Dear Mothers of Little Brown Girls:

At what age did you quit using John.son’s baby shampoo and start using something for more ethnic hair?

What shampoo did you switch to?

When did you start using conditioner?

What other products do you use on your little girl’s hair?

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Mothers of Little Brown Girls:

  1. ames says:

    I stopped using Johnson after a few months and used Aveeno baby wash and shampoo. I used baby oil on her head to style and keep her scalp from being dry. I stopped using that at about 20 months.

    I switched to the conditioning shampoo I use. I started using conditioner on her hair at 24 months. I used some kiddie hair milk conditioner I got from the drug store.

    I style with Kinky Curly tiny twirls styler, kinky curly gloss pomade, carols daughter hair milk, cd black vanillaleave in conditioner.

    I used Jojoba oil on her scalp last week and I plan to use that again.

  2. Shea says:

    I only use the J&J about twice a month since it’s not really formulated for our hair. It’s so drying. So far, I’m just doing co-washes. As far as products go, I go the natural route and use either olive oil, coconut oil, or shea butter on her hair. Most of her baby hair has shed, and the new stuff is coming in. What she ends up with will determine which products I’ll continue to use.

  3. Nerd Girl says:

    I used Aveeno ’til she was about 2, switched to Suave shampoo and conditioners until she was 4. Now I use Creme of Nature detangling shampoo. I condition w/cholesterol. I detangle with water/cheap conditioner (VO5, Suave, etc.)

    Hair products – I alternate back and forth between Liv hairdress and olive and coconut oils. Just depends on what her hair needs.

    My kiddo’s hair texture didn’t fully switch up until she was 5. I’ve made adjustments as her hair changed.

  4. krissy says:

    Jas is allergic to J&J it breaks her out. Found that out around 2 months old. So we don’t use that any more. I use aquaphore 3 in 1 to wash her hair. I oil with either cantu cocoa nut oil or I use pink oil FINE oil and I didn’t start using that until her hair changed from mosty straight/wavy to very curly and needed a little extra to keep it tame. Her hair texture is a lot like mine right now and from the looks of it, won’t be changing anymore. I probably won’t use conditioner on her hair until she’s probably about 4ish. Right now the products I use to oil her hair also condition.

  5. Deljah says:

    I have tried a number of products on my daughter’s hair. I gave up the Johnson’s around 6 months, I guess. I tried Suave Humectant (co-washes only). I tried Pink Oil Moisturizer, Beautiful Beginnings detangler and moisturizing lotion, some other Soft-sheen carson kids products, some Green Aloe Cholesterol (only took 1 small drop out of that bottle b/c it stank). I went to Africa’s Best Kids Detangling Shea Butter Moisturizing Lotion and the related shampoo. Also tried Le Kair supergrow hairdress and Blue Magic Grease. Just For Me Hair Straightening mist. Pure shea butter. I also tried the stuff I use on my hair when it’s not straightened: pure coconut oil and curl activator.

    As you can see, I’ve tried many things. My daughter’s hair texture is not like mine, so we haven’t been able to use the same stuff. Her hair is very dry, thick and needs a serious detangler. We are currently using Shea Moisture curl enhancing smoothie, hair milk, moisture retaining shampoo and deep masque treatment as a conditioner. It works fairly well. I have to re-apply the hair milk and smoothie every time I comb her hair. I also still use the LeKair hair dress b/c it seems that her hair needs a little of that. Her hair rarely feels completely dried out now. I’m not sure if these are my “holy grail” products but they’re fine for now. (She is 2 yrs old).

    Each Shea Moisture product is $10 per container at Target. The hair milk is going the quickest, but still should last maybe 3 to 4 months. The other items will probably last at least 6 months. So it was worth a try before jumping on Miss Jessie’s, which is also at Target for $58 (!) a jar. I’ve probably wasted that much on cheap, ineffective products, which seem to be the most traditional and readily available. You never know what will work for your kid unless your hair is the same.

    I also registered for long hai.r c.are forum just for the kids care section. It’s really good for product recs and regimens and style ideas.

    Sorry for blogging in your comments. And yet I feel I could go on, lol! What a journey!

Say something

