mother simply Grandma or Granny.

    Something cute for your mom? Maybe just Nana or Nana plus her first name?

  7. wifey615 says:

    I have a MomMom. Her mother was called Granny. I also had a Grandmother and her mother was called Granny also.

    My mother is called G-Ma, and Grandma.

    Another family “grandmother” name was Jamma, very personal to the family as noone has been allowed to use that name yet. -my sister tried to use it with her grandchildren as was promptly (and not so polietly) that she would never be Jamma and to pick another name 🙂 I like it, so maybe your mother will too? I really like Tsiporah’s idea though.

  8. Jack says:

    I called mine grandma but my cousins called her Dede,not sure why because her name was Ann.

  9. busybodyk says:

    We call my grandmother Mema. She didn’t want to be called grandma either so my oldest cousin started it. I think I would like to be called Mema by my grandchildren when I have them.

    I really like GiGi too!

  10. ames says:

    My mom calls herself “granny” but my daughter calls her momma.I think the first grandkid just calls their grandparent what they hear. I called my paternal grandmother Bigmom and my maternal grandmother by her first name. I had not realized how much thought women put into the grandmother title until I was carrying my first. Women my mothers age were shocked she would go with ‘granny’ and already had their grandmother names thought out.

  11. I like Mimi. I’m vain like that, lol.

  12. pserendipity says:

    I was raised Southern, and am raising a true Southern gentleman. I’m not sure what there is to be “aghast” about. I think it’s quite an honor to raise an easygoing, down-to-earth, smart and honorable child.

    Did not mean to offend. I live in the South and am dating a true Southern gentleman!

  13. sundaze says:

    My granny’s had 10 kids and has a mess of grandchildren so she gets called a little bit of everything. Her name starts with a G so the older grands always called her Grandma Gxxx. The younger one have shortened it to Grandma G, Gran G (pronounced gran-gee like its all one word) and GiGi.

  14. Clu says:

    My Grandmother always requested to be called Nana. I have never called her Granny, Grandma, Grandmother…always Nana

  15. amyg says:

    My kids call my mom Yaya because that is how Ben pronounced grandma when he was younger 😉 I think yaya is greek for grandma, and we are not but it works anyway!

  16. Tiombe25 says:

    My girls call my mother NANA. my oldest calls her paternal grandmother Nana-Nana. I really like GIGI that sounds cool and hip!!! Grandmother is way too formal, i think.

  17. missmajestic says:

    My grandma was grandma. My nephew calls my mother Nana. He also calls his mother’s mother Nana. And the two grandmothers refused to make him choose 2 different names. So if their in the same room, he’s calling them both Nana. Everyone is confused but him.
    I like Mimi, my cousins call their grandmother that.
    I like Gigi too.

  18. Britt says:

    I favor Mimi and Gigi.

  19. doahleigh says:

    I’ve always officially called all my grandparents Grandma and Grandpa. We never decided we’d call them anything else, but in casual conversation, I often call them Gram and Gramps. Or g-ma and g-pa.

    My siblings have kids, and there was never a discussion about what the grandparents would be called. It’s just grandma and grandpa. These whole “what should they call you” discussions are new to me. So I’m no help, is what I’m saying.

  20. Dark & Lovely says:

    We call my grandmother “Mutha”
    My aunt likes for her grandkids to call her “Granna”
    GiGi is cool

    I see this and think of MC Hammer- Turn this Mutha Out! lol

    • Dark & Lovely says:

      LOL!!
      I just thought of my tennis teammate that recently became a grandma, she wants her grandchild to call her “Nina” she says that “Nina” means grandmother in some language (but she doesn’t know what language. Sounds like she made it up)

  21. fornot says:

    Go with Bibi (bee-bee)…. it’s Swahili for grandmother.

    This is my favorite suggestion so far! I hope she goes for this one!

  22. C says:

    In my family, there’s: GiGi, Grammie, MiMi, Ema (even though this is hebrew for mother). The GiGi and MiMi in our family are the hippest and they refuse to be called grandma.

  23. Ms. Smart says:

    I haven’t read any other suggestions but I call one of my grandmothers Nana (pronounced: Nah-Nuh).

  24. Shawn says:

    My son call’s his young hip Grandmother, Nana. She loves it!

  25. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I called my maternal g-ma Modere (contraction of mother dear) or Grandma Carrie.

    My paternal was Grandma Lottie.

    Sorry not much help..but I do like Gigi.

  26. Sissy says:

    In my family we have Mimi, which has since been shortened to Meem because my nephew is a nut. Abbey, short for Abuela, which is Spanish for grandmother, and a Gigi. None of these women were willing to be called grandma!

  27. onefromphilly says:

    My cousin’s kids call their Great-grandmother GiGi or GG for great grand. I ‘ll be called Gran P, G-Mom or like Tsiporah’s idea, Grandmother in another language.

  28. GatorGirl says:

    My sister’s kids use Mima (meemaw) for my mom, but I’m not crazy about it…I prefer Abi (abuela), Gigi, Mimi, Grams, and the above suggestion for Bibi is great. Good Luck!

  29. Mimi says:

    How about Lola? It’s the Filipino word for Grandmother.

  30. naijamodel says:

    This is so interesting… didn’t know there were so many options!

    Despite being in my 20s and childless, I’ve thought about this because my name means grandmother in my language. Literally. So I want to be called Yaya or Nyaya because they are super close to my name – just far enough away to be respectful.

  31. Laughing808 says:

    I call my maternal grandmother Mime (my-mee) and when my paternal grandmother was living I called her Ma, country I know…….

    I like the suggestions of GiGi and Yaya

  32. Coop says:

    I called my grandmother Granny Ruby. Very Southern.
    Nana (or nanna?) seems to be common nowadays.
    Or Nonna, grandmother in Italian (I think).

    I think Bibi is a winner.

  33. Honest says:

    My paternal grandmother was called “mommy Lolo” part of her name and I called my maternal grandmother by her first name which she hated. I blame my parents who had me call them by their first names when I was learning how to talk. Now I call my mom, ma and my dad by his nickname.

  34. t. sheree says:

    I call my mom’s mother Grandmommy…to this day. 😀 All of the other kids have followed suit, until the boys reach a certain age.

    My dad’s mother is Mee Ma…I know she doesn’t want that, lol.

  35. Sheena says:

    My son calls my mom: Grandma
    my grandma(his great-grandma): Maw-Maw

    Call his dad mom: Ge-Ge
    His dad’s grandma (his great grandma): Granny

  36. BK says:

    we called my grandmother Ma. all the grands call my mom Nana and their other grandparents Grandma *insert first name*

  37. Icey says:

    My grandson calls me GiGi…

  38. Icey says:

    My grandson calls me GiGi…I’m far too young to be called Grand anything!

Say something

