My Last Saturday

38 Weeks 6 Days

Yesterday was my last Saturday.  My last Saturday to do whatever the hell I wanted (with the limitations of a woman who is nearly 39 weeks pregnant).  This time next week, my permanent sidekick will be in the hiz-ouse.  Trips to brunch and Tar-jay will require planning…and matching ensembles.  I jest! Not really.

My mommy rolled in to town late Friday.  On Saturday morning we were up and at ’em.  We set out (as we always do) in search of a tasty meal.  We found it at Highland Bakery.

She had seen them featured on the food channel and I had never been, so it was an easy choice.  The place was hopping, as I expected on a Saturday morning, but we only had to wait about 15 minutes.  Once seated we were mesmerized by the plates of deliciousness whizzing past us.

My mother ordered the Sweet Potato Pancakes.  The were huge and gooey and rich.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

I ordered the French Toast.  This monstrosity was made with challah and filled with peanut butter.  Then it was topped with carmelized bananas, which happen to be my kryptonite.  I will dip it low and pick up slow for some carmelized bananas!

French Toast

We both loved our dishes.  And we both loved each other’s dishes.  So we did what any smart O’Leary woman would do…we split them both!  Honestly, there wasn’t much room in my tummy for all that sweetness, so I couldn’t do that much damage to my plate.  My mother, on the other hand, gave it a good O’Leary try.

I will be back to Highland Bakery (perhaps even before Tuesday) to try some of their more savory dishes.  Everything that I saw looked spectacular!

After a couple of errands we headed to a movie.  I let mommy pick (since she was paying) and we ended up seeing Death at a Funeral.  It.Was.Awful.  Like, not just bad, but awful.  Had it been a netflix rental I would have returned it before even seeing the ending.  I caught a couple of winks during the film and am sure that whatever I was dreaming about was better than that crap that was on screen.

Don’t waste your time.

In the evening, we headed out for another meal.  This time it was to Scalini’s, a restaurant known for making labor-inducing eggplant parmesan.  A good meal that could possibly bring on the noise AND the funk?  Sign me up! 

It’s actually not far from my house, and I had been there several times over the years.  Their garlic knots are the bomb diggity and I love their salad.  I used to go there all the time for bread, salad and wine.

Eggplant Parmagianno

I’m happy to report that their entrees are just as yummy.  The eggplant parm was magnificent.  Truly the best I’ve ever had.  Mommy loved her veal as well.  It is some 12 hours later and my water has yet to break, but if I go into labor within 48 hours of eating the eggplant parm, I get to go back and eat for free.  C’mon Foxy, earn your mommy that meal!

All in all, it was a great (but tiring) Saturday.  I can’t even begin to imagine what next Saturday is going to be like.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, Food, Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Last Saturday

  1. Coop says:

    That french toast looks divine! Reminds me of the french toast at R. Thomas. Their bananas aren’t caramelized, but…still so good.

    June 1st!

  2. krissy says:

    Next Sat is going to be tiring for other reasons but you’ll love it 🙂

  3. busybodyk says:

    Highland Bakery is one of my favorites! So glad you and your mom enjoyed it! Start getting as much rest as you can 🙂

  4. tanyetta says:

    Your sweet baby will be here soon! Congratulations Babs! 🙂

  5. t. sheree says:

    Yay! Exciting times! 😀

  6. Dark&Lovely says:

    Mmmmm Highland Bakery is my fav!! Those sweet potato pancakes are divine!!
    I feel ashamed that I’ve never been to Scalini’s, I used to live right around the corner from there for about 3 years and I never tried it. And when I texted you saturday and told you I had a feeling about Foxy coming, I didn’t know you hadn’t been to Scalini’s yet. Come on Foxy!!! Auntie D&L is getting anxious!!

  7. AR Gal says:

    Babs you take the greatest pictures!

Say something

