Day 5: What is Love?

Dear Babs,
 
I believe that the time you can spend with Foxy is the most precious time you can spend anywhere.  It means more than time at work, time with Tim, and time with me or your friends.
 
When you leave the plantation to go on maternity leave, the time you have free to be a mother and concentrate on your new life can never be regained.  It will be the first time in your life and the last time in your life that you will experience being a mother for the first time.
 
You will cry when you have to leave her to go to work.  You will cry because you don’t want to spend time away from her and you certainly don’t want to spend time away from her to go back to work where you really aren’t that happy.
 
Once you go back, that’s it.  You will never again get 6 or more weeks to spend with her.
 
And she will miss you too, more than any of us.  Your only consolation is the joy you will feel when you come to pick her up from day care, and her face lights up into a smile when she sees you.
 
I never had to leave you as early as you are leaving Foxy.  I was unemployed and was with you every day for your first year.  We were so close back then, and even though other things in my life weren’t that great, I had you and that was everything to me.
 
The biggest present I could ever give you is time with your baby.  It is better than anything I could ever buy.   Free time is so valuable, and to have a company allow you to be home an extra four weeks if you take it without pay, you just have to take advantage of that as much as you can.
 
That is why I want to give you the extra two paid weeks to stay home and enjoy Foxy.  I wish you could stay home with her until she is in first grade, but at least you will have her first 10 weeks of life where you can focus on loving her and bonding with her.
 
Anyway, I just wanted to put these thoughts into an email.  I know I wasn’t the best mother, but when I can help make things better for you now, I like to try and do that.   I only want the best for you and her.  I will always have your back and be here for you both.
 
Love,
Mommy
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Day 5: What is Love?

  1. mzinspiredmind81 says:

    Lawd, it’s not 8:30 yet. It’s to early for me to be crying! That is absolutely wonderful and YEP that is LOVE.

  2. Petite Pearl says:

    Beautiful! A mother’s love cannot be compared to ANYTHING else in this world!!

  3. JennBMe says:

    *tear* Love indeed!

  4. Donnabea says:

    A wonderful example of love. Ain’t nothing like a mother’s love. **tears**

  5. Gngrsnap says:

    Awww, I’m gonna cry!!! That was the sweetest thing!!

  6. sundaze says:

    My eyes just filled with tears. That was beautiful.

  7. Barista says:

    You better be on your way up here with some eyeliner and mascara to fix my face.

  8. CaliSlim says:

    What a wonderful gift! Those O’Leary women rock!

  9. sherri says:

    OMG. this is so lovely and is perfect for today’s post.

    Mothers, for better or worse. They know how to get to us better than anyone else in the world.

  10. Michael says:

    Wow, that was love!

  11. TheMrs says:

    Amazing! Thank you for sharing your Mama’s Love!

  12. Tazzee says:

    This is so beautiful! I had to close my office door to cry.

  13. Heartdrops says:

    *tears*

  14. OMG!!!! This was awesome!! And I disagree with you Mama Babs, you are the best MOMMY!!! It’s such a blessing to have a great Mom!!!

  15. keyalus says:

    So touching. I love it!

  16. Clu says:

    OMG…love it

    (closing office door to wipe away tears)

  17. cbean says:

    Now you know I am the only one without an office!! Got me bawling all out in the open. This right here, is pure, unconditional love. You are blessed my darling.

  18. amyg says:

    Whoa. Trying to hold back the tears…

  19. Gladys says:

    Babs!!!! Oh my goodness! This was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!! Save this letter from your mommy! That is LOVE indeed! Tell your mom we love her, too!

  20. Ames says:

    That is love for so many many reasons.

  21. Honest says:

    Oh my lawd this made me cry. So glad your mom is able to help you out.

  22. Pingback: day 5 « your barista revealed

  23. Ms. Smart says:

    Damn see! Why Momma Babs gotta have such a tight tear inducing written game?!

  24. SimplyB says:

    This is definitely love!!!

  25. ondrea says:

    Wow….that’s all.

  26. LyNn says:

    Simply Beautiful……this post had me in tears (happy tears). Bless you and your family.

  27. missalid says:

    Tears!!! Simply beautiful!

  28. C says:

    Just awesome!! Love…This is what it’s all about. So happy you get extended leave. Moms rule!!

  29. Jack says:

    Yet another reason I love your mother!

  30. claudia says:

    Okay coming out of lurkerville! This letter is very heart warming and beautiful. This is going into MY treasure chest of things to share with my baby girl. Thank you for sharing this letter from your mommy. Absolutely beautiful!

  31. Sheena says:

    This is worthy of printing out and framing, so that you can always go back and read whenever you may like.

  32. This was beautiful ! There is no love like the unconditional love of a mother. You will do the same thing for Foxy one day when she becomes a mother.

  33. GatorGirl says:

    Beautiful…

  34. amista says:

    That’s great! Your mom is some kinda wonderful!

  35. AR Gal says:

    Your mother wrote such a beautiful letter and obviously has a beautiful heart to match.

  36. 1969 says:

    Mother’s Rock!

  37. kimmy says:

    This is beautiful! You should include it in a scrapbook for your daughter.

  38. laughing808 says:

    A mother’s love is like none other!
    I can’t believe I’m crying in the middle of the afternoon, but this is so very touching!

  39. this is beautiful. there is NOTHING like a mother’s love

  40. Georgia says:

    Love indeed.

  41. Deljah says:

    Awww, that is so sweet. Just think, as much as you love Foxy, that’s how much your mom loves you and more b/c the love grows over time. Makes me smile!

  42. KJ says:

    *sitting at my desk trying to wipe away the tears before anyone sees* So beautiful!! Missing my Mommy…

  43. t. sheree says:

    Wow. Beautiful. 😀

  44. brannon says:

    thanks for sharing. that was an amazing gift to you and Foxy.

  45. coco327 says:

    Your mommy made me cry–that is definitely love. Mommy’s give the best so I am sure Foxy is overdosing on love!

Say something

