Thankful: Day 2

I finally told my mom about being reunited with my dad.  It wasn’t an easy conversation, as I assumed, but not for the reasons I expected. 

My mom wasn’t at all unhappy that my dad is now playing an active role in my life.  She thinks it’s great and is happy for me.  However, she was saddened by the fact that I felt the need to keep something so important a secret.  It was hard to explain to her that her actions and attitudes in the past made me feel like she would look at this reunion as a betrayal.

I apologized to her for keeping such an important thing a secret.  She apologized to me for making me feel that I couldn’t talk to her about absolutely anything.  We are good.

Today I am thankful that I am free from hiding things and lying to my mother, who loves me more than anyone else on this earth.  I felt guilty every single day that I kept it from her, but no longer.  I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders, and the last thing I need is more stress in my life.

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thankful: Day 2

  1. SimplyB says:

    I am thankful that my daughter has been born into such a loving family. Although her father and I have MAJOR differences, her grandmother and cousins have been such a blessing and love her so much.

    I am thankful that I know that God loves me so much that he will see me through everything I am going through.

    I am also thankful for my right to vote. This is an important election!!!

  2. jamie says:

    I am thankful that I have a big bottle of aspirin in my desk drawer.

  3. I am thankful that Foxy has brought you and your dad back together. Everyone deserves to have their dad in their lives.

    I am thankful for my husband today and am thankful that God saw fit to send him my way.

  4. Jack says:

    I am thankful for strong coffee and the right to vote!

  5. Nerd Girl says:

    RHOA. I laughed so hard and it felt so good!

  6. CaliSlim says:

    Glad it all went smoothly! Whew! 🙂

  7. najalimu says:

    Thankful that I have the opportunity to quit at the end of the year and be a SAHM. I tried doing it all and I’m failing miserably. Kuddos to the career moms! You all rock!

  8. onefromphilly says:

    I’m thankful for my grandparents who raised my parents who raised me. I owe them more than I could ever repay.

  9. ames says:

    I am thankful my daughter’s nanny is great at styling a colored girls hair. She does all sorts of cute styles.

  10. I am thankful that my parents are still here with me, because my closest friend lost her mother a year ago today and I am trying to find a way to comfort her.

  11. Disco Diva says:

    Thankful that I was able to vote today. Such an important election and my voice was heard!

  12. Deljah says:

    I am thankful that today, I have everything I need.

  13. pserendipity says:

    I’m thankful for a man that goes above and beyond so that I can have things that I want, and don’t need.

  14. Kera says:

    I am thankful for the right to vote and for my wonderful, smart group of Kindergarten scholars!

  15. t. sheree says:

    I am thankful for my supportive family…although they are camped out on my nerves right now, roasting marshmallows, and ish.

Say something

