The Weekend

Woohoo!!! It’s the weekend.  And I.Am.Ready!

Tonight the Girl arrives and I am super excited.  I miss my bestie from the midwestie!  I haven’t seen her since the weekend Keyalus got married.  That’s nearly two years. 

Tomorrow my favorite girls are throwing me a baby shower.  I LOVE my girls.  I can’t wait to celebrate with all of them.  Now, if I could just figure out what I am going to wear.

I’m not even letting the forecasted rain get me down.  It will be a lovely day no matter.

Whatchu doin this weekend?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Weekend

  1. Nerd Girl says:

    Home. Work. Blech! But it is supposed to rain here as well, so I guess it is a good weekend for school stuff.

    Have big fun at your shower!!

  2. Tiffany In Houston says:

    Lots of errands. I pick up my wedding dress and schedule the alterations, need mani/pedi badly and take clothes to the cleaners.

    Me and fiance are FINALLY going to the movies as well. Getting our snacks from the dollar store..:)

    Enjoy the shower!

  3. Ms.K says:

    I don’t have any particular plans this weekend. Washing some clothes tomorrow and if its nice enough maybe i’ll take Princess J for her 1st swim.

  4. Ms.K says:

    oh and have a great shower.

  5. AR Gal says:

    Nothing much. We are due for rain too.

    Have fun at the shower!

  6. Ms.K says:

    you know I just thought of something from reading your droid post about the 5 packs of diapers. Are you having a diaper raffle at your shower? I did and I didn’t have to buy a pack of diapers or wipes for the 1st 4 months because people got me so many boxes. One of my friends suggested I do it because she told me when she had her daughter she didn’t buy diapers for at least 6 months and I was SO with that plan lol.

    What’s a diaper raffle?

    • Ms.K says:

      Well it’s usually a little card with a cute little saying on it:
      “To add a little extra glee

      And help the parents-to-be

      Please bring a little extra from the heart

      An unwrapped pack of diapers

      to give them a good start!

      For a chance to win a fabulous prize!”

      something like that and we gave numbers to everyone who brought diapers and by the end of the shower someone got a prize. At my shower we gave $25 visa check cards as the prizes.

      I got a good 6 boxes of diapers and various packages of wipes. Just on april 3rd I bought my 1st package of wipes and last weekend bought my 1st box of diapers because I finally ran out and Jas is going on 6 months on the 30th.

      I am so going to do this as soon as one of my friends has a baby!

      • Ms.K says:

        You should, it’s a really nifty( yes I said nifty) idea and it also seems to save people from trying to figure out what to get for baby. I had shower bags with just wipes and boxes of diapers and I loved it lol.

        My brother’s Fiance got a good 20 packages of diapers at her shower ( her family is Mexican IJS!) so she still hasn’t had to buy diapers yet either and my niece is 4 months old. Although the baby was a big girl and she has to return lots of the newborn diapers.

        Oh and that’s a plus as well, you can return the diapers back to target even if you didn’t get them from there. As long as they carry the size they will let you exchange or give you a refund. All you have to tell them is that you have no receipt because they were baby shower gifts.

  7. CaliSlim says:

    Ms.K – That would have been a great idea if Babs had more friends with babies planning her shower! This is the first I’ve heard of such a thing. This blog introduces me to a whole lot of new things!

    • keyalus says:

      I’ve got a baby and I’ve never heard of a diaper raffle LOL. I actually don’t find buying diapers to be as traumatic as I thought. My box from Costco lasts forever! Now that formula is another story…

    • Ms.K says:

      @Calislim Well next time you or one of your friends is expecting you’ll have an extra little idea for the shower.

      @Keyalus I had no what it was either. This was new for me. I was glad my friend mentioned it to be though because it’s a really good Idea. And Diapers( as well as formula) can get expensive, so free diapers and wipes are awesome! lol

      • CaliSlim says:

        😯

        Ms. K – Don’t be putting CaliSlim and birfin babies in the same sentence! 😆

        But thanks for the great suggestion for the future!

  8. Gladys says:

    Tonight…a dinner at church.
    Tomorrow…hopefully get a run in, drop some donations off at a women’s day shelter, baby shower for a friend, then hanging with another friend afterwards, may be getting my carpet cleaned as well
    Sunday…group training run (5K is May 2!), bookclub, and that’s it.

  9. Gladys says:

    After the dinner tonight..I may go to a party given by my Delta alumnae chapter in conjunction with one of the graduate Alpha chapters. We do the party every year.

  10. ames says:

    Have a lovely weekend. I love showers. One of my cousins friends has twins and she bought a pack of diapers every week of her pregnancy. She said it made her feel prepared.
    I thought that was a good strategy. We use a cloth diaper service. Its an unlimited supply for a flat monthly rate.

Say something

