Things Can Always be Worse

There is a single mother’s blog that I read occasionally.  I only read it because her life is AWFUL and it selfishly makes me feel better about my situation.

Today I read this:

This complex is not my fave because some neighbors are annoying and some units are infested with roaches .. but I can’t really complain. I just hope I have decent neighbors and little or no pests.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Things Can Always be Worse

  1. Barista says:

    “little or no pests”? Aim high, girl!

    Seriously. I am so stuck on that line. It kills me. How did “little pests” become an option???

  2. S23 says:

    I don’t know why but this reminds me of that post you did where the security guard was too happy and friendly. It ranks up there with that in my mind. It shows your compassion for others. Oh well, guess that’s a lost cause.

    Gee, you’re right. I am a terrible person and have no compassion for others. 😐

  3. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I’m surprised at this one from you wifey. 😦

  4. CaliSlim says:

    Love you Babs, but I would have kept this one to myself. 😕

  5. Barista says:

    Wow, I guess I have no compassion either. I actually liked this.

    I guess you and I are just bad people that should only speak on unicorns and rainbows.

  6. GeckoGirl says:

    So am I the only person who googled the aforementioned blog? That said, I do feel bad for her but dayum, getting pregnant by a guy that you’ve only known for two weeks that turns out to be a rapist?!

    And I say cut Babs some slack. We’ve probably all had similiar thoughts before. And it’s not like she’s wishing ill things on the girl, it just makes her feel better about her own situation. Getting a D on a test isn’t so bad if the chick next to you got an F…

    I knew my more saavy readers would google it!

    • CaliSlim says:

      I googled it too. And her life has some challenges, but seems to be making the most of her situation… one she put herself in. I just cringed at the characterizing of someone’s else life as AWFUL. That was just a bit much.

  7. It’s reality. Somebody will always have it worse and it does make you appreciate your situation and circumstances.

    I’d take a unicorn, size small please. And sky blue.

  8. Jurista says:

    The first thing I did was highlight that statement and google it. I didn’t do it so that I could revel in her misery. I did it to put a face with the story. I see previous comments about the other blogger getting pregnant by someone she had only known two weeks. That woman’s decision doesn’t make this post here any better.

    The second thing I did was go back into the history of this blog and read a bit to try and get a feel for you. This is what I gathered:

    Reading for the SOLE purpose of making your life SEEM better is shallow. Point blank. If you don’t like something about your life, CHANGE IT. Don’t spend energy on comparing your life to the life of someone else. Refocusing that energy could be the difference between you trying to APPEAR happy and actually BEING happy.

    If there is something about your situation you don’t like, you can either change it or accept it. End of story.

    Instead of looking down your nose at her, you should probably find her as a friend because it’s obvious that misery loves company.

    Hmmm. I think perhaps you, and others, misunderstood when I said *why* I read it. I am most certainly NOT looking down at her. I feel sorry for her. Truly. And sometimes I feel sorry for myself. Reading about her issues helps me to put some things in perspective. Life ain’t so bad afterall, ya know…

    But I do thank you for your comments.

  9. Deljah says:

    Eh. Babs, how about you put a warning or disclaimer on your apparently “objectionable” posts, so folks can steel themselves for the shock?

    Let’s face it, everybody has their own motivations for reading particular blogs. Some folks may read *this* blog b/c of less than “puppies, rainbows and I-love-babies” reasons. that’s reality.

    Anyway, I googled the blog (after seeing that others did, lol). I read the blogger as hopeful: she has goals, she’s trying to make the most of her situation, loves her son, is trying to make beneficial decisions…best wishes for that sister!

    Best wishes indeed! And I have no doubt in my mind that people used to come to my other spot to watch the pathetic details of my dating life. A tragedy and a comedy!

    • jamie says:

      I always come back for the chance that I might see you in another pirate costume.

      oh- unicorns and rainbows are vastly over-rated.

  10. KJ says:

    We are all entitled to our own opinions. At the end of the day, Babs, this is YOUR blog and you may type whatever you’d like. A real reader wouldn’t have to “go back into the history of this blog and read a bit to try and get a feel for you.” I say if someone doesn’t like what they read here they should stop coming.

Say something

