Semi-Motivated

I really want to start exercising again.  I miss it.  I miss the breathing hard and the sweating and the satisfaction I feel after a good workout.  I really miss running and now that I have gone so long without doing it I’m betting my tendonitis and all of that has cleared up and I could actually start running again.  Except for one thing.  Well, two things, but for the purposes of this post I shall focus on the one.

It’s so freakin hot outside!

I don’t understand why it is the first day of Autumn and the temps are in the 90s!  I don’t remember it being like this in years past.  It’s quite ridiculous.  This is the time of the year that I like to get up and hit the park or the trail and put in some serious work.  Instead I find myself pumping up the AC and working myself back into a nap.

I know I shouldn’t complain.  In a few months it will be cold and I’ll be dreaming of 90 degree temps, but after the summer we’ve had in the South I am truly ready for the mid-70s.

Once the weather cools off a bit, then I can start getting it in on weekends.  Weekday workouts will still be impossible, but at least I can get two days of calorie burning in.  That’s something, right?

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Semi-Motivated

  1. AR Gal says:

    Woman, get some at home workout dvd’s. I saw some for ‘The Firm’ (which works) at TJ Maxx for like six or seven bucks. They also sell workout equipment like stretch bands, medicine balls, weights, etc for a good price.

    According to the weatherman, temps are supposed to dip down to the mid-70’s early next week. I’ve got my fingers and toes crossed.

  2. kimmy says:

    Do you have a jogger stroller? I had an Eddie Bauer js and it was GREAT! It had a nice smooth ride and my daughter loved it.

  3. K. Rock says:

    I just talked to somebody else about this. Why is everyone so surprised it’s still hot? It’s Atlanta! It doesn’t get cold until November. Which is why I love it here.

    But on the workout tip, I get up at about 5:30 and do my running while it is cool outside. I doubt you want to do that on the weekend though.

    It is not normally mid-nineties in late September. Unless I am completely forgetting.

  4. Dark&Lovely says:

    Try waiting until the sun goes down, like around 6:45 or so. Although it is a little hot, its not quite as hot and you can get at least 45 mins before it starts getting dark. I like running in the mornings or evenings, but now it is too dark in the morning.

  5. keyalus says:

    It is def a little hotter now that I remember it being in ATL. We don’t tend to get jacket weather until late November but I don’t think it is usually in the nineties! A couple of weeks ago, we had nice fallish weather but that went away. 😦

    I can only exercise super early in the AM and it is still hot when I’m running. If I had signed up for that Sept half I would be crying right now LOL.

    Co-sign with AR Gal though. Get some home tapes. When Foxy takes a long nap get in 45 minutes or so.

  6. Gladys says:

    If you have OnDemand, there are some workouts on there. Especially Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred workouts. The last time I ran outside was in June. It was hot as fish grease here in DC this summer and today it will be in the 90s. I run on the treadmill in the gym when I want to get some running in. I’ve been doing bootcamps, too. Start out with the at home workouts to get your groove back.

  7. 1969 says:

    My gym has a daycare. No excuses for me. 🙂

    Start with at home workouts. Foxy will probably be entertained by watching mommy jump up and down. LOL

Say something

