Man’s Man

Although I appreciated the diapers, wipes and clothes that my dad bestowed upon me and baby girl last weekend, there is one thing that he did that made his trip completely worthwhile in my eyes.  I have a window in my living room that has never been opened.  The previous owners stupidly put a screw in it as a safety precaution.  Since the day I closed on the place I have never been able to get the screw out to get the window open.  Nor has any handyman, intern or boyfriend.

I casually mentioned to my dad that I would love to have the window open.  He asked me to get my toolbox, and after complaining about my tools for five minutes he got the screw out and the window open.  I was overjoyed!  There is nothing I love more than a nice breeze throughout the house on a cool evening.  Until now, I have been opening my patio door along with the other window in my living room, but I always got spooked and closed it for fear of someone entering my home.  Now I can open both windows in my living room and feel safe.

I pointed out some other things around my home that needed fixing and my dad said he could fix them.  He said he’d just have to dedicate a week and come down and knock stuff out room by room.  He looked at my kitchen and dining room floors and pointed out some flaws.  He showed me how they should have been laid down.  He said he could fix it AND extend the floors into my living room.

You don’t even know how excited I was over this conversation.  The only male figure I’ve had up to this point is my mother’s stepfather.  On the few occasions that I have called him to ask for home repair advice he has offered very little help, let alone offered to come down and actually do the repairs for me.  And that joker has just as much skill and free time as my dad.

So now I’m going to refine my list of repairs around the house over the next few weeks.  Daddy’s gonna have a lot of work to do!

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Man’s Man

  1. CreolePeach says:

    That’s so heartwarming. Nothing is better than having someone handy willing to help – and there’s something extra special about it being daddy. Mine was here recently and put some shelves up in my garage. It took me longer to figure out I couldn’t do it than it did for him to put them together and be on the couch with a beer. lol

  2. onefromphilly says:

    So glad that your Dad is there for you and Foxy. 🙂

  3. keyalus says:

    My Dad is very handy too. Now that he’s retired, I want him to fly down and landscape my yard. He lives for stuff like that. I wish The Mister did!

  4. MrsTDJ says:

    Aww, that’s great! I have that kind of Daddy too. Even when he just comes by for a short visit to see my son, his eyes are roaming and his mind is racing. Before the visit is over, he’ll say something like, “I think I heard your front door squeak, I’ll bring my tools by on Saturday”. We just smile because he loves to do it and we totally appreciate it.

  5. AR Gal says:

    I enjoy reading the updates about how this relationship is blossoming. It sounds like Foxy was just the jolt needed to re-establish this important bond. 🙂

Say something

