On Santa’s Lap

I have many memories of my childhood at Christmas. I remember watching the sky at night on Christmas eve hoping to get a chance of Santa in his sleigh. I remember sitting out milk and cookies so he would have a snack after he shimmied down the chimney. I remember the joy in coming downstairs the next morning to see what he had left for me.

One thing I don’t really remember is sitting on his lap. Sure it was certainly a rite of passage, and there are even pics to prove it, but I don’t recall being particularly jazzed about going to see Santa every year. Perhaps my five-year old brain was innocent enough to believe in the magic of Santa, but not not so innocent that I thought he could magically appear at every mall within driving distance of my home. I mean, every mall we went to there was Santa.

Now that I have a daughter of my own, the decision to take Foxy to see Santa is very real. I know, I know, she is a baby so she won’t care one way or the other. But I feel like if I am going to do the “sit on Santa’s lap” thing I should start now. That way she will have a picture of her each Christmas with Santa. Wouldn’t that be nice to add to her photo albums?

Except this is 2010 and the idea of my daughter sitting on some strange man’s lap is not at all enticing. It’s sad to say, but when I think of her sitting on Santa’s lap I imagine myself delivering her to the lap of a pe.do.phile in a big red suit. Like delivering the sheep to the wolves. Uh, no thanks.

I’m not feeling the pictures with Santa thing. Not one bit. In a couple of years I’ll be singing Santa’s praises. I’ll tell her stories and about him, the Mrs. and the eight reindeer. But when she asks to go see him, I will very diplomatically let her know that those are Santa’s representatives and not the real man himself.

Anything to keep her off the stranger’s lap.

Do your children have their pictures taken with Santa? If not, why? How do you let them believe in Santa, but not go sit on his lap?

This entry was posted in Foxy, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Santa’s Lap

  1. Sheena says:

    The kid went to see Santa a while back. He was beyond excited to get his pic taken with the big guy. Everyone that comes to the house, he shows the picture to them.

  2. Shea says:

    We believed in Santa, but we NEVER took pictures with him. It didn’t make a bit of difference., and we didn’t feel cheated. You can’t miss something you never had.

    My kid won’t be sitting on the lap for sure. I’m still on the fence about allowing her to believe in Santa.

  3. Krissy says:

    I’ll let jasmine believe for a couple of years. I just don’t want my kid to be the debbie downer and ruin it for all the other little kids. So she’ll get ONE gift front santa and the rest from mommy and everyone else.

    I’m not doing the santa pics because she’s not very fond of strangers touching her. She’ll smile at them all day but they can’t touch her. That’s her thing. So I don’t wanna waste my time and money on a screaming crying picture. But I also don’t think of pedophile when I see a small santa lol. I’d drive myself nuts if I thought like that.

  4. sherri says:

    umm…. you have issues. LOL

    • sherri says:

      But seriously, she is kinda small for a santa pic now. I did it the first year, it looks ridiculous. Try waiting for year 3.

  5. ames says:

    I want to see Santa but the mall I want to go to has 4 hour waits or you have to make an appointment.

    The photo op will occur someday.

  6. Disco Diva says:

    I went to the mall tonight with the kids to take pics with Santa…Schatzi hated him so he probably felt him up while I wasn’t looking! Our pic looks crazy…

  7. DD from MD says:

    Only my oldest daughter has a pic with Santa. And I honestly have no idea where that is. My youngest daughter has been begging to see Santa, but the lines discourage me every year. Or we’ll just happen to be in the mall with a short line and her hair is not “perfect”. Perhaps this year I will let her go. Not so sure about the baby, because beyond the concerns of pedophilia, I can’t get past all the germs that must be sitting on his lap as well.

  8. Deljah says:

    I took my daughter to have a pic w/ Santa last year. She was one. I didn’t ever think of pedophilia, not one time. I just wanted Santa to be black, lol! My hubby and I have been talking about taking her again this year and maybe making it a family portrait. 🙂

  9. MommieV says:

    My dad volunteered to be the santa at the photography studio where we have our photos taken. So she just thought she was getting photos with Boppa in a wierd outfit. I didnt do the Santa at the mall… Find out if a photo studio near you has Santa sometime

Say something

