Vision

A couple of years ago I read the book “The Law of Attraction” which talks about visualizations and putting out what you want into the universe in order to receive it.  I listened to interviews with the author and really bought into the whole idea.  I created a vision board and made lists and desire statements and whatever else we were told to do.

Last week I pulled out my vision board and my notebook and read through all of my thoughts and desires from two   years ago and got really bummed out.  None of my visions for my life have come to fruition.  Not one single thing.  As much as I love her, and despite what you may or may not think, “baby out-of-wedlock” was most certainly not one of my desires.

I reviewed my lists for what I desired in a relationship, a career and my overall health and I saw that I hadn’t even come close to achieving what I put down with pen and paper.  I was actually surprised at what I read as I went down line by line and compared my desires versus my reality.

Now that my life has veered off the path, I need to sit down and really evaluate what my hopes and aspirations are.  This time my vision will include not only my desires for myself, but for Foxy as well.  And this time I need to stay on course.

Are your desires for your life being realized?  Or have your visions become blurry?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Vision

  1. jamie says:

    “Want to hear God laugh?; then make plans”

    Sometimes our true destiny turns out to be something other than what we thought it would be.

    Things didn’t turn out the way I had planned, but I have found happiness amidst the chaos encountered along the path, albeit circuitous, that I have followed.

    Reassessment and recommitment to achieving your visions is exactly the thing that you need to do now in order to get back on your path. It’s going to be all twisty and curvy, but you’ll do fine.

  2. pserendipity says:

    I was thinking the exact same thing Jamie said. You can make all the vision boards you want, but God already has one for you. In your life right now, you are exactly where you’re supposed to be.

  3. Gladys says:

    I echo everyone else. God has a plan for you and I think the times we veer off path, so to speak, is His way of helping us achieve all that He has for us. It’s those experiences that help shape us on the journey to what we desire.

  4. krissy says:

    Nothing is really blurry for me. I know where I want to be and I intend to get there in time. I’m in no huge hurry. Like you, a baby before marriage was never in my plans. Let alone raising her without a partner. But things happen for a reason and I believe she was meant to be my child. That’s how I look at that. But I should be a practicing psychologist right now and well, I’m not. That’s the biggest thing that I need to achieve and will.

  5. krissy says:

    I also agree with what these ladies have said. I know God has a plan for all of us. So I really just try and go with it. Its worked for 29 years so far. So I guess I’ll continue to stick to the script.

  6. onefromphilly says:

    Have you ever been in an unfamiliar airport and had to run and read the directional signs at the same time to get to your connecting flight?

    That’s life. Keep planning but keep running also!

    • Ms. Smart says:

      This. Life is about things happening. You might not be able to control 100% of it but you can position yourself so that you’re in line for the best outcomes. Paying attention to the signs is a way of positioning yourself.

  7. Ames says:

    My short term visions are very blurry to none existant. My long term visions are clear but sparse.

    I like to be flexible and I like to be open to different opportunities. If I make a plan I sometimes get tunnel vision and refuse to divert. Diversion can be beneficial sometimes.

  8. Petite Pearl says:

    Just remember God is working the most when we see or feel Him the least. His plans are always better than our plans. You will see.

  9. Ms. Smart says:

    Keep your board out so you can always be reminded of it. When we put things away, we lose sight. Good luck. *reminding myself to pull out my vision board when I get home*

  10. CaliSlim says:

    Yes, God does have a plan, but you also have to put in work to make it happen. You finding the vision board is the kick you need to get back on track.

    I know for me, I tried taking the easy way (ie MY way) instead of the path which is God’s way. Well, it didn’t work out for me veering from the plan. So now I’m back on track. And fortunately for all of us, each day is another chance to step in the right direction again. 🙂

  11. laughing808 says:

    I began the process of a vision board a few months back, I knew what I wanted my vision board to include and set out finds things to make a picture. Somewhere along the line I lost focus and well…….back to the drawing board I must go.

    Prior to the idea of a vision board I’d compiled a list short term goals (within 5 years) and long term goals (over 5 years) and well I’ve only accomplished one thing: undergraduate degree.

    As Jamie said regarding the old age saying of Making God Laugh by making plans, we’ll GOD is seriously have a rumble tumble laugh at me and because none of plans have worked. And all I do is re-evaluate and adjust accordingly.

Say something

