Tip Drill

Yesterday, mommiev wrote about her gift-giving dilemma at her daughter’s daycare.  I am suffering from a similar dilemma, and I only have today to figure it out.

I definitely want to show some Christmas love to the women that provide care to Foxy on a daily basis.  They work hard and put up with my idiosyncracies, so it is important to me to show my gratitude in some sort of way.  Two of them have had birthdays this year and I got them each a card with a $5 chick fila gift card in it.  Hey, it’s not much but at least I bought them lunch!

Christmas, however, is proving to be much more challenging.  There are about 6 women who care for Foxy on any given day.  They all love her and are good to her, so I definitely want to get them something, but I simply cannot afford to buy six people gifts.

I thought perhaps I would bake them cookies, but I think people get sick of cookies around the holidays.  I thought about picking up a dozen doughnuts and taking them in, but some people don’t come in until 10am.  Would they appreciate doughnuts at that point?

I would have liked to have done real presents, but it seems like food is the only budget-friendly idea I can come up with.

What do you think I should do for the 6 women at Foxy’s daycare?

Do you do anything for your child’s caregiver for Christmas?

I need to decide today what I am doing, so your advice is appreciated!

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tip Drill

  1. AR Gal says:

    How about some of Barista’s cupcakes?

    Totally thought about that, but I’ve run out of time to order them. Tomorrow is the last day before winter break.

  2. 1969 says:

    Have pizza delivered one day this week for them for lunch.

    Love this idea!!!

  3. mzinspiredmind says:

    What I do for the kids teachers (and did when they were younger for their daycare providers) was get them a nice Christmas ornament. Target has really cute ones that are on sale this week…I’m talking $1-5 a piece and no they don’t look cheap at all.

  4. Petite Pearl says:

    How about $5 Starbucks giftcards?

  5. cbean says:

    How about a cupcake wrapped in cellophane (sp) and attach a nice note about how much you appreciate the care they give to Foxy. Something inexpensive that you can personalize.

  6. Stacyt0419 says:

    Maybe try a homemade fruit arrangement bouquet like the ones you can buy from Edible Arrangement. It’s a healthy alternative to sweets and candy.

  7. keyalus says:

    I am lucky that Lewis only has two main teachers so I can limit my gift giving somewhat. I think I’m going to go with a movie gift card or something. I will definitely get a personalized card thanking them for all that they do.

    There are a couple of other ladies that aren’t in his classroom but are helpful in the morning when I drop him off so I want to bring in a larger food item for everyone to enjoy. I saw this recipe on another blog and I am testing it out at book club this weekend. If it is good, I will bake these and put them in cute tin for all the teachers to enjoy. Something different from cookies!
    http://www.bakerella.com/red-velvet-cake-balls/

    I like the pizza delivery idea & the Starbucks. A nice cup of coffee or lunch would be appreciated.

  8. SimplyB says:

    I like the pizza idea but I also think doughnuts are good at any hour of the day!

  9. kimmy says:

    I like the pizza idea. It’s probably too late for this but did you look into pooling your money with some other parents to get a group gift?

  10. pserendipity says:

    I’m going to get Aidan’s teachers a personalized water bottle. Hmm, I should go do that today.

  11. Barrister says:

    What about a getting them a holiday themed coffee mug and fill them with silver & gold Hershey’s Kisses? Take sheets of the red and/or green Saran Wrap cut long enough so that you can have a “pouf” at the end and then tie it up with a nice piece of ribbon?

    I’ve done this many times and they are alway a a big hit.

  12. CaliSlim says:

    The CEO of my job gave all of us $2 scratch offs and I won $10. I’m thrilled! Even if I didnt win I’d be grateful for the chance of a jackpot…even with impossible odds. lol

  13. amyg says:

    I heard that there is this cool chocolate on a stick that you can turn into hot chocolate…I would see if that was easily accessible, and then find cute cheap mugs to put it in…

  14. ames says:

    A handwritten card of thanks signed by you and Foxxy and a fruit basket for the team.

  15. *Ms.B* says:

    Christmas Mug filled with Candy
    Target Dollar Bins have all types of cute gift ideas.

  16. naijamodel says:

    I really like the doughnut idea.

    Pizza gets really old.

  17. CC says:

    Nice, hot pizza on a cold day sounds good.

  18. I just love how you incororated a Nelly song as your post title! LOL!!

    Good ideas by all. Let us know what you decided.

  19. MommieV says:

    I like the personalized water bottle idea. Most of the caregivers at our center carry around water bottles, so that would be a useful gift.

    I also like the pizza idea. Our center does Caregiver Appreciation Week in the spring (I was around for that one this past year, so now I will be less suprised when it springs up). I might use the pizza idea – or maybe with the water bottles too – for that week.

    Thanks for the link!!

Say something

