A Kiss on the Lips

I love kissing on my little girl.  I love to kiss her sweet cheeks, her soft belly, her little knees and that little corner of her neck.  I even love to kiss the bottoms of her feet.  I cannot get enough of her! One place, however, that I don’t kiss her is on the lips.

I have never been one to kiss a child or loved one (other than my current beau) on the lips.  To me it’s unnecessary.  Sure I could kiss Foxy on the lips and it’s not a big deal, but at what age would I stop?  At what age is kissing your child on the lips inappropriate?

Every once in a while, when I ask the youngest Offspring for some “sugar” he’ll give me a big peck on the lips.  I think he aims for my lips because I always kiss him on the chin.  I always tell him that he should be kissing me on the cheek.  He just laughs and tries to kiss me on the lips again.

Tim likes to kiss Foxy on the lips.  That is his prerogative as her daddy, but I still think he should stop.  Sure it’s totally harmless now, but when she gets older and someone asks her for a kiss, she might aim straight for their lips.  And her daddy is the only person on the planet she should be kissing on the lips.

I probably think too much about it.  A parent kissing their child on the lips probably isn’t a big deal.

Do you kiss your child on the lips?  Does your spouse/significant other? 

At what age do you think it becomes inappropriate?

This entry was posted in Family, Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Kiss on the Lips

  1. missmajestic says:

    I wouldn’t kiss a child on a lips. can’t see myself kissing my own child on the lips if I had one but I can’t see myself pregnant either! I think its okay for parents to do it but I guess you have to figure out when or if they might start kissing random adults or allowing random adults to kiss them and teach them what is appropriate for others to do. Or maybe they will just know they only do that with the close adults in their life
    When my nephew was about 8 months, this not so close relative (like a step-cousin twice removed)who I really didn’t like held my nephew and was kissing him on the lips. My mom suggested that wasn’t sanitary. I thought it was gross but I wonder if that gross factor had to something to do with my feelings for this individual. So she says “look, he likes it, he’s puckering his lips at me” Crazy! My mom says he’s a baby, he doesn’t know what he’s doing. My SIL got points for putting up with my family that day.

    Now my nephew is 5 and he doesn’t want to be kissed by anyone. He might let his mom sneak one. And he only wants to be hugged by mom, aunts, grandmas

  2. Barrister says:

    We’re a kiss on the lips family. I still kiss my g-mom on the lips and I’m 38 and she’s 92! LOL.

    • krissy says:

      My family is too. When I left my sisters house last night we smooched goodbye

      • The majority of my family is like this too.Not all of us but definitely most of us. I kiss all my aunts and uncle on the lips and my cousins do it too. It started when we were young and I now see that my nieces, nephew and younger cousins do it with us as well. However, I have always known and understood that not everyone is like this, and some of the people who married into the family,etc. don’t get down like that & it’s totally acceptable either way you go.

    • Brownsistha says:

      We’re a kiss on the lips family also, I have three boys and I kiss them on the lips, but they also know not to kiss anyone else on the lips! I have boys, so my husband and them do no lip kisses, just hugs!

    • creolepeach says:

      My family kisses on the lips too. My sister, grandparents, parents, aunts, cousins — er’body. It’s just a quick peck with perched lips so not even remotely in the same category as with a significant other.

    • doahleigh says:

      So is my family. I kiss my parents, grandparents, sister, nieces and nephews on the lips. Not, like, constantly. But usually as a farewell.

  3. krissy says:

    I kiss my baby girl on the lips. I kiss her everywhere! I love her. I don’t think its ever inappropriate between family members if that’s how u were brought up. I was, so its normal to me and I have no issue when I see a grown person smooth their mom or dad on the lips. Its not sexual or perverse. its all love. But to each family, there own. *shrug*

  4. sherri says:

    You’re obsessing.
    But I did read recently that we shouldn’t because we can transfer adult bacteria to the babe and set them up for cavities soon than necessary.

  5. Christina says:

    I used to kiss my baby on the lips, but then she started getting “extra juicy” from teething, and I didnt want her drool all over my mouth, so I stopped, lol.

  6. InnerDiva says:

    I don’t have children, but the little girl I watched at church would kiss me on my lips to say goodbye…she couldn’t understand why it was okay to do that with her mom, but not me. I guess if boundaries are explained as the kids get older, it’s ok.

