Thankful: Day 6

A few days ago I was talking to my dad and telling him how baby was enjoying her rice cereal.  I started it when she was four months old and she has progressively gotten more interested in eating ever since.  I told him how I was excited about introducing her to other foods and that I planned on making all of her baby food.  I told him I was going to get a food processor and a couple of cookbooks.

Two days later he calls me and tells me he found a food processor and was sending it to me, oh and that he was sending it to Foxy’s attention because he wanted to send her the first piece of mail with her name on it.  After gently letting him know that she has already received mail, I thanked him profusely.  I never imagined that he would send me a food processor.  I had been researching them for a couple of weeks and planned to purchase one by December.  And none of them were as nice as the one he chose!

This bad boy was sitting by my front door when I arrived home yesterday.  I looooooove it.  Isn’t it beautiful?

I had purchased a bag of sweet potatoes the other day so I decided to make that my first go at homemade babyfood.  I simply put the bag in the microwave and steamed it for 9 minutes.  Then I peeled the potatoes, added them to the food processor along with about a half cup of water and a couple dashes of cinnamon.  I pureed the mixture for about 30 seconds.

Voila!  Yummy, wholesome goodness.  I tasted it and it was yummy!  It totally didn’t need butter or sugar.  So why do I always add it to my food?

I filled up an ice cube tray with the mixture.  After they froze, they are perfect individual servings.  Just pop one out, thaw and reheat.  How easy is that?

And the best part is baby loved them  I thought I would have to mix them with rice cereal, but no sir.  She happily ate her first batch of sweet potatoes.

Next up, squash!

Today I am so thankful for my beautiful new food processor.  I am thankful that I have the desire to make my baby’s food.  And I am thankful that she liked it!

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thankful: Day 6

  1. SimplyB says:

    That looks good!

    I plan to make my baby food too. I’m thinking about starting with Avocado.

    I am thankful for my Kroger Plus card which gets me 10 cents off per gallon of gas at the pump!

  2. cbean says:

    Girl you can’t go from sweet potatoes to squash!! Poor baby is going to be confused. LOL. Sweet potatoes=ymmmm. Squash=Eww yuck. LOL

  3. Clu says:

    Foxy’s so cute! My Mom made my baby food to…or so I am told. I just had a blander pureed version of what she had.

  4. JennBMe says:

    Cute pic of Foxy! My kids loved a mixture of white potatoes and carrots!

    I’m thanKful for my fam! They make super happy!

  5. S23 says:

    It’s Sunday and I’m thankful and annoyed that Tyler is lying on my bed with his laptop and cartoons on MY tv. Even though there is a tv in his room and the living room. I should cherish these mornings b/c he’ll grow up and not want to watch anything on tv with his mommy. So I’m thankful for him.. Always loving his mommy no matter how fat she gets or how crazy her hair looks in the morning.

  6. Deljah says:

    Thankful that I could go to the grocery store yesterday and buy everything I needed.

    I’m thankful for you too, Babs. Thanks for sharing your life with us, your readers. I wish you the absolute best.

  7. jamie says:

    I am thankful for black coffee and my son for driving me to the Somali store to buy leg of lamb and camel meal for thanksgiving dinner

  8. t. sheree says:

    I am extremely thankful for my loving, supportive friends during this crazy time in my life.

  9. nineteen69 says:

    She is adorable in that picture!

  10. keyalus says:

    That’s a great picture. I made sweet potatoes too (he liked it) and tried avocado (a no go) and then I gave in to the jars. I have the book “Cooking For Baby” by Lisa Barnes if you want to borrow!

  11. laughing808 says:

    she is tooooooooo dang on cute!!!!!

Say something

