Day 11: The Sisterhood

As I return to work today I notice that I have inadvertently become a member of a new group of women.  Suddenly, women that never bothered to speak to me, or only said hello in passing are pausing to ask me how I am doing.  We have had real conversations for the first time ever.

So what group did I join while I was away?  The sisterhood of the mothers!

I like being a part of this new group.  People want to know how I am doing and how I am feeling.  Suddenly I am interesting! 

I can see how the future is going to unfold.  Me and the other mothers will lament over school activities, sick children and the latest Di.sney sensation!  We’ll stop by each other’s desks to share school pictures!   We’ll trade recipes and tips on throwing the best birthday parties!

Okay, maybe not so much.

But I definitely feel like I am a part of a special group.

And I like it.

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 11: The Sisterhood

  1. Krissy says:

    After I returned to work after having Princess J I became part of that same group and I really enjoyed it as well. Mind you some of the women are just nosey and want in on my personal life, but the others are being sincere and I appreciate that.

  2. 1969 says:

    I call it the best sorority in the world. LOL

  3. Jack says:

    I’ve always thought you were special!

  4. Trish says:

    I’m still on the outside looking in for now! Luckily for me, I have a couple of coworkers that aren’t mothers.

  5. S23 says:

    It’s funny b/c when I see people that I haven’t seen in a long time or people call me, the first thing t hey ask is “How is Tyler?” The people that never ask about him get a side eye.

  6. Cort says:

    The great thing about the sisterhood of mothers — we all become members not knowing how much we need to be part of the group! Welcome, sister! The best part is the motherhood changes every part of you, but yet nothing at all!! We celebrate our commonality and quirky unique traits!

    I’m very much enjoying your blog!! So glad you commented to pull me over!!

Say something

