Getting to Happy

The other day, S23 posted about a list she made about blogs written by Happy Black Women.  My first thought was, “I sure as hell wouldn’t make that list.”  And it’s the truth.  Most of my posts are kinda downers.  I’m not happy.  But I want to be.  I want to smile every day, not get snarky with stupid people, not be angry with TBL.  I want to wake up to that sweet baby, have a productive day at work, go home, cook a delicious meal and be happy while doing it all.

I’ve decided to embark upon a Fake It til You Make It attitude.  From now on I am going to purposely be happy.  I am going to smile more.  I am going to write less about shit that makes me sad and focus on what makes me happy.  I can be funny when I want to.  I want you all to come here and walk away with a laugh or something interesting to think about.  I don’t want you coming here on a daily basis and hearing about my troubles and thinking “poor Babs”.

Poor Babs, hell.

So nothing but sunshine and sparkles from here on out.  Okay, maybe that’s a stretch.  Baby steps.

Sunshine and sparkles are in order for the rest of the month.  After all, October is my very favorite month.  I love autumn.  I love Halloween.  I love fall television.

Hopefully by writing about what makes me happy I will attract more happiness.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Getting to Happy

  1. Ms. Smart says:

    Love it. Even if you can’t be super duper happy all the time, at least balance the angry out with the sugar and spice. Plus, you have a lot to be happy about.

  2. Barista says:

    Shit, dude. I need to follow you on this one.

  3. busybodyk says:

    I believe in the power of positive thinking. Have you seen The Secret? It will help you get on the track you want to be on.

  4. K. Rock says:

    Yippee. Can’t wait to ride.

  5. dmac says:

    Cool. I’m ready for some sunshine and sparkles. I think I’ll make some around me too!

  6. Tsiporah says:

    I started doing this a few months ago. It takes some getting used to, but it does work if you’re persistent and take it one day at a time. It helps if you take at least 5 minutes in the day to do something simply for your own enjoyment. Good Luck!

  7. Lori F says:

    Good for you! One of the best things I ever read (when I was down) was to simply smile & laugh. Force yourself to do it even if there’s nothing to smile or laugh about; you will for real feel pretty stupid initially but apparantly just doing that releases ‘happy hormones’. And, it’s really hard to be upset with a smile on your face – which is why it irks me so much when folks make me laugh when I’m mad! Anyway, just a thought for you when you’re sittin alone feeling bad about and/or sorry for yourself 🙂 Hope this helps you ‘fake it til you make it”!!

  8. Krissy says:

    I don’t know how to be fake so this wouldn’t work for me. But I get where you’re going with this and I truly hope it works the way you intend it to.

  9. Gladys says:

    You’re doing the right thing by choosing to be happy despite everything else that is going on. That’s the first step, my dear.

  10. jamie says:

    If you can’t be happy, you CAN be less sad, and that’s a start.

    Baby steps, baby steps!

  11. MrsTDJ says:

    Making the conscious choice and writing it down are great steps in the right direction. It’s hard some days for all of us, but by choosing to try it an excellent way to make it happen.

  12. CreoleInDC says:

    I so want you to be happy Babs.

  13. AR Gal says:

    And now for a musical selection……………

  14. KJ says:

    Hey! I’m about to read that book! I’m definitely on the “fake it ’til you make it” train. I adopted that motto with a friend last year…has been working too. Seems that deciding to be happy actually makes me happy and puts me in a better mood sometimes. Imagine that. Many blessings to you on your journey to happy. 🙂

  15. S23 says:

    I started a gratefulness journal earlier this year but havent’ kept it up, but for months I did. You’d be amazed if you had to think daily about things you are grateful for how many things you could find.

  16. CaliSlim says:

    Good for you Babs! Happiness is always a choice! Just remind yourself that your blessings outweigh your problems and you are on your way to being genuinely happy! 😀

  17. This mindset really worked for me in the past and got easier over time. Those moments will come, but we just have to push them away and not give them too much control or power in our lives. You are on the way to the life you desire. Be encouraged !

  18. This whole post gets a “LIKE”.

  19. justJENN says:

    I don’t like ‘fake it til you make it’ I tried that. It hurt more. I decided to have a bad attitude until I didn’t feel like it anymore. That is what turned it around and made me happy. HA!

  20. Pingback: You Bring Me Joy! « Nerd Girl

  21. t. sheree says:

    😀

Say something

