Hillbilly-ish?

What’s the protocol for newborns and infants being out in public without socks or shoes?

Socks don’t stay on foxy’s feet and I refuse to buy her shoes at this early age. Will she look like a bumpkin if she is out with bare feet?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hillbilly-ish?

  1. krissy says:

    Thise infant socks are stupid! They are too wide for newborn ankles. Get some socks that come up to the calves. That’s what I ended up doing for princess J. She goes barefoot sometimes now but she’s 7 months. When she was newborn she always had on socks

  2. I saw a baby the other day at the grocery store looking fat and happy with no socks. He looked to be about 6 months old though. Little bitty babies like yours I would think need a little bitty sock. Damn, now I want a little bitty baby too.

  3. CaliSlim says:

    It probably only looks hillbillyish to folks with no kids. People who are actually parents will no the battles you cant win and understand.

    There is a single baby sock left in my bedroom from my neice’s last visit. I surely wasnt gonna wrestle her to keep them on when she clearly was goi g to keep taking them off!

  4. Mrs TDJ says:

    If she won’t keep them on, you can’t force her. I tried the ankle socks, longer ones pulled up to the calf, etc. No dice. My son hated them from the beginning and was always on a mission to get them off. He’s 17 months now and still hates socks. Of course, he hates shoes twice as much, so we are in daily battle regarding his feet.

  5. I don’t have any kids yet, but I say Foxy will be fine with no socks. I often see moms out who end up stopping every so many feet because their babies keep kicking off their shoes or socks…why bother with the hassle!?! Plus you’re in a warm climate so she should be good.

  6. missmajestic says:

    it only looks kuntry if they are old enough to stand. IMO.

  7. wifey615 says:

    I have 2 kids, who are now in their teens, but I am in no way an expert 🙂

    Her feet aren’t dirty, and they wont touch the ground so if they keep coming off, don’t bother to keep putting them on.

    They used to have little cloth snap on booties you could buy so if you can find them, try them. I also used a heavier weight sock (it was thicker and more elasticized) and those were the only ones that stayed on, so you could try those also.

    I don’t think anyone is going to say “dang, that baby sure is kuntry cuz she ain’t got socks on” (and if they do, backhand those biatches) This is all about what works for you and Foxy, so expirement, and find out what you like best.

  8. kimmy says:

    I think it looks country when they’re old enough to stand or walk. I think she’ll be fine barefoot until she around 4-6 months. She’ll start learning how to put her feet in her mouth.

  9. S23 says:

    I think she’s fine to have barefeet, but where is she going? I hope to the doctor’s appt or something b/c she’s too young to be out! Just wrap her up and take her home.

  10. Nerd Girl says:

    I didn’t put socks on Lovegirl as a newborn – it was hot!

    I didn’t buy her shoes until she was about 7, maybe 8 months?

    As for the country/bumpkin/hillbilly ish – she’s a week old – anyone who cares needs to get themselves some business.

  11. ondrea says:

    My son was born in July and I was told to keep him as cool/comfortable as possible which meant less is better. I imagine it is pretty warm where you live right now so I would say no socks!

  12. Sheena says:

    If it’s 94 degrees feeling like 100+ in MS, I know it hot like Hades there. Foxy will be just fine without socks. Like Ondrea said less is better, especially these hot months.

  13. CreoleInDC says:

    No socks are fine. If anybody wants her to have socks tell ’em to buy her some and follow yall around putting them back on her when she kicks them off.

  14. jamie says:

    nothing wrong with a bare foot babe. it only becomes hillbilly when your grown and caught by the paparazzi coming out of a gas station restroom sans shoes.

    take the socks off of her feet and put them on her hands when she sleeps to keep her from scratching her face at night.

    free the little piggies!

  15. keyalus says:

    She’s so young! Not bumpkinish. Lewis is almost 9 months and even though he can’t walk I put something on his feet. I think it looks bumpkinish at his age.

  16. busybodyk says:

    No, but only because its summertime. Nobody is wearing socks. Maybe you can find her some baby flip flops. lol

Say something

