Thankful: Day 8

Before I went on maternity leave this summer, I was quite miserable at the job.  I was bored to tears.  I had nothing to do.  I would come in each day and read parenting magazines, blogs and message boards.  I had plenty of time to obsess over the impending arrival of baby Foxy.

Weeks before I returned to work I was depressed.  Not just because I was leaving my sweet baby girl in the hands of strangers, but because I was leaving her to come back to a place I hated.  I knew I had no work to do.  Literally NO WORK to do.  I had left my desk empty with nothing to do.  My objectives for the year were met before I left.  The thought of coming back to 8 hours of nothing made me cry.

I’ve been back at work for nearly three months.  I’d say since the second week of my return I have been busy.  Busier than I have ever been at any job in my life.  I have new projects that are somewhat interesting and often overlapping one another.  I’ve been so busy I’ve actually had to take my computer home a couple of times to get things done.

The culmination of one of those projects was last week.  We do a pretty big Silent Auction for the Un.ited W.ay each year and I was asked to coordinate the auction this year.  For three weeks I was immersed in all things auction.  I was charged with cataloging the items, determining value and bid prices, creating bid sheets and so much more.  We had nearly 40o items.

The event was a huge success.  I had a team of people that helped me set up and organize the event.  I had a few items go to live bidding and had to pull those items.  Then we had special closed bids during the auction where I randomly selected items to close.  I was exhausted at the end.  But my work wasn’t finished.  Then I had to take all 400 bid sheets and log in the winners and start collecting monies.  It’s work that I am still working on today, in addition to my other duties.  I came in today to a gracious email from the head of our organization thanking me for the work I did.  We raised over $14,000.

As I drove in this morning thinking about the busy week ahead of me, I couldn’t help but be thankful for my workload.  Not only is it keeping me busy, but it is often fulfilling as well.  I no longer feel like I’m wasting office space, and I am in a much better mood when I pick up the Fox.

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thankful: Day 8

  1. SimplyB says:

    Unfortunately, before I left for maternity leave I was always busy or working late. Now, I basically twiddle my thumbs all day and it almost drives me insane!

    Yet, I am thankful for my sweet girl for sleeping through the night.

    I am also thankful for my coworker for leaving the Sunday paper on my desk.

    I am thankful for the radio stations for actually playing songs I liked on my way into work today.

  2. keyalus says:

    I am thankful that Lewis got an extra hour of sleep yesterday instead of waking up early. I told The Mister he should be going to bed earlier!

    I am thankful that the stomach bug that possessed my body Friday and Saturday is gone.

  3. AR Gal says:

    This is the exact reason why I was looking to get out of the position I was in. I’m thankful for new opportunities.

  4. Jack says:

    I am thankful that it’s a 3 day work week and that no one in my family has spoiled the 70th surprise party I have planed for my mom this weekend!

  5. onefromphilly says:

    I often have days with NOTHING to do. Research can be like watching paint dry. However as boring as this job can be, I am blessed and thankful to have it. This is such a large organization that I really do have many opportunities to move around and get a more exciting position, for that I’m also thankful.

  6. Disco Diva says:

    Thankful that I had a job to come to today.

  7. Ames says:

    Thankful the parenting is learned and that kids start as babies giving parents time to learn them.

  8. Nerd Girl says:

    I am thankful that my hubby is continue to work on losing weight/being healthier.

  9. t. sheree says:

    Congrats on the auction’s results!

    I am thankful for great weather so I can get off my bottom and go running in a couple of hours.

  10. MrsTDJ says:

    I’m thankful that my commute in today was blissful and I’m hopeful that the ride home will be the same.

  11. CaliSlim says:

    Go Babs! You’re always the perfect planner.

    I’m thankful for my new lady parts doctor and how my uterus go a glowing report! Staight A’s!!! 😆

  12. Honest says:

    I’m grateful for the job I have and interesting billable work.

Say something

