Scatterbrained

Thursday morning I took Foxy to my mecca to pay homage to the gods of red and white.  Target!  We had a delightful time and picked up a couple of things we needed and several more we did not.

At checkout, I paid for our purchases and placed the receipt in my wallet.  I placed the wallet in my purse and pushed the cart out to the car.  I loaded the Foxy and my purse into the car and left the parking lot.

Notice anything missing?

As I was driving down the highway to meet CaliSlim for lunch, I glanced in the back seat to make sure Foxy was there.  I have this irrational fear that I am going to one day leave her somewhere, so I am constantly checking for her.  I was put at ease as I saw her in the back.  Then I noticed something…

There were no red and white bags in the back seat.

I had left my shopping bags in the store!

Every.single.one.

I pulled out my receipt and immediately called the store.  I was laughed at by the Target operator assured that my purchases were waiting for me at guest services.

I am hoping it was my imagination that the cashiers weren’t all snickering at me as I sheepishly walked back in to retrieve my things.

Do you ever have scatterbrained moments?  Share one so I don’t feel like a total idiot!

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Scatterbrained

  1. Christina says:

    I did that exact thing SEVERAL times when I was pregnant. The kroger started making me let someone take my bags out to the car for me. (I live in a small town, so they cashiers knew me.)

  2. Mrs TDJ says:

    Welcome to mommyhood and a lifetime of scatterbrained moments! They happen allllllll the time now. You;re not a total idiot. One of my best ones to date was loosing my keys and cell. Finally found a soda in my pocketbook, keys next to the cell phone charger and keys in the freezer. *lol* It happens!

  3. CaliSlim says:

    😆

    Well, at least you were on time for lunch!!!

  4. CaliSlim says:

    By the way, I’m impressed you put your reciept in your wallet. I have em throw em in the bag, so I would have been SOL!

  5. sherri says:

    Yep, welcome to motherhood.

    I think you become forgetful once you have a child. I don’t know when your memory comes back. Or maybe I am just an old mommie.

  6. SimplyB says:

    I feel like I have to write EVERYTHING down or I will forget it.

  7. KJ says:

    That’s so funny because I once did a pay and walk at Target, but the cashier called out to me so I didn’t actually get out of the store.

    Another time I paid for my food at the drive-thru and drove off. :-/

    The best moment in years was when my cousin left her purse in the fridge at work while getting her son’s sippy cup (since he had to have it everyday when she picked him up from daycare). She called me and I walked around our entire department (including the bathroom) looking for it to no avail. Knowing she had to get the sippy cup I went to the breakroom, opened the fridge and burst into laughter as I saw her purse sitting on the bottom shelf.

  8. ames says:

    Sometimes my daughter will ask for juice or a cracker. I’ll go get it, sit back down and try to hand it to my 4 month old son. I’ll keep holding it out to him and try to figure out why he isn’t taking it. Then it hits me that he’s 4 months and its for the girl. When I do this, she just looks at me.

    At those moments I know I need a mommy mental health break. I usually call my husband and tell him to rescue me.

  9. kimmy says:

    Several times I’ve gone to the dry cleaners to pick up my clothing, pay at the counter and then leave my clothes hanging on the rack.

  10. busybodyk says:

    I’m just glad you didn’t leave Foxy! LOL I have heard of parents leaving their kids. I was left home by my grandmother once. She only remembered when someone on the street asked her about me.

  11. C says:

    You remembered the most important package. That’s what counts!! Give yourself a break. 🙂

  12. Krissy says:

    I’ve never done that one. The most I’ve done so far is forgetting the formula at home. I also left the diapers for the diaper bag on the changing table. Lucky for me I leave those things at the places I’m going to. Like my bestfriend has diapers and formula and so does my mom and sisters. Since those seem to be the things I leave out of the bag.

  13. K. Rock says:

    Ha!! It will continue to happen. But I assure you it will get better as Foxy gets older.

  14. Coop says:

    Yesterday, I arrived at the airport ready for a flight that would arrive in Atlanta at 7:30. 7:30 was my BOARDING time! 2.5 hour wait.

    We all have those moments.

  15. Nerd Girl says:

    Moments? Hah! Those have become my life.

    When she was a baby, I have gotten us all ready to go and halfway through my commute remembered it was Saturday. More than once.

    I haven’t left her anywhere. Yet.

  16. missmajestic says:

    I left a 12 pack of toilet paper in a walmart parking lot one time. and I have no baby be looking after. I have also pulled up to a register with a buggy (that’s what I call em) full of groceries to discover I left my wallet in the car (in its hiding spot under my seat)

  17. You aren’t alone. I am forever losing my keys all over the house and my cell phone. Just don’t forget the Fox and you will be just fine!

  18. AR Gal says:

    Hell I can be looking for something, like my keys, and look right at it and see it. Five minutes later I’ll realize they were staring me in the face.

    Womp, womp.

  19. laughing808 says:

    how about that has happened to me a time or two and I don’t have a child, go figure!

Say something

