What’s the going rate…

..for a babysitter?

What’s fair? What do you pay?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What’s the going rate…

  1. Barista says:

    I make $15/hour when I babysit. That’s for one child. I’d keep it the same for 2 kids, but raise it after that.

  2. I asked one of my sorors and she said her babysitter charges $10/hr for one kid and $15/hr for 2. She has 2 daughters. She also said the babysitter has a 2 hr minimum. I though that was interesting. She said the babysitter was getting a lot of last minute calls from parents and the babysitter’s mom got tired of that because she would be the one having to drop off and pick up the babysitter from her gigs. Smart mom.

  3. CaliSlim says:

    Zero dollars an hour if you call the Crew. Call the Crew!!!

  4. Krissy says:

    Depends if its an adult or a child. When I was babysitting I was paid maybe 25 bucks for 2 hrs. Last time I babysat as an adult I was paid 80 bucks for 5 hrs and to me that was fair. The baby was 3 months and needed more attention and care.

  5. Krissy says:

    @calislim I was gonna mention that friends typically babysit for free. The last baby I sat for was not a friend of mine

  6. sherri says:

    You need to find a grandmother, retired type at church. If you are talking about evening, do any of your friends have teen agers that you would trust?

  7. I have friends that have offered, but the problem is if my friends are babysitting who can I socialize with? So if I want to do dinner with friends or the like then I need to find a non-friend.

    An employee at Foxy’s daycare as offered her services, but I need to know what to expect to pay.

    • sherri says:

      I found out that the day care providers here were making between 8 – 12.00 an hour (yes, at our fancy, smancy corporate day care facility). Given that, I would think -8-10.00/hour of tax free income is fine.

  8. kimmy says:

    I usually pay $12-15/hr. I have two kids. I have a lot of free babysitters (grandma, granddad, sister, brother, friends, etc.) For the free sitters, I usually hook them up with a nice birthday and/or Christmas gift every year. Also, I try not to ask friends who already have kids to babysit for me unless their child really wants a play date, I think its too much to ask them to take on another one.

  9. MrsTDJ says:

    Great question. I had no idea and now I have a ballpark estimate for myself.

  10. Nikita says:

    Usually I just read your blog, but I recently assisted a friend with finding a babysitting service in ATL with a great reputation. A great deal of people use this babysitting service and on occassion the owner of the biz comes and sits with the kids herself. I also assisted my friend with finding a daycare that was very flexible with their pick up times. A lot of employees from Delta and other companies use both of these services and both businesses have referrals for you to peruse (from what I understand). If you are interested I would pass them along to you – just shoot me an e-mail.

Say something

