Day 20: A Tale of Two Augusts

When trying to decide what profound words I wanted to write about this month, I couldn’t help but think back to this month last year.

August 2009– I was rounding a pretty emotional summer. I was dating someone whom I thought was a fine, upstanding man. I was getting ready to turn 35.  My free time teetered between schlepping on my couch and partying like a rock star with my favorite girls.  I hated my job.  My mother and I were in talks to visit Egypt in 2010.  Life was good.

August 2010–  I am on the cusp of turning 36.  I have the most precious baby girl that brings me so much joy, she is worth all the other bullshit that comes along with it.  I have returned to work after being gone for 10 weeks, and though I still would like a new job (and more money) I am feeling a bit renewed and not at all hating it like I was last Summer.  I can barely finish a full glass of wine and can hardly bare to stay up past 10pm.  But life is good!

Quite a change from year to year.  Quite a change, indeed.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 20: A Tale of Two Augusts

  1. 1969 says:

    And as hard as it is, it’s all worth it. Congrats Mommy!

Say something

