Proverbs 13:24

Last night Tim spanked the youngest Offspring.  And while he did so behind the closed bedroom door, I sat downstairs on the couch listening while a single tear rolled down my cheek.  It hurt my heart to hear the little boy crying out in pain.

Don’t get me wrong, the kid deserved it. He showed his ass at dinner and if he were my kid I would have spanked him too on the spot! But hours after his misdeeds, after I had delivered Babs’ style of punishment and I discussed with him why I did what I did, I was ready to drop it and continue smothering him with kisses.

His dad?  Not so much. You see he had left the children under my care for the evening, and when he learned of the show the youngest had put on, he decided a spanking was in order.

What did the Youngest do that was bad? Numerous things- the worst of which was calling me names and putting his feet on the table.  Did I mention we were in a public restaurant?  When I told him to sit up straight and get his feet off the table, he refused.  That was my final straw. He had enough warnings.  I promptly grabbed his food, including his drink and cookies and threw it away.

After the spanking, the Youngest came downstairs and looked at me pitifully.  I wanted to wrap my arms around him and give him kisses, but I knew that would elicit another spanking on MY behind  (and not the good kind).  So I sat there chewing my nails while he went to the bathroom to clean up his face.

After he came out of the bathroom, Tim smiled at him and said some nice words to him and gave him a hug.  The youngest smiled and looked at his dad lovingly.  The situation was over.

Later, Tim explained to me that he knows I don’t like spanking but he believes in disciplining his children now so that he doesn’t have problems with them later in their teen years.  He is laying the foundation for respectful, young men.  He told me that is probably only the third spanking he has ever received.  I told him I didn’t have a problem with him spanking them, but I just wasn’t prepared to be around when he did it.  I, too, believe in raising children with a firm hand.  

There is nothing worse than seeing an unruly child who disrespects or doesn’t mind his parents.

Do you spank your children?  Were you spanked as a child?

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Proverbs 13:24

  1. JennBMe says:

    I was and I do. I think it is necessary.

  2. Gladys says:

    Hell yeah I was spanked as a kid! My sisters spank my nieces and nephews, too. I think it is necessary as well.

  3. Honest says:

    I was only spanked once and I deserved it. I cursed in front a family friend. I could NOT believe my mom spanked me. I was never really a bad kid and when I was punished it was because of poor grades or something school related.

    I think it depends on the child. If my kid did what the youngest did I would have probably used your approach, remove them from the situation and whatever fun they’re having will be done for the next week but I don’t think I would have spanked. If this was a regular occurrence then maybe spanking would have been necessary.

  4. GatorGirl says:

    My sisters and I were spanked. Baby sis wasn’t spanked as much and you can definitely tell!
    No kids for me yet, but Hubby and I are on the same page about spanking…it’s necessary!

  5. ms.k says:

    My entire life I only received maybe 3 spankings. But that’s because I was a really good kid overall. I do believe in spanking tho and when my child gets a certain age she will know what spankings are. But I also believe in instilling good behavioral patterns early on. She’s going to know what’s acceptable and what’s not now while she’s small and she should carry that with her as she grows. I really dislike kids who misbehave and in public is worse. It shows me that their parents lack control. All my mom had to do was give me ” the look” and I knew not to keep pushing so I behaved. Jasmines gonna know ” the look” too. She already knows when I’m serious vs. Playing and she’s only 5 months old. I say start early parents. You’ll be happy u did.

  6. Miss Ali D says:

    I was spanked, and will spank my future children if it’s necessary.

  7. onefromphilly says:

    I’m the hammer in my household. My man-child is 19 and we’ve had a few spats over the years. His Dad is “Mr. let’s reason with a kid”. Yeah RIGHT!! He still tries my nerves every now and then. But when he sees me taking of the earrings and watch she knows he had better back down. My man child is 6’2” and 200lbs. And I still can and will take him to the concrete if he gets out of line. As long as your children are in your house they will try you! It’s just the nature of the beast. I concur with Tim’s philosophy.

    I was smarter than my child. I knew my Mom was straight gangsta. I did not try her too many times.

    • Sheena says:

      I’m with onefromphilly, he knows now when i get to moving fast and taking off jewelry, he better get to moving. I do believe he is gonna be bigger and taller than me, so I spank him when he does something wrong to let him know who the boss is always and forever. Although I was mainly spanked for my smart mouth.

  8. SimplyB says:

    I was reading Proverbs on Wednesday and there are SEVERAL verses that speak to this issue. I always thought there was only one….

