Converting

Tim and I went to look for cribs yesterday.  What?  You thought I had found one a few weeks ago?  Yeah, we never got that one.  It’s a good thing, because I saw it again and decided I really didn’t like it.

I have now decided that I like this crib.

Munire Majestic Safeside

Munire Majestic Safeside Crib

It’s well made, solid and beautiful in person.  I like the fact that it is different from the popular style of cribs today.  The sides are high rather than the back being high.

The only difference is this crib from most cribs that I have looked at is this one does not convert to a full size bed.  We discussed the pros and cons of convertible beds, and I really think that feature is unimportant to me. 

This bed will carry Foxy as an infant and it does convert to a toddler bed.  By the time she is ready for a twin or full-size bed, we’ll just get her a new one.  That would be 4 or 5 years.  And in 4 or 5 years I might like a whole different style and color of bed.

Did you buy a convertible crib for your baby?  Do you think convertible cribs are just the latest trend and not really necessary?

This entry was posted in Nursery. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Converting

  1. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I like the crib, I don’t think I have a solid opinion on convertibles or not. 🙂

  2. Nerd Girl says:

    I bought a convertible, so I’m biased. I’ve never regretted our decision to buy a convertible – one purchase and she’s set ’til college. I’m not a decorator at all, so I’m good with her having the same bed for the next 13/14 years.

  3. AR Gal says:

    Nice choice. I guess the main benefit of having a convertible is the convenience of not having to worry about looking for something to suit the child’s needs down the road.

  4. amyg says:

    We had a convertible and never converted. I do not think it is an important feature…some of them convert to a toddler size bed which is nice and will buy you some time before the full or twin size…by the time foxy is 2-3 years old she will be getting too big for the crib and you will want her out of it…Ben went to a toddler bed around 2 and Mia went to a twin bed around 2 years, 8 months…

  5. Ames says:

    I’d like to give my kid the opportunity to pick out their own furniture, I don’t like furniture that I have to assemble and I wanted a round crib so I didn’t consider a convertible.

    I don’t know if the convertibles are a trend.

  6. busybodyk says:

    It seems like everyone I know has a convertible. I’m not crazy about them either.

  7. Mrs TDJ says:

    We have a crib that was gifted to us from my sister in law. It’s not a convertible. No biggie for us. When the time comes, we’ll get the next step.

  8. TravelDiva says:

    It has been so long, but we did have a convertible and we did convert…not till college, but that crib/bed did get a lot of years and use out of it that justified the cost.

Say something

