Push It REAL Good!

Blogger’s Note:  The intent of this post is completely lighthearted.  I most certainly do not expect Tim to give me a gift upon presentation of his daughter.  Thus, all negative comments and thinly veiled insults aren’t necessary on this lovely day.

I remember a few years ago I was chatting with a coworker who was expecting his second child.  He was ruminating on what to get his wife for her “Push Gift.”  Never having birthed a child, I had never heard of such a thing and asked him to explain the concept to me.

He told me that men are supposed to give a gift (usually jewelry) to their wives as encouragement and gratitude for the work they have done to carry the child and to push it out.  After the birth of his first daughter, he presented his wife with a ring.  For the second daughter, he was thinking of getting her the matching bracelet.

Zing!  I like the way these Southern men think!  I had never heard of such a thing, but immediately loved the idea.  Shoot, what woman doesn’t like gift giving scenarios!?  I filed that concept in the back of my mental rolodex, noting I’d need it later when it was my turn to push out a baby.

Fast forward three or four years later, and I came across the phrase “Push Gift” again on one of my baby message boards.  How could I have forgotten?  Immediately my mind started to race, thinking of what type of gift I would like to receive.

Hmmmm.  Something timeless that I could wear to remember the special day that Foxy arrived.  Perhaps a simple bauble with engraving that says something along the lines of, “Thank You for the most Beautiful Daughter Ever.”  Or perhaps a piece of BLING! that will make all my girlfriends swoon!

When I mentioned the idea of a push gift to Tim, he looked at me like I had just spoken Russian.  Clearly, the push gift is not a concept widely known across the South.

*sigh*

Have you ever heard of the Push Gift?  Did you receive any type of beautifully wrapped gratitude upon bearing your children?

This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Push It REAL Good!

  1. AR Gal says:

    I’ve never heard it referred to as a push gift but yes I know of men who have done this for the mother of the child.

  2. Krissy says:

    Never heard of it. But I did get a wrapped gift. My little princess J wrapped in a hospital blanket. That was all the gift I could ask for( specially after not seeing her until 3 hours after she was born)

  3. musings123 says:

    I just received my weekly email from the Bump and the topic was Push Presents. How timely!

  4. keyalus says:

    I heard of this but figured The Mister wouldn’t be up on it. I wasn’t expecting anything LOL.

    My mother did get me a push present though! She got me one of those Pandora bracelets with a little baby carriage charm. Apparently she gave it to me in the hospital and I tried it on and everything. Problem is that I don’t recall this AT ALL. In fact, she says I left the bracelet behind when we left the hospital and she rescued it…that is how out of it I was the whole time. She gave me the bracelet when I visited home in March and I had no recollection of ever receiving it.

    If Tim does get you something…have him or someone else hold on to it!

    You def were out of it when I came to see you. lol!

  5. Deljah says:

    Yes, I’ve heard of it, but it seems silly to me. What do moms who birth by c-section? (rhetorical) Obviously, I didn’t get a gift, lol. Hmmm…maybe I’d feel more favorably if I had, lol!

    I like your disclaimer at the head of your post. :o) Way to nip the foolishness in the bud.

  6. onefromphilly says:

    HEY!!! I want a do-over. I never heard of this 19 years ago. HMPH!

  7. Jack says:

    I asked a couple of ladies in the office and they had heard of them! When I asked my mom she said I was gift enough for her!

  8. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I have never heard of such, but rather fancy that idea! After all, you have done all the heavy lifting!! 🙂

  9. Sheena says:

    I have never heard of this until a co-worker was pregnant and her husband have her a gift for the birth of their first son.

  10. V Renee says:

    Never heard of it, but I’m definitely filing it away. I think it makes complete sense! Lol

  11. sherri says:

    What’s wrong with a push present?????

    • sherri says:

      To answer the question, yes I received push presents. 🙂

      No, TBM had not heard of them. I schooled him. Yes, he turned his nose up at first. Then he came around.

      Pearl earrings for the first. Ring for the second. I only wear 2 rings, so he took that back and returned with my oh so cute mini laptop. (It’s hot pink!).

      I think it’s a cute idea. We’re lucky to have the littles at all and I did most of the work. 🙂 The PPs commemorate the end of this part of the journey. I would expect the same for any milestone. I hooked him up when he turned 40. When I earn my masters, we’re going to France. Some people give gifts to their fiance on the wedding day. Same concept.

  12. Ames says:

    This is the first time I have heard of it labelled as ” push present”.

    I made a list of things I wanted immediately after delivery. Most were food related. If I wore jewelry I might have put on my list.

  13. Ms. Smart says:

    I have heard of them. A good friend of mine got a crazy nice upgrade to her wedding rings. She’s expecting a second child. I wonder what he’ll get her this time. I’m indifferent about the gift because no matter what, the baby still has to come out.

  14. Nerd Girl says:

    I read an article about this (a few years ago) in the NY Times (I think).

    I didn’t expect or receive anything. All I wanted was a medium veggie lovers pizza! As soon as I was wheeled out of recovery I consumed all 8 pieces and went to sleep!

    Scratch that. I guess I did get one – he bought me a charm with three diamonds – one for each of us – shortly after she was born.

  15. Honest says:

    Never heard of it but I’d like gift. Something crazy that I’d never get for myself.

  16. SimplyB says:

    I have never heard of a push gift but I like the idea!!! I would even accept a little card.

  17. Miss Ali D says:

    I’ve heard of push presents, several of my friends have received them (usually jewelry). I like gifts, so hope to receive one as well. 🙂

  18. sundaze says:

    I don’t know that I’ve ever heard them referred to as such, but I’m familiar with the concept. Some jewsish friends introduced me to the custom years ago. I initially thought it was a cultural thing.

  19. Barista says:

    I don’t think it’s just a southern thing. 2 of my closest friends and my sister (all in Michigan) all got push gifts…and it was jewelry in every case.

  20. amyg says:

    I have heard of it and think it is a cute idea. I did not receive anything, but that is ok!!

  21. Petite Pearl says:

    I just recently heard of this when a friend from grad school asked on FB why they were necessary. Him and his wife had a baby in january and apparently, she schooled him on it. Honestly, I love presents but I’m not expecting J to buy me a gift. He may do something to mark the occassion but it won’t necessarily be a gift of that proportion. I would be happy with a hand written letter from him or something like that.

  22. kimmy says:

    I heard it the first time that I gave bith. Heard if from a friend who actually received BLING! LOL I told my husband and he told me to push the thought right out of my head! 😦 But he wants a third child so bad. I really don’t want another but if I do have one, he better give me a really nice push gift this time!!!

  23. kimmy says:

    sorry for the typos!

  24. missmajestic says:

    born and bred in the South, never heard of a push gift.

  25. Sissy says:

    I’m aware a several Family members and friends receiving jewelry as push presents. I’ve never given it much thought – I thought it was commonplace.

  26. Pinky says:

    Always late to the party. I got a gift. I didn’t know it was called a push gift and I’m pretty sure my Momma put a bug in his ear. It was a beautiful antique-like diamond necklace. I’m wearing it right now.

Say something

