Love Has Taken Over

We all knew it would happen.  Foxy would steal my heart.  It was inevitable. 

Consider my heart stolen.

Foxy’s arrival was not at all what I had envisioned.  Matter of fact, it was everything I feared it would be.  We arrived at the hospital for induction on Tuesday evening at about 800pm.  By 930pm, I was having steady contractions.  Before too long, I was in real pain.  I found myself going to the bathroom several times an hour, and each time it was an ordeal.  Tim had to help with my IV and other cords hooked up to me.  I absolutely hated getting in and out of the bed.  Hospital beds are not comfortable.

Sometime in the middle of the night, the nurses offered me pain meds through my IV.  They also promised me the meds would help me get some sleep.  What they didn’t tell me is that the meds would make me loopy and vomit-y.  Ugh.

The next morning I was only about 4 centimeters dilated.  I was offered an epidural.  I had previously thought I’d be a warrior and make it to 7 or 8, but I couldn’t get those meds in me fast enough.  So much so that I became quite snappy at folks who were in the hall dilly dallying.  Everything after the epidural was a blur.

There were some problems with her heartbeat slowing down with each contraction.  I was given oxygen.  There were hushed whispers of a dreaded c-section.  Then I was told to “practice pushing.”  My practice pushes showed the doctor that I was able to push the baby out.  All of the sudden it was showtime.  Lights went up, scrubs were put on and lots of people were in the room.

After about 6 pushes, she was out and whisked away for oxygen.  I was so mad I didn’t get to really see her.  But I was so doped up that I probably wouldn’t have remembered the moment anyway.  Thankfully, my mom took a few pics so I could see the moment she made her debut.  There was even a pic of Tim pulling her out.  Real science fiction type stuff.

Here we are four days later.  I am exhausted and sore.  But I am totally and completely smitten. 

I can’t kiss her or hug her or  love her enough.

She is what I waited for.

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Love Has Taken Over

  1. cbean says:

    Awwwww, a mother’s love is immeasurable. She is such a beautiful baby. I know she will be loved and protected by two wonderful parents.

  2. Krissy says:

    And that’s folks is exactly how it happens. The moment you hold your child everything you went through to get there him no longer matters. I’m so happy you now get to experience the joy of motherhood. Its an awesome feeling.

  3. Deljah says:

    Awww, that’s so sweet! A child just multiples love exponentially for all the lovers involved. so wonderful. Congrats again.

    When they hand you your child, they should say, “Meet the REAL love of your life!” No knocks against the dads, but yeah. 🙂

  4. I thank you so much for publishing this..She’s so gorgeous! Now get back to sleep and get some rest. I will call you in a few days once you have gotten a routine in. 🙂

  5. Mel says:

    Awwww she is beautiful!
    Congratulations to both of you and hello little Foxy. Welcome to the big world! 🙂

  6. Gladys says:

    May you now be known as Foxy’s mom! Excited for you on this new journey!

  7. kimmy says:

    OMG! She is too cute! You’re making me want another one!

  8. Mick says:

    She is so pretty! Congratulations!

  9. amyg says:

    She is so pretty! If it makes you feel any better, I ended up with two epidurals for each kid. I could not handle the pain. Even though I could not feel anything below the waste I was still able to push them out! I hate that your labor was hard! She is so cute so it was worth every minute 🙂

  10. Trish says:

    She looks so peaceful in your arms. Thinking about labor terrifies me but I know when the time comes I’d be ready. I can’t wait to be a mother one day.

  11. Beautiful picture. You both look so content.Take care of yourself and sleep when she sleeps ! LOL

  12. jamie says:

    “She is what I waited for”.

    YOU SAID IT ALL!

    God be with you and yours.

  13. CaliSlim says:

    😀

  14. Barrister says:

    Most of us know the awesomeness of a mother’s love from a child’s perspective – it makes you feel like you are the center of the universe. I can only imagine that just looking at your precious baby opened up your heart and re-wired your brain so that you can nurture her and provide for her every need. God made us so wonderfully imperfect, didn’t he!

    You did a great job, Babs (& Tim). That’s one gorgeous baby.

  15. Roshanda says:

    She is gorgeous! I love this picture of you two. Just wait until she is able to return your hugs and kisses.

  16. crafteemama says:

    Congratulations, Babs (and Tim)! Welcome, Foxy…she’s precious!!!

  17. FarFromPerfect says:

    Look at those little feet… TOO CUTE! Congratulations again!

  18. AR Gal says:

    Just lovely.

  19. Ang says:

    Look at little Foxy/Bab-sy. She’s a doll! Definitely, get your rest and sleep when she sleeps. Enjoy this moment.

  20. kena says:

    Just makes your heart smile doesn’t it?

  21. OnlineDiva says:

    Congrats!!!!

  22. t. sheree says:

    What a beautiful picture.

  23. Coop says:

    She’s adorable! I’m so happy she’s healthy.
    Now, don’t start spoiling us with blog posts. You’ve got a baby to raise and sleep to get!

  24. C says:

    Adorable!! You two are meant to be. Enjoy the moments.

  25. Nerd Girl says:

    She is so precious! Enjoy these moments – they really do go by oh so quickly. Sooner than you would ever suspect you won’t be able to imagine that she was ever a newborn.

  26. Miss Ali D says:

    She is just so sweet and precious!

  27. ondrea says:

    Congratulations again and again….can’t wait for all of the pictures/stories you will be posting as she grows.

  28. JennBMe says:

    She looks like she is in heaven. Beautiful baby girl Babs!

  29. Tsiporah says:

    Your child touches a part of your heart you don’t even know exists. You both look so content.

  30. najalimu says:

    Congratulations Babs (and Tim)! She is abosolutely beautiful =)You will continue to fall in love with her… over and over and…enjoy these moments!

  31. 1969 says:

    Sounds like a perfect beginning to motherhood to me. Remember, nothing will ever go according to plan again but it’s okay….the blessings and happy times will far outweigh anything else.

    Enjoy it, it is indeed a wonderful thing.

  32. onefromphilly says:

    That’s YOUR baby! She’s a beauty.

  33. KJ says:

    I’m all misty eyed. Congrats again! She is ADORABLE!

  34. TheMrs says:

    She’s beautiful – Congratulations to you and Tim

  35. TravelDiva says:

    Congratulations! How awesome. Welcome to the mommy club, Foxy’s Mom!

  36. monica h says:

    This is such a cute picture. She looks like a little lady sleeping so peaceful on her mommy.

  37. august says:

    I LOOVE this picture! I am so happy for you!Such a blessing!

  38. Honest says:

    She really is too cute. Congratulations again.

  39. Pinky says:

    Beautiful pic! Those moments are so very special and way too short.

Say something

