Scenario

Say you are walking along with your infant in your arms.  You run into 4 people.  1 person is a close friend, 2 of the people are acquaintances and the 4th person is someone you have never seen in your life.

You stop to say hello and everyone is commenting on how cute your baby is.  The person whom you do not know asks to hold your baby.

What do you do?  Do you let her hold the child? 

Do you think it is odd for someone you don’t know to ask to hold your child?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Scenario

  1. Krissy says:

    Is she with your friends? Do they know her well? I don’t know, if she was with my friends I might just let her hold my baby for a min then cut the conversation short and take my baby and leave.

  2. sherri says:

    Your baby is 6 months? At that age, I’d probably say sure and let her hold the baby for a minute. People LOVE babies. I love babies now but I know how people can get so I never ask to hold one. I’ll give the baby to anyone that’s not looking sick to give my arms and back a break.

    Consider it your gift to mankind. 🙂

  3. If she isn’t sick, then I would let the person hold her for a minute or two.

  4. Barista says:

    No.

    Yes, I think that’s odd.

  5. brannon says:

    I think it’s odd for a person you don’t know to ask to hold your baby.

    To be honest, I would not let her hold her. The other ppl didn’t ask to hold her, did they? I don’t get too close to ppl’s babies if I’m feeling a little ill and I never touch their hands. Since you don’t know this person, you have no idea if she’s a little sickly…then, what if Baby Foxy gets sick?

    I’d just say no, Foxy has a little sniffle today and I don’t want her catching any additional germs. The person I don’t know who’s asking to hold my baby can think what they want. I wouldn’t care.

  6. MrsTDJ says:

    I’d let the person hold her for a minute. I’m not crazy about the idea, but since having my son I realize that babies tend to make everyone around them smile and they have a real impact of sooooooo many. A new picture on my desk at work has brightened the most sour colleague who I didn’t even realize was waiting for me to showcase new pics. Like Sherri said, people LOVE babies.

  7. onefromphilly says:

    I think that its odd. I woud tell the person that my child doesn’t take to strangers to well. People that I don’t know, don’t hold my child.

  8. InnerDiva says:

    People LOVE babies. I was holding my godson at the mall and a total stranger asked to hold him. Of course I looked at her like one of us was stupid and it wasn’t me…anyway, if the person knew my friends and seemed normal, I might let them hold my baby after I sanitized their hands.

  9. keyalus says:

    It isn’t something that I would do but I don’t think it is odd. Like others said, people love babies! I remember taking Lewis to the doctor’s office and some random lady wanting to hold him.

    You won’t have to worry about this much longer – you’ll have the social anxiety factor. She’s getting to that age when she won’t tolerate people she doesn’t know holding her.

  10. ames says:

    What do you do? pass her my hand sanitizer. Do you let her hold the child? yes.

    Do you think it is odd for someone you don’t know to ask to hold your child? Not really. I love the smell of babies, so I’ll probably be the strange woman asking to hold a baby. But some people are odd so if I got an odd vibe I would say no.

  11. Okay, so why do you all assume this scenario is about me??? I mean, it is, but 9 times out of ten the scenarios are not about me!

    Anyway, hell no I did not let her hold my baby. I don’t know her! And the people she was with that I know only work with her. It’s not like they are friends. But even if they were friends, I don’t know her!

    Sure I could have let her hold her to be nice, but her feelings are not as important as Foxy. Yes, Foxy is cute and cuddly, but she is a child. A person. And I am not passing her around like a doll just because someone “loves kids.”

    When she reached out to take the baby (without even asking) I didn’t move. Then she finally asked if she could hold her and I told her I don’t really let people hold her. I’m sure she walked away thinking I was a total bitch, but like I said, I don’t know her and her feelings mean nothing when it comes to my daughter.

    • Rehab says:

      Wow.. This is an interesting question. I’ve never asked to hold the baby of a stranger. I’m trying to think of what I would do in that situation. I think I would be so taken aback at the forwardness of of a stranger. To be honest, it raises my cockles just a bit. I probably would have said something like, “actually, I’m in a bit of a rush, so I have to go” or maybe make an excuse about a dirty diaper, but I’m not a fan of just handing over children all willy-nilly either..

      SIDEBAR: Foxy has almost cornered the market on cute.. :o)

  12. missmajestic says:

    hmm depends on my impression of the person. If it was an unfavorable impression, I’d say oh she doesn’t do well with strangers or she has a cold or something like that.

    I do think its odd to ask to hold the child of someone I just met.

  13. ames says:

    If I asked to hold a baby and the mom said “no” I would not call her or think the mom is a b**. Babies are born everyday. She’ll find another child to hold or get her own if its serious enough to make her name call.

    • Krissy says:

      I’m sayin! Lol

      But if I were her and u shot me a dirty look and then told me no, I might say,”wow, my bad I just love babies and urs is a cutie? I didn’t mean to offend u by asking.” But bitch wouldn’t have been my reaction unless, you were clearly being a bitch.

      I totally didn’t shoot her a dirty look. I was totally pleasant, but I gathered she was a bit miffed that I turned her down.

      • Krissy says:

        Like you said, what she thought of you didn’t matter at that point. I’ve never been asked by a stranger to hold my baby. I guess people aren’t that forward with me lol. After you explained further and the woman just reached out for your baby, that would have struck me as weird. But the question By itself isn’t that strange.

  14. Coop says:

    No, she can’t hold my baby. She can introduce herself and fall back.

    It’s not rude at all. You can’t strange folks holding your kids. Forget that.

  15. amyg says:

    I totally agree with what onefromphilly said, and you did the right thing. She is not a toy, people!! Although, she should be because she is really too cute!!!

Say something

