The Pediatrician

I’m starting the pediatrician interviews today.  I’m not at all worried about this process, as I have very good insurance and there are a plethora of qualified medical providers in this city.

The first thing I did to begin the process was do a doctor look-up with my insurance company.  That query gave me a ton of options.  From there I looked at location and then I looked at the background of each doctor.

I narrowed down my search based on what school they went to.  Call me an elitist if you want to, but I absolutely prefer a doctor that went to an Ivy league medical school or my alma mater over the doctor that got his degree from the University of Guadalajara.  No joke.  The University of Guadalajara.  Did his degree come with a wedge of lime and a lick of salt?

So today I am going to a practice where the head just happened to graduate from the same school as me AND she has the same first and last name as my deceased grandmother which also happens to be the name I would have given to Foxy had I not been vetoed.

Hey, I believe in kismet.

I also have another interview scheduled Thursday at another practice.  This is based on a referral from my OB.

My question for you, my most astute readers, is what types of questions should I be asking.  What is important to me?  Do I care about sick appointments?  Whether the pediatrician will come to the hospital after Foxy is born?

Advice please!

This entry was posted in Foxy, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Pediatrician

  1. keyalus says:

    Hmmm…

    Yes. Make sure your doc will come to the hospital and has privileges at the hospital where you are delivering.

    If you are on the fence about vaccination you should probably ask your doctor if he’s OK with an alternative schedule or with you choosing to avoid certain vaccines.

    When you visit, see if the sick kids and the other kids wait in the same room. My doc has two entrances and two different waiting rooms.

    I did some googling to check out parent reviews of the practices. How long are the waits? Do they have Saturday hours? Who will answer a frantic phone call from me at 3AM?

    Other stuff aside, I just wanted to find a doctor I could like. I’m very happy with our choice and I have no idea where he went to school. I wanted a black doctor too so that was a factor for me.

  2. Krissy says:

    You want to know all of those things. I suggest that anything you can think of you write down. There is no such thing as a stupid question when it comes to someone who will be caring for your child. I would think having the doctor come check your baby out after birth would be important. You want to know how available the doctor will be to you once you’re home. specially since this is your 1st baby.

    My little princess got a great doctor by default. Her doctor was called in right after birth to check out her shoulder which had some nerve damage during birth. I loved that she came on a friday when I had the baby and also came back all weekend to check her out before we were released. She’s awesome.

  3. Nerd Girl says:

    My method was not quite so involved. I wanted a black, female pediatrician. There are only a few in town, only one was taking new patients – we have a winner!

    Fortunately, she’s been wonderful.

  4. pserendipity says:

    I don’t know what school my Doctor went to, I just cared that she was licensed to practice medicine. That means she was able to pass the same test as all the other ones. She is from Jamaica, so it may not have been a US School.

    In any case, I wanted to be sure that she paid attention to my child, and that she could offer practical as well as medical advice. My main concern was that I didn’t want anyone just throwing cough syrup at my baby and calling it a day, because I don’t like giving Aidan a lot of medicine. I wanted her to be thorough and actually care about my child. I was fortunate. Aidan LOVES going to the doctor, she has a great repor with both him and I, she doesn’t hurry or rush us out, her staff isn’t half bad, and she answers all my questions — even ones about his behavior.

    So, I guess what I’m saying is that book sense is very important when it comes to pediatricians, but common sense and caring go a longer way. Make sure you find a doc that has all three.

  5. amyg says:

    Most doctors these days (at least here) do not come to the hospital anymore – it is all about cost. The hospitals now have hospitalists that take care of you and yours while you are in…I learned this when Mia was in the hospital in feb. for pneumonia. Since the babe will be in the hospital for such a short time, this should not be a huge factor in your decision.

    What you should look for in a doc:
    definitely get personal references – I called all of the docs and people I respected when looking for a doc and OB here when we moved…I went through 2 pediatricians until I found the right one on #3. It is ALL about who you like and feel comfortable with. The doc I ended up going with is a male (I was looking for a female) but he is very well respected in the area and is very knowledgeable. I trust him completely and his practice is the right fit for us.

    Saturday hours are also a plus!!

  6. ames says:

    I would ask if they do text messages. My ped does and I love it for little stuff. I met my ped at dinner. She went to Howard with my husband’s childhood friend. She is also my sorority sister. She was engaged when we met and answered all my questions. I did research and liked the other doctors in her practice. They were old men with privileges at my top pick hospitals.
    Then she got married and soon after got pregnant and I realized a young female doctor is a bad idea. She is on a year long maternity leave.

  7. SHERRI says:

    In my state, peds come to the hospital after the baby is born to check them out. They are the ones who release the baby to go home.

    I just looked for one I had rapore with. That was most important to me.

Say something

