Figuring it Out

Ugggghhhhh….

I know I need to lose weight.  I know it.  This morning I slipped on my span.x under my clothes, expect I decided to slip on my maternity span.x instead of my regular.  They are way more comfortable, so I said fugg it.  I’m wearing them every day from now on.

But I need to lose weight.  I’m not really trying to wear maternity undergarments and size 16 pants for the rest of my life.  And really, I can’t stand to look at my face in the mirror.  It’s just so…big.

Then there is the side of me that really doesn’t care about losing weight.  I mean, what is it I am trying to lose weight for?  I can’t afford to buy smaller clothes.  I’m not dating.  The only person that is going to see me nekkid is my GYN and I can hold off on that until the end of next summer.  The only people that will see me in a bathing suit are my neighbors and strangers at the beach.  Why should I care?

Then this morning, some time around o’dark thirty I heard the baby crying and I jumped up to go see to her.  Expect when my feet hit the ground something in my ankle didn’t operate right.  It was like my ankle was marshmallow.  I crumbled to the floor.  Picture me on the ground in the middle of the night with a baby crying flexing my ankles just so I can walk to the next room.

I’m so out of shape it’s not even cute.

My mom sent me some new workout video- hi.p hop a.bs.  At first I was excited.  I got up early one morning to do it and aside from being ridiculously tired I was bored.  I just can’t work out in my living room.  I hate it.  I need the energy of other people.  I need loud music.  I need fresh air in my face.

I work from 830am – 430pm.  Daycare is open from 700am until 600pm.  There simply is not enough time in the day for me to workout, commute and get dressed with full hair and makeup.  I keep running through the day in my head to see if it can work but it can’t.  If I am not in my car by 500pm I run the risk of being late for daycare and that isn’t an option.

The mornings are getting cooler and pretty soon I won’t even be able to go on walks with the baby.

I have been thinking about joining a gym that has childcare.  At least I can work out on weekends.  But then I wonder about what type of childcare providers are working at LA Fitness.  Do I trust them with my baby?  Maybe I can get on a treadmill that faces the childcare room and watch her the entire time.  But then I would also have to incur an additional expense of belonging to a gym.  Who has $40 bucks a month lying around?  Not I said the fly.

Okay, just getting my thoughts out there.

Trying to figure it out.

This entry was posted in Health, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Figuring it Out

  1. JennBMe says:

    Is lunch time an option?

  2. Bell says:

    Welcome to motherhood! I lost 65 pounds before my daughter. 3 years later I’m still trying to get rid of the 35 pounds I gained durning my pregnancy. It is really hard to find time to workout when you have an exhausting day of work and taking care of a child. The only time I gave to get any exercise in is durning lunch time. A group of us go together and workout at a nearby church. They have a full gym that is free to the public. Other responsiblities still get in the way (errands that can’t wait until after work or workload requires working through lunch). But I look at it this way, at least I am getting some time in at the gym which is way better than nothing at all.

  3. keyalus says:

    LA Fit.ne.ss charges extra for the childcare too. It is $5 a visit or something like $25/month. I tried it once and after 40 minutes Lewis was crying too much so they came to get me. He was the only child in there at the time and around 11 months old so I didn’t feel too bad about leaving him. I’ll try it again when he’s more used to a daycare setting.

    There must be something you can do from home that doesn’t suck! I have a bunch of workout videos (step, hi/lo,weights,jump rope) if you want to try something out. If you really do want to exercise and can’t do it at lunch then it sounds like home is your only option.

  4. MrsTDJ says:

    I feel your pain. I’m up at 4:45a to hit my elliptical and I take my lunch 3 days at week at 3pm, so I can hit the free gym in my office building. Once I get home, it’s a wrap.

    LOL @ what type of childcare workers are working at LA Fitness. Random as it is, I have a niece in NY that is a daycare assistant at a gym. She’s a full time college student (early education major) , so the evening hours work for her schedule and it’s close to her campus. She doesn’t make very much money, but she loves kids and needs the experience.

  5. AR Gal says:

    I’ve mentioned it before but I’m the total opposite when it comes to exercise. I can do a class here and there but I love working out alone. Mistah and I walk the dogs together a couple of times\week but that’s the extent of my buddy system. I stan for The Firm and can tolerate Billy Blanks with Tae-Bo only because I’m usually breathing to hard to pay him too much attention. I do still plan on trying out a Zumba class at some point though.

  6. Nerd Girl says:

    I’m thinking your lunch hour may be your best bet. I don’t know the layout of your office, but could you walk (inside or outside) there? Do the stairs? Sometimes I use my 15 minute break to sneak in a little exercise – walking, stairs, resistance bands.

    You may also want to call a few gyms, ask for a free pass or two and if you find one you like – equipment and childcare – ask for a membership for Christmas.

    The only gym I’ve ever belonged to is the Y, and I’ve never had any problems with sending Lovegirl to childcare. I did wait until she was one (mostly because I’d stopped nursing by then and my boobs weren’t big/heavy anymore) but they’ve always done a good job with her.

    I hope you’re able to work something out so that you can look and feel the way you want to.

  7. kimmy says:

    I still struggle with this. I have a 3 and 5 yo. I am a member of L.A. Fitness. I use the kids club and it’s great! I pay $40/mo for membership. It cost $20 per kid per month for childcare! Put I don’t pay that. It’s cheaper for me to pay $5 per kid per visit. I only go once per week for a wednesday step aerobics class. Then I go on the weekends when they can stay home with Dad or go to grandma. Or I’ll go at night from 9-10pm after they are in bed.

  8. sherri says:

    You are going to do it because you love Foxy to pieces and you want to be here long enough to see HER children graduate from college.

  9. Tsiporah says:

    It’s hard as hell to carve out time for exercising, especially when you’re a single mother of a young child. Can you have a friend watch Foxy (or pick her up at daycare) a couple evenings a week, so that you can work out? Or exercise a couple of days during your lunch hour? It’s not going to be easy, but if you’re determined you will come up with a way. Good luck!

  10. Sasha says:

    Maybe you could get a treadmill or some workout equipment, i.e., bike indoors and have your dad set it up for you. You can do that at night when you watch tv or listen to music. I think this will work out great for you.

  11. CC says:

    Breastfeeding burns about 500 per day, I’ve read. Also, you can incorporate Foxy into your workouts; lifting her like weights. Make it fun!

  12. Cyn says:

    Have you tried some of the Wii fitness programs? I have the EA Sports Active and I like it. For some reason it feels different than standing staring at a video. Plus it tracks how often you workout and for how long and gives you charts for weight loss and how many days you exercised. The have ones for the Biggest Loser and Jillian Michaels as well.

    Maybe you can setup a blog challenge so we can all commit to some program and check in so you feel like you have a group of workout buddies. I am starting the PushUps, Squats and Situps challenge after NerdGirl inspired me to give it another try.

  13. GatorGirl says:

    Weekends! Call me anytime you want to head out to SC Trail or the likes 🙂 I need to drop a few too and am going to ramp up my workouts…starting next week…

Say something

