Squashed

On Sunday I decided to try homemade squash for the baby.  It was really easy to make.  Just wash, chop, boil and puree. 

I tasted it after I was done and was sure the baby wouldn’t like it.  Thankfully I was wrong.  At first I mixed it in with bites of sweet potato.  Then I gradually eliminated the sweet potato and just fed her bites of squash.

She ate about half a serving and I was more than pleased.  I am really focused on raising a healthy eater.  So I will introduce a variety of foods early and often.

The downside?  Oh, cause there definitely is a downside.  Baby had SIX bowel movements yesterday.  SIX!  She had four at daycare, then one when we got home, then another as I was changing her diaper.  Take a moment to visualize that scene for a moment.  Yeah, very science fiction.

I decided to skip the food last night.  She doesn’t need to be having that many BMs in one day.  And I’m not trying to have a handful of poop!

This entry was posted in Food, Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Squashed

  1. ondrea says:

    The good thing is that everything you introduce to her is new so she has no idea how “we” think it should taste. She will like it because she does not realize it would be better with some salt, sugar, pepper or whatever we have learned to add. I think it’s great that her food is being prepared this way (none of the extra stuff they don’t need). She looked pretty darn content with the sweet potatoes.

    One thing (not telling you what to do) but you might want to consider spacing out the introduction of new things. If she has an allergic reaction to any of the foods it is easier to identify what it is if she only tried one new thing that week.

    • Krissy says:

      They won’t just like everything lol. I wish that were the case. My baby didn’t like anything green, period! She’d gag and spit it out. Then at some point she was opposed to baby food all together. I could get her to have nay unless I mixed it with her formula. Babies are hella picky.

  2. AR Gal says:

    Healthy bowels make for a healthy body!

  3. Petite Pearl says:

    LOL. I’ve already had poop while changing a diaper and my son’s not even eating solids yet. SMH.

  4. SimplyB says:

    I can’t wait to get to this stage!!

    Six poops is not the hotness. LOL

  5. Krissy says:

    U might wanna read up on what foods promote BMs before u try then out with her. Jasmine had issues with certain foods when we started with the gerber. Too many bowel movements and the colors! Oh lawd the colors!

  6. Shea says:

    LMAO, I had to laugh about getting pooed on while changing a diaper. Been there, done that. Never knew it could get projectile like until she came.

    Baby had sweet potatoes the other day and seemed to like them well enough. I really need to give her more solids since she’s draining me dry. I’ve lost five pounds I wanted to keep ;(

  7. missmajestic says:

    Reminds me of my cousin saying anyone still wearing diapers does not get to eat collard greens

Say something

