Things I am Looking Forward to

It goes without saying that I am looking forward to holding that sweet baby girl in my arms, but there are a ton of things that I also daydream about:

Sleeping on my stomach– I’m a stomach sleeper.  I long for the days when I can truly get comfortable and sleep on my stomach with one knee juxtaposed.  Sure, I’ll still be getting up for feedings,  but those few hours on my stomach will be bliss!

A cold glass of Chardonnay or any other wine I can get my little hands on– Anyone that knows me, knows that I a missing my wine like a fat man misses cake.  I can’t wait!  Shoot, I might start poppin bottles in the delivery room.  Keep your jell-o and chicken tenders, cafeteria lady.  Can I get a pinot grigio?

Afternoons at the park–  I am really looking forward to packing the baby up in her stroller and heading to the park.  I want to lay out a blanket and just watch her watch the world.  I envision birds chirping, squirrels gathering nuts and a friendly ice cream man offering me and my daughter a tasty treat.  No pedophile.

Holidays– I truly am excited about the 2010 holiday season.  Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Oh my!  I am looking forward to her firsts all season long.  Putting up a tree this year will be extra special.  I’ll wrap tons of empty boxes so she can revel in opening them and feeling the paper in her hands.  Yes, I said empty boxes.  Nothing is too good for my baby!

Seeing those little eyes light up– As much as I hate putting her in any type of day care, I can’t wait for the days when I come to pick her up and she squeals with excitement.  I imagine there is no greater joy that the love your child has for you and they happiness that can be brought on by just the site of you.

What are some of the things you looked forward to after the birth of your first child?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Things I am Looking Forward to

  1. Krissy says:

    Stomach sleeping is something I was more than looking forward to after my little princess was bored however, finding ways to sleep comfortable on my tummy after she was out took a minute to adjust. It’s been 5 months now so tummy sleeping is back in full effect.

    I mostly looked forward to seeing her beautiful little face. Wondered if she was going to look like me ( and thank white jesus she does)

    The daycare thing, I wasn’t looking forward to going back to work or sending her to daycare. But when she was 2 months old she started daycare and it has been such a positive thing. My princess is very social and loves being around other kids and just people in general and the smile I get when I come to pick her up after work is always priceless!

    She just made 5 months yesterday and I’m already looking forward to her 1st birthday. Not that I want her growing up too fast but because I’m excited about planning her Halloween/birthday/costume party! It’s going to be awesome!

  2. fornot says:

    sleep on my stomach with one knee juxtaposed

    You DO know that sleeping like this is how Foxy got here in the first place, right?? LOL

    As for the wine, take that first glass easy. Your tolerance will be shot (pun!). I once didn’t have a drink for 6 weeks and glass numero uno of merlot had me buzzing out of control. So 9 months??? Can’t even imagine!

    I hate you!

  3. Ames says:

    I am still looking forward to tea at American Girl Place. I am looking forward to a lot of mommy-daughter excursions.

    I was excited about the kisses- which I now have to battle to get, I looked forward to my baby in the car seat kicking her feet, singing songs, chatting and sipping juice. It is all I expected. I love it.

    OMG I can hardly wait to get to American Girl. I’ve already warned Tim. We have a store in Atlanta, but I simply must take her to Chicago!

  4. keyalus says:

    Things I looked forward to about not being pregnant: No more swollen feet/ankles (flip-flops banished!), Liquor (and I’m not a big drinker), Sleeping on my back, Being unrestricted in exercise, Wearing fitted clothes (still working on that one LOL)

    Baby things: First real smile at me on purpose (the best!), Family Vacations, seeing Father and Son together, this Christmas (he was too young last year)

  5. Petite Pearl says:

    I’m looking forward to playing “this little piggy” with my baby’s toes. I love that game. I’m also looking forward to seeing my husband and son have their special moments.

    I also cosign on the glass of wine. Though I won’t be drinking wine if I’m nursing, not at first anyway.

    I plan on nursing for a full year. I will pump and dump (although I am told that isn’t necessary) in order to have the occasional glass of wine. I’m going to have a glass on my birthday!

  6. kimmy says:

    I was looking forward to the wine too. But I ended up nursing the first one exclusively for 2 years! She wouldn’t stop and refused my attempts at giving her formula after a year. So, I had to wait….well I did cheat a few times! Poor baby!

  7. sherri says:

    sleep

  8. Nerd Girl says:

    The thing I was most looking forward to was finding out whether we’d be raising a son or a daughter. I’m sure I would’ve been thrilled either way, but I was over the moon when the doc said “you have a daughter!”

    After that, I was looking forward to smiles, coos, first words, steps, and teeth, feeding her “weird” stuff when she started eating solids, and taking her to CA to meet the other half of her family.

  9. amyg says:

    I hate to burst your bubble, but if you are breasfeeding, you are not going to want to sleep on your stomach…

    Consider my bubble burst! 😦

    • Krissy says:

      So true @Amyg. Those boobs get SO big and swollen! It’s not gonna be comfortable at all. After the birth of my baby I was put on meds that aren’t recommended for breast feeding so I had to let my milk go. I was so sad about it too. But it’s for the best, my child is a greedy goose! lol

  10. Ames says:

    I breastfeed on demand. My boobs don’t even feel like they have milk most of the time and I sleep on my stomach. My kids gain weight, pee and poop a lot so I know they are getting (got) plenty.

    It was rough the first few days of engorgement but now we have a rhythm and I’m rarely engorged.

Say something

