Peeved

I’m a little peeved with a certain someone right now. I know it won’t last long. I’ll probably be smitten again just as soon as she cracks open her eyes and gives me a little smirk. But for now…color me pissed.

You see, my little miss is curled up next to me. She’s clinging to my hip and sleeping like a, well, like a baby. But that was not the case last night. Or the night before that. Or the night before that.

Don’t worry, she hasn’t been crying or anything like that. She’s just become a very noisy sleeper. I’ll have her swaddled up in her cradle and from the dark of night I hear her grunting and lashing out, trying to free herself. Ok, no problem, I remove the swaddle. Still, she lashes out. It is so noisy I can’t describe it with words.

I call her my baby pteradactyl.

Last night, at about 3am, or maybe it was 4am, I took her from the cradle and brought her to bed with me. I’m thinking this will calm her down. It does not. And so for the 4 hours she continued to be the noisiest baby (with her eyes closed) ever.

And now she sleeps. Peacefully. And I am mad. Mad because I’m exhausted from not getting much sleep (for the third night in a row). And mad because I really want to get up and go for a walk or go to the grocery store, but I don’t dare disturb this sleeping beauty.

So I’ll just sit here and watch her sleep. Tired. Hungry. Scared to move, lest I interrupt her moment of slumber.

She comes first.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Peeved

  1. keyalus says:

    Ha! Lewis wasn’t extra physical when he was that young but he made a lot of weird snoring breathing kind of noises. Sort of shocked me because I thought babies would sleep quietly.

    Now, he sleeps like a crazy person (on stomach, butt in the air, face smooshed against the crib, leg stuck…sigh) but breathes quietly.

  2. pserendipity says:

    Ha! Wait till the day she falls asleep in the car seat and you’re in the parking lot. You must decide whether to sit there for an hour cause you don’t want to wake her up to get her out of the car, or to just wake her up and let her be extra super cranky while you get the groceries. You’ll be sitting in the parking lot. Trust me!

  3. MrsTDJ says:

    Yep, their sleep needs definitely dictate your sleep patterns. My son is a very restless sleeper, but I decided very early to never bring him to our bed. As long as I can hear him breathing through the monitor, I’m fine. When he snores, I turn the monitor down a little. *lol*

  4. ames says:

    My son started out sleeping loudly so I started putting him on his tummy to sleep. I know they say you aren’t supposed to but…… when my daughter was a baby she spit up while sleeping on her back so I developed a preference for putting my babes on their belly.

  5. jamie says:

    if she sleeps all day then she won’t sleep at night. I say wake her up and take her to the grocery store!

      • Ames says:

        I have read and believe it to be true that newborns sleep about ~18 hours per day. Instead of waking the kid up my strategy is to try to sleep when the baby sleeps and call it power napping.

    • jamie says:

      @ames- power napping is a good idea, but I always liked to wake mine up and see them shake their tiny fists in rage, made me feel like I was controlling the show even if I wasn’t; and I could always give them back to their mama when the crying didn’t stop.

      • Ames says:

        My husband does that to the 2 year old when she falls asleep during car rides. Then when she swats his hands away and fusses he starts tickling her.

  6. tanyetta says:

    She’s RUNNING the show! As she should. As she should 🙂

  7. Krissy says:

    Princess J always had very good sleeping habits for the most part. At a certain point she just hated to be swaddled and would scream bloody murder if you even tried. She was quick with getting her arm out before u could tuck it and this was at a month or so old. She would also fight to the death when putting her to bed at night but once I got her down she was gone for the next 4hrs or so. She’s a loud sleeper now. She snores. She whimpers she kicks her feet all in her sleep. And now that she’s mobile she tosses and turns and searches for her bink*sigh*

    They say it gets better. . . Just don’t know who THEY are.

Say something

