Long and Strong and Down to get the Friction On!

Today was the six month check for momma’s big girl.  And I do mean MOMMA’S.BIG.GIRL.

That baby is 27 1/2 inches long!  She is taller than 100% of the babies her age and only in the 60th percentile for her weight. 

That was not really a surprise to me since she is in 9 month clothes already.  I bought her some 12 month pants the other day and, save for the waist, she can pretty much fit them now.

I talked to the pediatrician about her wide awakedness in the middle of the night and was told she is probably not getting enough calories during the day and is hungry.  My poor baby!  As God as my witness she shall never be hungry again!

So I am bumping her up to three meals a day (read:more work for me) and I can slowly start introducing her to table foods.  What does that mean exactly?  Well, if I cook myself dinner I can throw a serving in the food processor and she can eat what I eat.  I can throw caution to the wind and let her try foods with different spices.  The doctor said I can basically give her anything with the exception of peanuts, egg white and milk.  The sky is the limit!

I am so excited to develop a healthy and happy eater.  I am looking forward to introducing her to different foods and flavors.  She hasn’t disappointed me thus far, so I have complete confidence in her.

Other than that conversation it was a pretty routine visit.  I was told that she is “perfect” and we don’t have to go back until her 9 month appointment.

This entry was posted in Food, Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Long and Strong and Down to get the Friction On!

  1. Petite Pearl says:

    Yay Foxy!! I just scheduled my son’s 4-month appointment today.

  2. krissy says:

    Are u and the dad tall? She’s long for 6 months. My baby girl is 29.5in and she’s 13 months. Maybe she’s taking after me. I’m 5’3″ with small feet lol. My chicky wears a size 2 infant shoe still. Lol

  3. coco327 says:

    Yay Foxy! Why isn’t baby allowed peanuts, eggs and milk?

  4. keyalus says:

    She is tall! I think Lewis is still about 29.5 inches. He’s in the 50th percentile for height. I hope he didn’t inherit my short gene. The Mister is a good height and everyone in his family is tall. I’m the shortest one in my immediate family so it would be all my fault if he’s 5’5.

  5. ames says:

    Wow! She is tall. My son is 9 months and about 28 inches long.

    Keyalus, I have read that at 26 or so months, the kid is about half the height they will get. If that is true my daughter will be about, 5’5 or 5’6, which is a tiny bit taller than me.

    I’m 5″4 3/4 and my husband is 5″11 3/4.

  6. Lori F says:

    Wow! We had Katie’s 6 mo appt yesterday too! She’s 25 3/4″ and a very dainty 15lbs 3oz. Apparently that’s 50% for length & 25% for weight. She’s been waking in the middle of the night too – from 1:30 til about 4:30 this morning!!! Ugh! Thank goodness it’s the weekend! But she’s not been sleeping well in general & our pediatrician told us to let her ‘cry it out’ for about a week. I can’t get down with that method though. Leaving my sweet precious to cry?? Did Foxy sleep well on her own or have you had to ‘teach’ her? I’m really upset at this prospect. Congrats on your happy healthy baby girl!

Say something