  7. Deljah says:

    My daughter is 20 months, and I’ve never kissed her on the lips. Her daddy hasn’t either. It doesn’t seem sanitary or necessary to me. I don’t have a problem with what other folks do with their kids.

    She has been in tub with me once. Afterwards, I didn’t think that was so sanitary either, which is why it’s only happened one time.

    I don’t consider myself a germaphobe, lol.

  8. Coco says:

    I don’t have any kids but I do come from two distinct families on this particular subject. My mom will not kiss you on the lips unless you are her beau. My dad will kiss any relative on the lips. He tries to do it to me but I am my mom’s child so I had to put a stop to that. I am 29 and too old for my dad to be doing that. I have been too old for quite some time.

  9. juli says:

    I kiss my babies on the lips because they are learning how to kiss! They say, “mmmmmmmm” and hold their little pursed lips out, so I have to kiss them! I no longer kiss my older boys on the lips.. probably since they were 5yrs old or so. I love those little baby kisses. Mark my words. YOU WILL BE KISSING FOXY’S LIPS. Whatcha gonna do when she goes “mmmmmmmm?” ??

  10. C says:

    I feel that adults should not kiss kids in the mouth. Just think of all the things some adults do with their mouths and all the places their lips have been.

    My ex-boyfriend’s daughter was about 7 or 8 when I first saw a herpes sore on her lips. And yes, her momma and her little brother’s father (he lived with them at the time) would kiss her in the mouth.

    A kiss on any other part of the face or head is just as loving.

  11. naijamodel says:

    I won’t be kissing my children on the lips, nor will I allow anyone else to. In my culture you don’t even let people touch your child on the forehead. I would have to throat chop someone, lol.

    Mouth kisses are especially intimate in my mind. I’ve never dated anyone whose family kissed on the lips, but I can’t see myself being comfortable with my S.O and his mother doing it. Ehrm. No thanks.

  12. Rehab says:

    What an interesting discussion. I come from a pretty affectionate family. My mother used to kiss me on the lips all the time. She doesn’t anymore and to be honest, I can’t even remember when she stopped. I know when Baby Rehab finally gets here, I’ll be smothering he/she with kisses each moment I get. At the same time, I think I would most likely only be comfortable with my their dad actually kissing them on the lips. My dad and I still kiss, but we do the more age-appropriate cheek/forehead thing. Matter fact, the only person I kiss now is my husband. On a rare occasion I’ll kiss my nieces on the tops of their heads, but I generally don’t kiss children. I always assume a boundary whether or not the mom is cool with it.

  13. AR Gal says:

    I’ve never been able to wrap my head around the whole kissing family members on the lips thing. To be quite honest, I find it rather gross.

  14. keyalus says:

    Yeah – no lip kissing here. I accidentally kissed Lewis on the lips the other day and it just seemed weird to me. I grew up in a pretty non-touchy feely family though. We weren’t huggers or kissers.

  15. brannon says:

    We’re a very affectionate family and we all used to kiss each other on the lips until we got older. My mom is the only one who continued kissing us on the lips well into adulthood.

    Not a big deal to me.

  16. I kiss my mom and aunts on the cheeks. The only person I kiss on the lips is the fiance’. I tend to kiss baby cheeks only.

  17. t. sheree says:

    I can’t answer about my own children, b/c I have none. My opinion is that it’s not appropriate for anyone to kiss a BABY on the lips except that baby’s parents, if they desire. As the child matures, I think a quick peck is appropriate from the parents, and other close family members. But random cousins and other folks!?! No….

    I outgrew giving my parents’ pecks on the mouth around age 5. I do remember my aunts or other family members simply telling/teaching their children that only cheek kisses were appropriate for people outside of the family. I think if you’re proactive in teaching and showing Foxy whatever you’re comfortable with, you won’t have a problem.

  18. The first thing you need to buy wholesale cabinets for your home though
    online kitchen kitchen remodeling stores and warehouses.

    So we’re gonna have a least an inch more there, and similar types of tools and equipments.
    Don’t Forget to AccessorizeAnother affordable way to get a
    good buy, and where to shop to find the best kitchen cabinets you
    are going to design your kitchen in no time.

Say something

