What Would You Do?

Pickaninny Doll from St. Thomas

If a beloved relative brought back this doll from their vacation for your child?

Would you find it offensive?

Would you say something if you were offended?

Would it matter it the relative were white?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Tsiporah says:

    I wouldn’t be offended, but that gift would never see the light of day once I brought it home.

  2. sherri says:

    I don’t find the doll offensive. I do find the title below offensive. So if the doll came with a pickaninny tag, you would most likely get the gas face.

    My mother collects Black images like the Gold Dust Twins, the cream of wheat guy, etc. She grew up with this imagery and feels it is important to recognize it – to own it.

    The doll frankly looks like something my mother made for me when I was a kid. Except the skin was peach and the hair was blond.

  3. Ames says:

    I considered buying a similar doll and magnet in St. Martin.

  4. Gladys says:

    I wouldn’t be offended. I’m offended at the name, though.

  5. krissy says:

    White people tend to be unintentionally insensitve sometimes. They may have thought ” black doll for a black baby.” I know what the doll represents but THAT doll doesn’t offend me. Kinda looks like a black raggedy Ann.

  6. busybodyk says:

    I think the doll is cute so it wouldn’t offend me. I have handmade dolls like this from when I was a child. The name is ignorant but just like I wouldn’t blame someone for what their mother named them, I wouldn’t blame this cute doll.

  7. GG says:

    She is actually cute but the name is the offensive part and you can easily rename her….now lets be honest there are some moms out there that will apply alllll those bows, maybe not in that hairstyle, but as many colors and like it or not that little girl will still look adorable.

  8. kim says:

    No, but I would laugh at it! Throw it in with the other toys. She would probably like all the bright colors!

  9. CreolePeach says:

    Like everyone else, I think the name is more offensive than anything. My silly self would be trying to see if I could tame the hair somehow so it didn’t stick out. That’s the part that makes me give it a side eye. It would be an adorable doll if the hair weren’t so porcupinish. lol

  10. missmajestic says:

    I wouldn’t be offended. It’s a cute doll in a cute dress…not like the stereotypical pickaninny at all. It reminds me of my black raggedy Ann and a handmade doll I had. A White person, I would assume they don’t know much about the word Pickaninny so its an opportunity for dialogue. I think the name is an opportunity for a history lesson for an older child.

  11. K. Rock says:

    I am all for black dolls so I would definitely throw it into the mix. I think my girls would like it.

  12. AR Gal says:

    Compared to the Gangsta Babies Sears had on the shelf…….I see no problem.

  13. Michelle says:

    I have a Raggedy Ann that looks similar to that. I wouldn’t be offended, but I wouldn’t call her a “pickaninny” doll.

  14. Tiombe25 says:

    I agree with every one else…. i think she is cute.. The only thing i find offensive is the name.

  15. Honest says:

    Wait the doll came with that name on it or attached to it somehow? Uhhh that is offensive. The doll itself isn’t offensive. I would probably say thank you and throw it out when I got home. I wouldn’t say anything to the relative. Clearly she doesn’t know and I’d have to tell her at a later time what is what.

  16. Nerd Girl says:

    Since I bought my daughter one – from New Orleans – and collect that type of memorabilia, I think it goes without saying I have no problem with it.

  17. laughing808 says:

    Depending on the spirit of the person, I would be offended. And that tag for the doll is indeed offensive.

    That doll wouldn’t make it to my place of residence!!!!!

Say something

