Ghost of New Year’s Past

Well, folks, we are wrapping up another year. Time is really flying by. It seems like it was just yesterday that I was 18, driving around with my cousin trying to find something to do for NYE…at 1130pm. Clearly we weren’t planners, and I even fell asleep in the back seat before the clock struck midnight. Party on, Wayne!

This year I’ll be ringing in the new year with…wait for it…my grandmother. My how times have changed. Don’t worry, I’m not at all regretful of how this year will end. I’ve been thinking of my past new year’s celebrations and I’ve had a lot of good ones. I’ve had some pretty shitty ones, but for the most part they have been good.

My ex-husband, whom I was with for more than seven years, took NYE very seriously. All I ever had to do was find something to wear and he took care of everything else. We spent NYE in Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles and Amsterdam just to name a few.

The worst NYE we ever spent was in New Orleans. It was ridiculously cold. So cold we had to raid the local drug store for gloves and scarves. I’ll never forget standing in Jackson square at the stroke of midnight. It began to snow. And while everyone was cheering with glee, I was simply pissed.

The best NYE ever was spent in London. Ex-husband was big into house music and UK Garage (as was I) so we headed to the min.istry of sound, a huge club. We partied our asses off and were champagne wasted. I seriously don’t recall ever dancing that much in my life.

Yep, I have a lot memories of New Year’s past. It’s going to be interesting to see how they play out during this next phase of my life. I envision lots of rya.n sea.crest and sparkling cider.

What are some of your most memorable NYE?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ghost of New Year’s Past

  1. CC says:

    I never miss the dropping of the Times Sq ball. Some of my fav memories include enjoying homemade seafood feasts with the fam (complete with hats, tiaras and noisemakers) while watching Dick Clark’s New Years Rockin’ Eve (which we all know is THEE official NYE show). If we aren’t together, no matter where we are, we are on the phone at midnight.

    Have a fun NYE. Maybe you can teach your Gram the Stanky Leg. 🙂

  2. busybodyk says:

    I don’t think I’ve had a memorable NYE. I can barely remember them… This year will be the first time I’m spending NYE out of the country so I hope this will be one to remember.

  3. ames says:

    I need to hook your ex up with one of my friends who love travel. We’re more low key and I used to do midnight musicals. I loved that because the bulk of my paternal family would be in church together to ring in the New Year.

  4. monica.h says:

    I don’t have a particular memorable New Year but I do remember quite vividly being in 3rd and 4th grade and my mom giving me a sip of the customary glass of bubbly. It was always soo nasty. A few years I spent knocked out only to be woken up by phone calls.

    This is the first New Year that I’m spending out of the country.

  5. Simply B says:

    I haven’t had a truly memorable New Years but my family did dance to Michael Jackson music last year. We were getting down!!!

    In the future, I hope to have one with the typical kiss at the stroke of midnight.

  6. sundaze says:

    My most memorable was 2000, the one and only year I ventured out to to Times Square. I was still living in NY and my then BF and I had planned a quiet evening on the couch. The excitement of ringing in the new millineum got the best of us and we decided, at 11:15, to jump in the car and head to the city. Luckily most folks heeded gridlock warnings and had taken the subway, so we were able to find parking and race over just before the countdown.

  7. Michael says:

    Which New Years Eve did it snow in New Orleans? 🙂

Say something

