Day 15: What Happens to a Dream Deferred?

I once had big dreams.  I lived in a big city.  I was married with 2, no 3, children.  Two girls and a boy.  My husband worked some fancy corporate gig while I was a stay-at-home mother who spent my free time baking and doing important volunteer work in the city.  My children were smart and well-behaved.  I had a personal trainer and wore a size 10.  Our family took yearly vacations and I drove a late-model hybrid SUV.  I was happy.

But those dreams ave been deferred and have shifted focus.

Now my dreams center around my daughter.  Those dreams include a happy childhood where she has lots of friends, does well in school and enjoys participating in extra-curricular activities.  She will enjoy high school and earn great grades.  She will leave the state to attend a great university and get a degree in something she enjoys.  She will spend a semester abroad.  She will enjoy her twenties with great friends and great life experiences.  She will marry and have a family of her own.  And someday her children will bring me as much joy and she brings to my mother.

So, while my dreams may have been deferred, I am looking forward to making sure that every single one of Foxy’s dreams comes true.

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 15: What Happens to a Dream Deferred?

  1. Krissy says:

    I gotta say once u become a parent, the dreams of ur children become number 1 whether ur life dreams were realized or not. Or at least that’s how it should work.

  2. I don’t know if your dreams should be totally deferred so much as they may be a little delayed. One of my mom’s dreams was to go back to school to get her master’s degree in education. And she did. Sometimes I went with her to class because my dad worked nights and it took her a bit longer but she did it. I think you can too.

  3. Nerd Girl says:

    Seems to me that Mr. Hughes was just a bit pessimistic when it came to deferred dreams. They can definitely be realized – even if not necessarily on the time table we’d originally planned.

    Here’s to dreams – for you, for Foxy, separately and intertwined!

  4. S23 says:

    It’s amazing how our focus totally becomes selfless when we become mommies. I think I work harder for Tyler’s dreams than my own at this point.

  5. Deljah says:

    I hear ya, but I believe that as Foxy’s primary role model, you will also see the importance of showing her how to live a balanced life, how to be flexible and adjust to changing circumstances while still holding on to a goal, how to love w/o losing oneself, the importance of nurturing one’s own dreams even while supporting others, and that a dream delayed is not a dream denied. It’s never to late to dream new dreams.

  6. jamie says:

    “Dreams are like stars…you may never touch them, but if you follow them they will lead you to your destiny.”

  7. CaliSlim says:

    I wish this post sounded more optimistic about your own dreams. They are still obtainable, IMO.

Say something