    I was spanked as a child and I plan to spank my children. Hopefully it will not be the most used method of discipline but it WILL be an option.

  9. missmajestic says:

    I was spanked at ages 3, 11, and slapped at 13. And you best believe I remember exactly what it was for. Other than that I was a model child. I believe in spanking but if you have to do it everyday there is something else the parent isn’t doing right. I can still here my father saying “don’t make me take off my belt!”

  10. Ames says:

    We’ve agreed on our good cop and bad cop roles. I give hugs and kisses after discipline. Our strategy will use calisthenics more than spankings.

    • Dark & Lovely says:

      Calisthentics for punishment? That may instill in your child/children that exercise is a bad thing…I’m just saying.

      • ames says:

        My husband was an officer in the military. He raised his younger brothers and they actually enjoyed it but they respected him and obeyed. He usues it with his football players. He makes the kids drop and do 20 push ups if they curse or have sagging pants. It works for some odd reason. I see the kids get up feeling strong but they fear him. Men and teenage boys are odd.

  11. laughing808 says:

    I believe they spankings are necessary. If your child doesn’t learn early on how to behave and the ramifications for unruly behavior they grow up to be unruly adults.

  12. Jack says:

    My parents fought about this one, my dad was a big fan but my mother who was abused as a child was firmly against it. That being said I was spanked once(with belt) only and deserved it, I kind of burnt down a small forest when I was 8.

    That being said I believe kids should be spanked.

  13. AR Gal says:

    My mama stayed spankin’ me! LOL I was always doing things I had no business doing.

  14. Mrs TDJ says:

    Yep, I was spanked twice and deserved both. I mean, really, really, really deserved both. I suppose I should blog about those. Anyway, yes, I believe in it and will spank my son if the situation warrants it.

  15. I was spanked numerous times as a child and never got one that I didn’t really deserve. I do believe in spanking. I never had to spank my step-daughter. My ex-husband did it. I have only had to spank one of my nieces once. I do think its important for parents to be on the same page with this issue, even if only one of them does the actual spanking.

  16. Nerd Girl says:

    Yes, not often – on both counts. I pretty much believed my parents when they said they’d nut up wherever we nutted up. So I didn’t warrant or receive many spankings. I don’t think Lovegirl is going to be as compliant…..

    I prefer to talk/remove privileges/use timeouts, but I definitely spank Lovegirl when she’s totally out of control. The last spanking I remember doling out was last school year when she mooned (yes, mooned!) her class. I’m sure I’ve spanked her since then, but I remember that one. My husband is soooooo soft-hearted, I don’t think he’s ever spanked her, but he too believes in spanking. And he’s gone 5 days a week, so I do most of the disciplining anyhow.

    Tim has already warned me that he won’t be able to spank his daughter. So I’ll have to nut up on her. lol!

  17. fornot says:

    I had all sorts of hell beaten out of me as a child. And I wasn’t “bad,” but I had young parents who were raised in strict households, so every little transgression was met with corporal punishment. I think it was good for me (i.e. I don’t begrudge the memories or them), but I will not be a spanker.

    Oh, I’ll be a shaking, arm-yanking, firm-grasping somebody, but not a spanker. I think it’s important to exhibit physical strength to make your point, especially for boys, but spankings tend to be more about a parent’s perceived duty than about establishing the household hierarchy and respect. The order of the house and expected rules for behavior can be conveyed without the leather straps and switch-getting rituals of my youth.

    In summary (of this dissertation LOL), I am for physical correction of behavior, but not for the theatrics of spanking.

  18. S23 says:

    I was spanked as a child and I spank Tyler. I can remember at like 2 or 3 he cut the fool in the middle of hte mall and I whipped his azz on the spot. I will never forget how people looked at me and then a man told his daughter “that kid deserved it.” Now I don’t have to spank as much b/c i can simply mention “I need to go find my belt.” And he will straighten up. I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t be like that if I hadn’t laid down a foundation that I will whip his azz on sighgt no matter where we are if he is out of line.

  19. trish says:

    I can count on my hand how many spankings I received. One spanking though I didn’t deserve and I was upset that my dad didn’t believe me.

    I will spank my future children if they need it. While I didn’t get many, some of my siblings did. I believe each child is different and some need them more than others.

  20. K. Rock says:

    I do believe in spanking and that it is necessary. There is a right way to do it so that it is effective. I have found that when you start early with it, you don’t have to do it as much as they grow up. We spanked my son a lot when he was younger but I found that at about 5, we just about didn’t have to do it anymore because he had learned to listen to us or there would be repercusions.

Say something

