Time for Change

My name is Babs and it has been two months since my last relaxer.

I have decided I want my hair to go natural.  Actually, I have become obsessed with the idea and can think of nothing else!  I’ve always loved natural hair styles and wished I could make the change, but until now I was never motivated to really do it.  Now I am ready.  I think.

The truth is that I have absolutely no idea what to do to get started.  I know I don’t want to just cut off all my hair and start with a TWA (teeny weeny afro) so I need to figure out the best way to do it from its current natural state.  I am willing to cut off several inches, so if that will help my cause then I’m totally down.

I need your help.  I know a lot of  you have natural hair.  So please share your favorite products, tips and tricks for going from relaxed to natural.  And if you have some favorite blogs or other websites, I’d love to see those too!

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Time for Change

  1. Angelita says:

    Yay!!! something I can speak on. If u don’t really want to cut your hair do twistouts and Bantu knot outs. They will hide the new growth. You can check out xgoldn on YouTube she has great videos. Do you want to use more natural products or is that not really a big concern?

  2. Krissy says:

    Curlynikki.com is always a good site for everything natural.

    Also you don’t have to do a “big chop” if you don’t want to. You can trim the relaxed ends every couple of weeks until they are all gone. Having ” natural” hair is a process and you’re always going to have to do what feels comfortable for you and your hair.

  3. CaliSlim says:

    Never thought I’d hear this coming from you! Don’t know why tho. 😆 Good luck!

    *pours out a lil likka for losing another creamy crack sista!*

  4. Shea says:

    Get out of my head! I’m doing a hair post later on today. I didn’t do a big chop, I transitioned for a little over a year. I’ll cover some of your questions in my post.

  5. MrsTDJ says:

    Good luck! I have no advice because I did the big chop. Thought about growing it out a time or two, but I’ve decided that I prefer barber shop short.

  6. I will not be leaving the creamy crack anytime soon but have you thought about getting braids while you transition. That is what I would probably do because I can’t cut all my hair off at once. I’d have to check myself in somewhere.

  7. amista says:

    Protective styles like braids or twists are good for transitioning. I don’t know if you’re the type to wear those styles, but you might consider keeping your hair braided/twisted over the weekend and wearing a braid/twist out during the week for work. Also, it’s important to keep your hair well moisturized, especially since the point where the natural and relaxed strands meet are more prone to breakage. You really have to see what your hair likes to know the best product to use. I like olive oil and sometimes shea based products. But everyone’s hair is different. Olive oil is rather light while shea is pretty heavy.

    I’ve actually been helping educate my 14 year old on how to maintain her natural hair so I have a few sites that come to mind:
    http://newlynatural.com/blog/
    http://www.afrobella.com/
    http://bglhonline.com/
    http://www.curlynikki.com/
    http://nappturality.com/forum/ (this one requires you to register for a log in name)

    Good luck with whatever you choose! In the process of learning how to maintain natural hair, you’re likely to gain some general tips on maintaining healthy hair.

  8. innerdiva says:

    I am so excited when women go natural! I transitioned using microbraids. You can do twist outs and braid outs to hide the difference in textures. Check out nappturality.com’s message boards for advice and styles.

  9. missmajestic says:

    hmmm before I big chopped I set my hair on rods (so it was really curly) and wore cornrows. I went 6 months w/o a relaxer with those methods before I big chopped. You could visit the Dominicans regularly to get the roots blown and flat ironed straight and gradually cut the relaxed hair, but I guess that would be more $$$$. I didn’t do that so I can’t really recommend it but I know several ladies who grew out their hair kept their roots straight with heat and gradually trimmed the relaxed hair off it seemed to work fine for them.

    oh and read s23. I’m actually relaxed currently but I read hair stuff because I never know when I’ll want to change it up again.

  10. Mick says:

    I “transitioned” for months, but ended up with a TWA anyway. LOL

    Good luck

  11. Stacyt0419 says:

    I’ve learned to install my own weaves until my relaxer grows out. I love it!!

  12. discodiva73 says:

    http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/kinky-hair-type-4/top-10-transitioning-tips

    I also love glamazini for tips on products. She uses a lot of natural concotions. Transitioning is hard because you have 2 textures…but stay patient! My blog also has some links to sites I go to.

  13. Kim says:

    I have been transitioning for a minute. I do trim my ends a bunch! I do two strand twists and braid outs a lot. Curly nikkki is great and serenity 3-0 is great too! Just surf the Internet and twitter as well!

