She Came and She Went

I was really blue as I drove my mom to the airport yesterday.  Unlike her last visit when I was quite ready for her to leave, I wanted her to stay a little bit longer.  My mom has told me I need to toughen up now that I am a mother, so I fought back the tears as we approached the airport, determined not to let her see me upset.

I was reminded of another time when I was driving her to the airport.  I let those tears roll down my face unabashedly.  It was shortly after I had moved to Atlanta with the Ex.  We had just moved into the drafty palace and she came down to check out our new digs.  As I made the long drive to the airport, I was overcome with a sense of sadness.  I realized that after she left I was going to be left in this city with no friends and no family.  It was just me and him from that point and that made me so sad.

Yesterday, I tried to tell myself that this is different.  Foxy is my family and I have a host of friends.  But it’s not the same.  I still miss my mommy.  She’s got my back no matter what.

No matter what.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She Came and She Went

  1. Nerd Girl says:

    Team crybaby! I cry every time I leave my Mom. I am darn near 40.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  2. onefromphilly says:

    No matter how old we are, we will always need our Mom.
    Remember this 18 years from now when you start to feel like Foxy doesn’t need you any more.

  3. ames says:

    I think motherhood has made me mushy. I used to be much tougher. Now I view people with the lense of that person has a mother who loves them. I am super sensitive about children and their needs and trying to make sure they are okay- even if that means a sorry adult benefits.

    Why do you have to be tough?

    I think she wants me to work on not being such a crybaby about everything. I’m super sensitive.

  4. GatorGirl says:

    Oh no…this made me think of leaving my family in a few weeks to head back up there…there will most definitely be tears!
    But on a good note, you can add me to your friend list 🙂

Say something

