Catching Up

The last 12 days or so have gone by so fast.  It seems like just yesterday I was being sliced open and saying hello to Foxy for the first time.  The first few days were a haze.  I hardly remember my time in the hospital.  Hours after she was born, my favorite girls were at the hospital to welcome her.  But I seriously cannot remember a single conversation from that evening.

Once we got home, we had a steady stream of visitors.  Tim and the Offspring, of course, came by numerous times for visits.  Tim’s mom came several days in a row.  She was so awesome bringing me lots of fresh fruit and nursing tanks.  And once we determined that Foxy actually needed newborn clothes instead of the 0-3 months sizes we anticipated, she ran out and bought her a few outfits to get her by until she gets some meat on her bones.

Keyalus came through and brought a couple of miracle blankets for Baby Houdini and a book for me to read.  She brought her little guy and it was funny seeing his reaction to my little miss.  It’s hard to believe that it was just last September when I was visiting Keyalus in the hospital for his arrival!

Disco Diva came by a couple of times.  I can tell it is going to be great having her live right around the corner.  And I’m not just saying that because she brought my mom a dozen of Barista’s cupcakes.  I say they were for my mom because they were “tipsy cakes.”  I didn’t get to eat a single one, but my mom raved over them.  Even Tim’s mom ate a couple.

Intern showed up (or as we now call him- Uncle Intern) with a sack of Five Guys burgers for me and my mom.  I devoured mine with wild abandon before they could even get theirs unwrapped.  Motherhood makes me ravenous, yo!

After the first week, the stream of visitors thinned out.  Then my grandmother flew in to town.  We had a delightful visit.  Me, her, my mom and Foxy.  It was super cool to have just the four ladies in the house.  It’s never just us, so this occassion made it super special.  We even made our way to a local photographer for a “generations” picture.

After grandma left, it was back to just me and my mom.  She gets so much joy from Foxy that I tried to just stand back and let her have her all to herself.  Before leaving she stocked me up with lots of goods from Costco  and I set her up with skype so she can keep track of the baby.  I really appreciated the time that she was here, despite me bemoaning my solitude.  She provided so much physical and emotional support.  I love and appreciate her more than ever.

Now it’s just me and Foxy.  No one is here to wait on me hand and foot!  I have to prepare my own meals and run my own errands.  Real life stuff!

In all honesty, I’m not all that worried.  Foxy is such an easy child.  She does nothing more than sleep and sit and look cute.  She only cries when she is hungry or has a poopy diaper.  I am waiting for the hard part to get started.  I know it’s coming!

Today I can start a routine.  One that will include an afternoon nap and blogging.  I’ve missed you all!

Anything exciting happen while I was out of touch?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Catching Up

  1. cbean says:

    I finally had a date. A really good date!!

  2. sumthought says:

    You’ve been missed!! So glad you had a smooth transition!

  3. 1969 says:

    Sounds like you are settling in nicely Babs. Enjoy it. I have been ripping and running as usual. I can give two thimbs up to Karate kid and True Blood.

  4. Been running around crazy busy trying to get wedding stuff togther. Other than that, not much.

  5. Disco Diva says:

    Are you sure you didn’t sneak a bite of the tipsy cakes?

Say something

