Milk

While I was pregnant, I was always sure of a couple of things.  I was going to smother my baby girl in kisses every single day, and I was going to enjoy breastfeeding.  I read a lot on the subject of breastfeeding and even took a class.  Still, when the time came to put newborn Foxy on my teet, I was somewhat apprehensive.  What if she didn’t take to the breast?  What if I had to supplement with, gasp, formula?  I know a lot of women choose not to or have trouble breastfeeding, but I was determined to be successful.  I wanted that bonding experience with my baby.  I wanted to arm her with a strong immune system.  I wanted to save money on formula. 

I wanted to burn an extra 500 calories a day!

Thankfully, Foxy took to breastfeeding right away.  I was worried that she wasn’t getting enough nutrients, but was assured that she was getting all she needed out of the “liquid gold” that I was providing.  After a couple of days, my real milk came in.  And how!

You thought I big breasts before?  Honey, you should see these bad boys at capacity!  It’s downright po.rnog.raphic.  seriously.  One breast is bigger than TWO of Foxy’s heads!

Foxy was born weighing 7 pounds.   A week later she was only 6 pounds 11 ounces.  Today, just 13 days after her birth, she weighs 7 pounds 8 ounces.  Way to go mother’s milk!  I got a thumbs up from the pediatricians office for a healthy, growing baby.

Starting next week I will pump breastmilk so that Tim can start feeding her as well.  This will allow me to sleep through the night and give him some important bonding time with his daughter.  Heck, I’ve bonded with anyone that has ever given me a meal!

Did you breastfeed your children?  What benefits did you appreciate?  Did you have any breastfeeding challenges?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Milk

  1. krissy says:

    I breastfed my baby for all of 3 days. I would still love to feed her but blood pressure meds aren’t safe for baby. And I was put on those while in the icu after coming home with baby ( read my baby story for more details on that one lol)

  2. Nerd Girl says:

    I nursed for 10 and a half months – loved it!

    Benefits:
    My breasts were magnificent. Of course no one cared ’cause there was always a baby attached to them, but I was fine!

    It was so easy and convenient. I can be a little…trifling. I just couldn’t imagine making bottles, cleaning bottles and all that jazz.

    It was free. I can also be…thrifty. When I weaned her and had to buy milk for a month? Thought I would die! I didn’t realize how expensive formula is.

    I lost the weight quickly. Stuff moved and shifted, but my weight got back to normal pretty quickly.

    One unsolicited word of advice – you may want to wake up just once during the night (don’t kill me!) to pump. You don’t want your body to start shutting the supply down.

    • kimmy says:

      Yes, you’ll need to get up and pump. Even if you don’t want to. You probably haven’t experienced engorgement yet but it’s painful. It will wake you up to pump. Great job! Hang in there! I nursed for two years, which was a lot longer than I planned to.

  3. Sheena says:

    I chose not to breastfeed. But I do say if more kids are to come, I would.

  4. S23 says:

    I breastfed I think for 3 mos. Tyler was never sick and he was in daycare in 6 weeks. I think I read somewhere that breastfed babies are smarter and healthier. The worst thing about it was when I went to the mall or something and in like an hour my shirt was soaked even thru the pads.

  5. amyg says:

    I breastfed each child for a year, and loved it! I felt I was doing the best thing possible to give them a good head start, and it was convenient and free! I am a huge advocate for breastfeeding!

  6. juli says:

    I tried to breastfeed my first and failed after 6wks. I got a horrible case of mastitis, and honestly, he never was latching on without chewing on my nipple a few times, so I ended up infected and in extreme pain.

    Child #2, too sickly and on dialysis, they told me it would be silly to heap that stress on the baby as well, hooked up to machines and whatnot. I pumped for 9 months for that little bugger until I dried up.

    Child #3-Took to it like a champ! I fed her for 4 months, until I found out I was pregnant again. The DR. advised I stop so my babyinthebelly could have all the nutrients.

    Child #4 also tood to it like a champ. We only lasted 2 months due to a hospital stay for child #2 that severely disrupted my milk flow.

    I was never comfortable with feeding in public. I pumped for excursions. I loved how it is FREE because formula is SO VERY EXPENSIVE. Also, there is something different about the poopie smell of a baby who is nursing. I liked it. (ewwwww. TMI I know!)

    I’m so happy for you to be a mommy and to be nursing. Good for you!!

  7. keyalus says:

    So glad it is going well!

    I was all about BF during pregnancy. I knew it would not be easy or necessarily pleasant. And it wasn’t. I hurt. I remember rocking in the nursery at 3AM with him feeding in bliss and me crying in pain. It hurt so bad!

    He had a bad latch that got a little better after a visit from a lactation consultant but never felt quite right. The pain meds I was taking made him sleepy and he would doze off while eating. At his 10 day ped visit, he had not regained his birth weight so it was suggested that we supplement. I felt terrible because I was trying so hard.

    After dealing with C-Section pain and the pain of nursing and then having to supplement, I decided I’d had enough so I went to pumping. Oddly enough, I would randomly let him nurse and everything seemed so right and easy then! Maybe because I wasn’t recovering from surgery and having someone pulling at a sensitive area every few hours? I don’t know.

    Pumping went OK until I caught a cold that dried me up. I had a fairly low supply to begin with so I called it quits at like 4 months. Pumping requires a lot of commitment.

  8. ames says:

    Sleeping through the night…..

    My son sleeps through the night. I sometimes wake him because I need to get that milk out. I have a hand pump but babies get the milk from every duct. When I pump I only feel empty for 1/2 an hour.

    I tell my kids their #1 job is to be milk drinkers.

  9. Deljah says:

    I breastfed for about 8 months. I never breastfed exclusively. My daughter was born at 5 lbs 14 oz and was 5 lbs 7 oz when we left the hospital. She was also a little jaundiced and need to have bowel movements to pass the bilirubin.

    I nursed and supplemented with formula b/c I felt that I couldn’t take chances with her weight. It was borderline low as it was. The hospital gave me a free pumping kit b/c of her weight. Anyway, my milk supply was also not abundant, despite my breast size.

    I started pumping at 3 weeks. I wished I had started immediately, maybe it would have helped with my supply. I rented a dual pump from the hospital for a few months. It was the best on the market. I rigged it up with sports bra for hands free pumping. That was great!

    At first nursing was very painful, almost on par w/those labor pains to me. I never got an infection though.

    My daughter slept with me and wanted to nurse all night. At the end, she was too aggressive to me, and I wasn’t making enough milk for all that. She transitioned off the breast easily. Just now conquering the sleeping w/me issue – at 19 months!!

    /endblog (lol)

  10. jamie says:

    I found that both my kids like the wife’s breast better than they liked the bottle of breast milk that I would try to give them when she needed a break. Tell Tim not to get discouraged if they prefer the milk fresh from the factory.

Say something

