Girl Power

First of all, let me say CONGRATULATIONS to my friend Petite Pearl who recently learned that she is carrying a precious baby boy!

When I first heard the news, I was all “yay!”  Then my second thought was “Foxy is going to be the only girl at her 1st birthday party.”  With PP’s boy and Baby Keyalus, those are my only two friends with children.  Then Foxy has two brothers and a boy cousin.  All boys.

Wait, are you still stuck on the fact that I am already 14 months into the future planning her birthday?  Hey, I’m a dreamer!

Tim has reassured me that Foxy will make girl friends in daycare or even in the neighborhood.  Eh, I don’t really see that happening in either case.

I suppose I’ll join a local mommy group in order to get her some girl friends.  Why do I care so much?  Well, quite frankly, I am thinking several years into the future when she can have tea and princess parties.  Somehow I don’t see Baby Keyalus outfitted in pink and wearing a tiara!

I certainly don’t mind her playing with boys.  It’s not like I want her to be all prissified like her momma.  But I want her to have both sides to play with.   I envision her playing in the mud with her brothers one day and playing with her barbie dream house the next.

She should be well-rounded!

Do your children have playmates of the same sex?  How do you go about making sure they have a diverse play group?  At what age does a diverse play group even matter?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Girl Power

  1. SHERRI says:

    HAH…. I have no idea and Jordan is almost 2. They don’t play “together” at this age. They play alone and try to take the stuff the other kid is playing with. 😉

  2. Ames says:

    When we got the nanny my daughter got a diverse play group because the nannies know each other. The kids play together at the park and have play dates and birthday parties organized by the nannies.

    Prior to that my kid was pretty isolated.

    I think the playmates matter pretty early. My daughter blossomed when she started interacting with other babies and toddlers.

  3. Petite Pearl says:

    Thanks for the shout out Momma Foxy! 🙂 I have a well spring of friends having babies in the fall, though several of them are boys, we will find Foxy a few girl playmates. She’s gonna be just like her mommy loving all the attention from the boys. 😉

  4. AR Gal says:

    Congrats Petite Pearl!

  5. CaliSlim says:

    NiecySlim will come! She’ll need more exposure to the big city anyway! 😆

  6. CaliSlim says:

    Oh and congrats Petite Pearl! Wonderful news!!!

  7. Congrats Petite Pearl!!!

  8. Ms.K says:

    My baby girl LOVES other kids. But she’s also at a family run daycare with other babies and bigger kids ( the oldest big kid is 7) but I think being there has made her very social and she’s only 5 months old( today) 🙂

Say something

