One Month Checkup

I’m sorry I kept you.  I hit the ground running this morning and have been go go go ever since until I settled down for a nap earlier this evening.  I heart maternity leave.  I could have days like this everyday!

Foxy had her one month checkup today.  It’s amazing that it has been 4 weeks as of tomorrow.  She has grown three inches and is a solid 8 pounds 7 ounces.  Mother’s milk does the body good!

I got a talking to from the nurse practitioner this morning on the whole baby acne/cradle cap thing.  Yes, she has a smidge of cradle cap which I didn’t even notice *sheepish grin*.  Okay, she didn’t really scold me, but she did school me on my baby and body lotion, baby oil and other products.  Basically, for the first couple of months I shouldn’t be using any lotion/oil/etc. on the new baby skin. 

No lotion? 

To clear up the acne and cradle cap I am on a strict regimen of daily hair washing and face washing.  When I informed my nurse that we are black women and we don’t wash our hair every day, she informed me that she worked for 20 years in Stone Mountain (read:Blackpeopleville) and that she knew what she was talking about.

I guess I got told!

So I’ll be having an ashy, dry haired baby (I know not really) for the next month or so until her skin is back to smooth and baby soft.

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Month Checkup

  1. krissy says:

    Its very possible that you’ll be going longer than a month with her not “smelling like a baby”. U get used to it real quick. I did. And these months go by very quickly. Take lots of pics!

  2. missmajestic says:

    Wow, I just learned something. I guess they really are naturally baby soft. LOL at the Stone Mountain comment. I guess with the humidity now her skin won’t be very dry anyway?

  3. S23 says:

    When Tyler was a baby he had craddle cap and I had to do the opposite of what the doctor said. His poor little hair just fell out when I brushed it.

  4. sundaze says:

    HOLLERIN’ at the nurse checking you with the Stone Mountain reference! You learn something new every day. Keep us posted on whether Foxy’s skin gets dry or not.

  5. CaliSlim says:

    She has newborn skin and an inch of hair. Of course you can wash it everyday and skip the lotion!

  6. KJ says:

    LMBO @ the Stone Mountain comment. A mess…

Say something

