Sick Days

As my feverish fingers gripped the cold porcelain, I could only wonder one thing…when was the last time I had corn???

I’ve been sick ya”ll.  Like, not coughcough and runny nose sick but SICK.   I’m talking vomiting six times in as many hours followed by an all day fever and diarrhea event.  Yeah, it’s been really pretty over here the last couple of days.

It all started around 130 in the morning.  By 630 in the morning I did what any adult, working, homeowner and mother would do.  I called my mommy.  She, of course, freaked out when she saw her phone ringing so early.  When I told her I was sick the first thing she said was “you need to get the baby to daycare!”  Gee, thanks, mom.

After we hung up, I decided to call my daddy.  Surely he would have some kind words for me.  Nope, not all.  “Well, you need to take Foxy to daycare and then you need to go to work.”  Gee, thanks, dad.

I did, however, make it my priority to get the baby out of the house.  Unfortunately, it did not involve me dressing her or doing her hair.  Picture me (crazy haired, vomit breath and braless) dropping off baby in her footie pajamas.  I didn’t even step inside the room.  I just hand her the baby and her clothes and asked if she would dress her for me.  Honestly, it’s all the energy I could muster.

I spent the entire day in and out of consciousness.  I couldn’t get warm enough despite the heat blasting and the two layers of blankets.  I ate two crackers and a half a cup of chicken soup, thanks to my dear friend Disco Diva.  And I slept some more.

My parents did check on me later in the day.  They were armed with encouraging words and there was even a promise of a get well present.  Get well present?  Sign me up for another sick day! (not really)

By the time I picked baby up I felt only marginally better.  I brought her home where I am pretty sure I fell asleep playing with her.  I fed her dinner, slipped on her jammies and we were both asleep by 630pm.  Like, lights out, tv off, under the covers in bed at 630pm.  Who does that?

Today I am slightly better.  My head is still pounding and my stomach hurts so much, but I think the fever is gone.  I plan on sleeping for a few more hours and then I’ll rejoin society.

This entry was posted in Health, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sick Days

  1. krissy says:

    I hope you feel 100% soon sugar

  2. Honest says:

    Feel better Babs!

  3. Shea says:

    Egads, sounds like the flu. Get well soon!

  4. t. sheree says:

    I hope you feel better soon. 😦

  5. Maz says:

    Get well soon :(.

  6. CC says:

    Get lots of rest and try to keep your fluids up. Feel better soon.

  7. AR Gal says:

    That does sound like the flu…or a stomach virus….or both. *faints*

    Immodium A.D. helps all things stomach virus\diarrhea related. Trust me on that one.

    A hot toddy will help in knocking out the other symptoms. Try making one without the liquor http://cocktails.about.com/od/cocktailrecipes/r/httdy_ht.htm. Even without it, the hot liquid will help with breaking down the crud.

    Please stay your tail at home until you feel well.

    Air hugs and kisses

  8. Deljah says:

    Get well soon!

  9. ames says:

    Feel better! Being sick with little ones is rough. Thank goodness for childcare. I have a cold and was super grateful when the nanny arrived.

  10. Tsiporah says:

    Ugh! Get better soon.

  11. Tiombe25 says:

    Ugh, that sucks! Feel better Babs!

  12. Miss Ali D says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

  13. heartdrops says:

    ugh! Damn flu! Feel better soon!

  14. ondrea says:

    Hope you feel better already (since I am late responding).

  15. Wifey! Hugs (from a distance) to you. Lots of fluids and rest. Hope you feel better today!

Say something

