Scenario

You and your significant other are traveling together on vacation. 

The flight is 4+ hours.

The flight is full.

Prior to boarding the gate agent calls your significant other up and offers to upgrade them to first class if they would like.

You will have to remain in Coach.

Your significant other returns happily with his 2B seat while you are stuck in the back in a center seat.

Would you be pissed?

This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Scenario

  1. Yes. If we both can’t upgrade, then NOBODY upgrades. I certainly wouldn’t do that to him.

  2. Miss Ali D says:

    Exactly what TIH said!

  3. brannon says:

    Yes, I most certainly would and he would no longer be my S/O.

    Who does that?

  4. Ms.K says:

    I don’t know that I’d be pissed. I think I’d have something to say about him not consulting with me 1st. That would be my only complaint about the whole thing.I don’t sweat small shit tho so I think I’d get over it rather quickly and I would also hope he’d offer me the upgraded seat! 🙂

  5. AR Gal says:

    @Ms. K, me too regarding him offering me the seat. LOL

    Seriously, I be a bit tiffed but considering the plane crashes that have happened lately he could sit where he wants as long as we make it there alive and in one piece. Then again I don’t know that I’d want him apart from me if we were crashing to a fiery death. I’m so indecisive.

  6. ames says:

    Not if he gave me the seat. Is there some honor in suffering together?

  7. cbean says:

    Humph. I would let him get his drank, get comfy and just as he nods off in his super reclined position. I would be tapping on his shoulder and tell him it’s time to switch seats.

  8. K.I.M. says:

    This happened once. My dude at the time let me sit in first class cuz I had never experienced it before. It was kind of good cuz we were late and I was irritated with him for making me run through Hartsfield-Jackson. The 4 hour separation made seeing him in Vegas a little sweeter.

  9. CaliSlim says:

    Nah. Upgrade means free drank and food. We WOULD be switching back and forth tho!

  10. kimmy says:

    I would probably let him sit there. BUT I would be pissed if he didn’t offer me the seat first.

  11. Ang says:

    I would rather we sit together. However, I would b pissed that he didnt think to offer it to me. I would view it as selfish and as a preview of coming attractions.

  12. CreolePeach says:

    I’d definitely be pissed. If we can’t both upgrade, he should offer me the seat. If he doesn’t, it lets me know his level of consideration for me. Deuces!

  13. Barista says:

    Pissed and throwing a HUGE fit. Yup, all up in the airport.

  14. Nerd Girl says:

    I can’t see this happening, but just to play along…nah, I wouldn’t be pissed. My sole goal on a plane is to sleep – I can sleep in coach, business, or first class equally well. He can enjoy the perks of 1st class while I sleep.

  15. 1969 says:

    After ten years, mine is trained. He would come over and ask me what I want to do. LOL

  16. Deljah says:

    No, I wouldn’t be pissed. I would want one of us to get that upgrade and switch off! If not,he could at least bring me some snacks back in coach! lol Dibs on the next upgrade!

    Neither hubby or I have flown first class, so I’d be all for it and volunteering to be bumped up as well!

  17. missmajestic says:

    yeah I’d be pissed. He should ask what I thought or wanted before taking the seat. Or offer me the seat. Or not as long as he checked with me first. But to just come back like “I’m in first class, see you on the ground”-um no not gonna work.

  18. Coop says:

    Uh…yeah. What kinda man would do that?
    Oh, wait. Did the woman go to first class?

    Wait. Was this a homosexual couple?

    I’m thinking too much.

  19. only1tcb says:

    I would be pissed…and we’d probably not be significant others for much longer.

  20. Honest says:

    So long as he accepted the seat change and gave it to me so I could sit up there I’ll be happy. My co worker who gets to fly business met his wife in Europe for an impromptu vacation while he was on a business trip. When they flew back he gave her his business class seat and sat in coach. The airline stewardess was impressed so she gave him unlimited champagne and wine the entire flight.

Say something

