And So It Begins

Friends, the one aspect of parenting that I have been dreading as finally arrived.

The dreaded school fundraiser.

Last week when I picked up Foxy I was handed an envelope.  I looked inside and saw the familiar form and catalog.  “We” are selling cookie dough and ready to bake brownies.  I saw “we” cause I ain’t selling sh!t.  I hate that stuff.  I would rather just donate an additional 50-100 dollars each year than have to try to peddle my wares to various family, friends and coworkers.

When I told her teachers that I wouldn’t be selling anything they looked so disappointed.  “But it’s for new computers for each classroom,” they cried.  Crap.  The guilt trip goes along with the sales pitch I suppose.

I know you are all wondering why in the world is a daycare selling anything.  Well, Foxy goes to a school not just a child care center.  So we are included in all things that a normal school would be doing.  This also includes uniforms in a couple of years and I am so looking forward to that!

So, if you are reading this, and you have a hankering for a vat of cookie dough, holla at your girl.  Foxy thanks you for your support!

How do you handle school fundraisers?  Do you participate?

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to And So It Begins

  1. Ms. Smart says:

    Girl hustle on over to your IT department and see if they already have some place to donate computers they aren’t using. If you can get a couple from the plantation, just drop them off at the school.

  2. AR Gal says:

    I wouldn’t want to be bothered with selling it either.

  3. justJENN says:

    Ugh. Like I need a freakin’ scented candle. This year I am just donating. Straight up.

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    I sell nada. I bought two vats of cookie dough last year from the kiddo so she could get a prize. They’re both still in the freezer. This year? I’m not even faking the funk.

    Wait. That’s not true. I will sell $1 chocolate bars because they’re easy and people generally don’t mind handing over a dollar. I don’t have enough nerve to ask anyone to pay $15 for a tub of cookie dough.

  5. Just write a check straight to the school and write it off on your taxes.

  6. K. Rock says:

    I ain’t about selling nothin’!! I hate it. I will try to peddle stuff to the grandparents but after that I’m done.

    My kids school has a fundraising fee that you can pay if you don’t want to sell and I am all for that.

  7. Tiombe25 says:

    I am not a fan of fundraisers either, unless there the $1 bars like Nerd Girl said!
    But I will support Foxy’s first fundraiser!!!

  8. Barista says:

    I’m the sucker in the office who buys from every single child fundraiser I see. I feel like it’s my duty to support the kids because I used to get so excited when my dad would bring my fundraiser forms home from work with a bunch of orders on them.

    • Tazzee says:

      I’m the same way! Although I used to peddle my wares myself when I was younger and was always jealous of the kids like Barista, LOL. I love supporting the kids.

  9. Jack says:

    you shipping it to CA?

  10. Clu says:

    Damn…now I want a cookie!

    I hate harassing (that’s what I feel like I am doing) people for money. I usually ask my Mother and I donate for myself and then call it a day.

  11. missmajestic says:

    I could see if you had an older child who was excited about selling but dang Foxy is just a baby….is she asking to check her email already? I’m just saying what computer will she be using a that school? guess I’m not helping here

    Unless its girl scout cookies I don’t wanna be bothered. Wait, that’s not a school fundraiser. I’m lying, my nephew started kindergarten this year and I can’t turn him down.

  12. ames says:

    The school we are applying to has a fundraiser every Friday and lots of other fund raising events. I’m looking forward to it. My excitement may wane after some years.

  13. Kim says:

    My daughter’s school just does donations and they make big money. I prefer that to selling. If you don’t want to sell don’t. It should not be a guilt trip.

  14. onefromphilly says:

    FUNDRAISERS???

    Please just stab me with a butter knife.

  15. Disco Diva says:

    I know its a fundraiser..but they charge so much for candles and cookie dough! I just can’t do it…except for my nephews d*mn Boy Scout Popcorn. I usually spend a couple of hundred dollars (darn kids know how to up sell) and tell my sister to just leave it at daycare. I give the sideeye to people at work.

Say something