  14. amista says:

    I don’t think my comment went through…

    To transition, you might want to wear protective styles like braids or twists since the place where the relaxed and natural hair meets is prone to more breakage. I’m not sure how much you’re into those styles, but you might consider braids/twists on the weekend with braid/twist outs during the work week.

    Here a few sites to get more info:
    http://newlynatural.com/blog/
    http://bglhonline.com/
    http://www.curlynikki.com/
    http://nappturality.com/forum/ (this one requires registration)

    Good luck with whatever you choose! In the process of learning about caring for natural hair, you’re likely to learn many good tips about caring for your hair in general.

  15. busybodyk says:

    Yay! So happy to hear this! I transitioned 5 years ago and I’m still learning new things. It isn’t always an easy journey while transitioning but I know you can do it and wish you the best! Check out my fotki hair album (http://public.fotki.com/NaturallyKendra/about ) It shows how I transitioned and has tips on products and styles plus links to lots of blogs and sites that are helpful too.

  16. Heartdrops says:

    Congrats! I think about going natural too….every 12 weeks right before I’m due for a touch up. I haven’t made up my mind yet though.
    I recommend our very own Serenity30’s blog for real tips about the journey. Good luck!

  17. Sissy says:

    I too decided to go natural, I’ve been transitioning since mid February of last year. I kept the new growth straight by blow drying and flat ironing. I get my hair cut every few months as well.

  18. GeckoGirl says:

    If by going natural, you want to wear your hair curly/kinky rather than straightened, you should try rods, twist-outs, etc. If you continue to straighten your hair while transitioning, it will become ‘heat trained’ and alter your curl pattern.

    If you do continue to straighten, I give a big thumbs down to the Dominican salons. I tried them the first time I was going natural and felt they were more damaging to my hair than any relaxer. I know you’re DIY when it comes to hair but I go to a great salon that does a lot of natural hair if you need a recommendation. The prices are also way more reasonable than places like Cu.rltopia or TooG.roovy.

  19. Lisa says:

    I’ve been natural for a couple of years and did a long term transition. There are an abundance of sites available for you to peruse with a whole lot of knowledge. But let me warn you, it all means nothing! I mean, it does mean something, just spend time getting to know YOUR hair and what works best for it. It’s going to take some trial and error, time and cash. Use the knowledge of others as a guide and not the gospel truth because what works for some, may not work for you. You can check out my blog because I’ve just now started blogging about hair. Although it is specific to my hair “type”, I believe that the information there is applicable to all naturals. If you type in “natural” in the search box, you can read some of my posts regarding.

    I read curlynikki.com, Serenity 3-0, Naturallycurly.com, and a plethora of other sites that I can email you directly. Youtube is also a good resource.

    Be patient and best wishes.

  20. Clu says:

    YAY! I don’t know why hearing about someone new going natural makes me happy. 🙂

    Although I have been natural for over 5 years now I did not really deal with the two (or 5…my natural hair varies in texture depending on where I am on my head) different textures at once. I wore kinky twists with extentions and sometimes I would do a flexi rod set when I didn’t feel like fooling with fake hair. I always knew I wanted to have locks so just toughed it out for 7 months until I had a enough hair to lock and the rest is history.

    I cheated so I don’t know much about dealing with hair in its loose natural state. My paitence is non-existent…

  21. Nerd Girl says:

    I wore braids while I grew my hair out. I always knew I was going to lock my hair up, so my goal was to grow enough hair so that I didn’t look like a dude with my new locks.

    …and what Clu said… “I cheated so I don’t know much about dealing with hair in its loose natural state. My paitence is non-existent…”

  22. onefromphilly says:

    What Nerd Girl said^^ and what Clu said^^

    My hair is way too coily to try to grow out in its natural state. i would have combed myself bald.

  23. Sasha says:

    I’m not natural but I watch a lot of youtube videos of ladies that are transitioning or natural. I don’t think you should get braids to transition. While transitioning it’s important you learn how to manage your natural new growth and maintain your hair. Braids will not help you learn your hair at all. I recommend you watch ninapruitt on youtube. She’s transitioning and she goes into detail about it.

  24. Solo Cruise says:

    You too?! This will be my third(ish) time trying. I tried two years ago and lasted 5 months before making a mad dash back to the creamy crack pusher. This time I plan to stick it out. I have no patience for the transitional period so I have braids right now. This is how I plan to get through. It has been 10 weeks for me. Good luck to you!

Say something

