Weight Watcher

On the day I gave birth to Foxy, I weighed in at an astounding 227 pounds.  An astronomical number, to be sure, and the highest I had ever made a scale strain.  The only reason I didn’t hurl myself off a bridge was knowing that most of that extra weight was comprised of baby and placenta.  Sure enough, eight days after delivering I was back in most of my prepregnancy clothes. 

Today I am back down to my prepregnancy weight, give or take 3 or 4 pounds, but I am still feeling large and in charge.  My body is a different shape than it was before getting pregnant.  I was always a shapely gal, but now I’m just…big.

I’ve decided to lose some weight.  I have an ultimate number in my head, but I’m starting with just ten pounds.  Ten pounds will slim my face down.  Ten pounds will put me in a better frame of mind.  Ten pounds will be the catalyst for losing more weight!

Disco Diva and I are going to buddy up and do Weight Watchers. 

Note to Weight Watchers: Your marketing campaign worked.  We are brainwashed.  Now please ease up on the commercials.

We have a friend that has been doing it since early December and has lost 12 pounds.  I would be totally happy with those results.  In addition to the idea of losing weight, Disco Diva is certain she will become a better singer.  I am convinced I will become more statuesque and have long flowing hair.

So wish us luck!  We are determined to be fine by spring time.  Or at least a little bit lighter.

Have you done Weight Watchers?  Any tips for success?

This entry was posted in Friends, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weight Watcher

  1. Gladys says:

    I’ve done it before and it WORKS! As long as I was following the program it worked and I lost 18 lbs my very first time which was back in 2004. I’ve done it off and on since then, but never with the same tenacity and fervor as my initial intro. I wasn’t measuring, counting points, eyeballing stuff (my eyes were certainly making a 1/2 cup of rice look like 1 cup…not good), etc. I wish you both the best!

  2. sundaze says:

    LMAO @ “Disco Diva is certain she will become a better singer.”

    I haven’t done WW but a couple of co-workers have lost an incredible amount of weight on it & have maintained for a couple years now. Just wanted to say good luck!!

  3. keyalus says:

    I did a bootleg version of WW for a while 10 years ago. A woman at my job snagged an extra points calculator and I followed that. I’m sure the support and stuff that I didn’t have will help make this a successful run for you.

    Check out the Roni’s Weigh blog. She is a total WW guru. She’s not doing it now because she’s pregnant, but she has been successful with it for a long time. She posts good WW friendly recipes on her sister site GreenLiteBites too.

    I know what you mean about being shaped differently after having a baby. I am back down to my wedding day weight now but I bet if I tried to put that dress on it would rip. My hips are bigger and my lower stomach is just uggghhh.

  4. Clu says:

    Ahhhh! I just started doing WW last week and had my first weigh in Tuesday. I wish people would let me float on my weight loss happiness cloud and not remind me that the first few weeks are mostly water weight…you’re not helping my motivation loser. I f*ckin know that…

    I’m getting used to the new Points Plus program that just started. I kinda love that most fruits and veggies are 0 points so I am more inclined to snack on them throughout the day. I did have a mini meltdown in a restaurant Saturday because I couldn’t calculate the points properly and I don’t want to start estimating so early. Sigh…the trials of a fat girl.

    • Clu says:

      I will say that I was working out 5 days a week and with a trainer eating normally and nothing changed (well I felt better but the scale didn’t budge) first week at WW (workout remained the same) I lost 9 pounds. I have a long way to go so its a nice start…even if its mostly water #face

  5. Shea says:

    “…I will become more statuesque and have long flowing hair.”
    That made me chuckle for some reason. At any rate, good luck to you and Disco Diva.

  6. Deljah says:

    I’ve done WW off and on over the years. I attained lifetime status several years ago. I never followed the program extremely tightly, but it was a good guideline for me.

    I’ve fallen off since then and would love to go back for the support, but I don’t want to pay the weekly fee, so I’m doing something else.

  7. missalid says:

    Your blog inspiration coupled with my boss lady’s 15 pound decrease since the holidays (!!!) via WW, sent me right on over to the website this morning and I signed up online.

    I must get these lbs off me before I go down the aisle in May. Good luck to you and Disco Diva!

  8. Weight Watchers works ! If you follow the plan you WILL lose weight
    I tried it back in 2002 & lost 16 pounds & maintained if for quite a while.
    I think it’s because the plan involves the basic things that always help with weight loss:
    Portion sizes (most people have no idea what a serving actually looks like)
    Food Journaling (being conscious of what you are ACTUALLY eating)
    Accountability (having to weigh every week whether you did right or wrong)
    Moral Support (meetings w/people who are struggling & encouraging you)

    Good luck ! Can’t wait to hear about your positive progress !

  9. InnerDiva says:

    I heard WW really works (much better than some of the other plans out there). I’d like to look like JHud after I push this one out.

  10. Mel says:

    My aunt started in September. I think she’s -40 lbs now. She looks great & is quite happy with it.

  11. SimplyB says:

    I lost 20lbs between Feb and June 2008. I canceled my plan and thought I could keep it up on my own but failed miserably. I’m seriously considering giving it a go again.

    Best of luck to you and Disco Diva!!!!

  12. doahleigh says:

    You’ll have to share how this works. I only really want to love about 10-15 pounds, and I always feel like this big diet plans work best for people who want to lose a lot more. You’ll have to tell me if it’s worth it!

  13. amyg says:

    I did it in the fall, and sucked at it. I think it is a great program and I would recommend finding a great meeting to go to – A positive, inspiring leader is a must and Foxy is more than welcome. I am back to Atkins because that is the only thing I have been successful at. I suck at journaling, portion control, etc. but I think for long term I must learn this. The new Points Plus program sounds very cool – You will get a calculator to calculate points now, and I hear it is all the fruit and veggies you want.

  14. Honest says:

    Whooohooo! I too have been brainwashed. I joined WW in 2008 lost 10 pounds and gained almost all of it back when I started traveling again for work. I haven’t traveled for work since Aug ’09 and re-committed myself to loosing the weight. I have lost 27 pounds since Sept ’09. It’s been hard but worth the effort.

    What worked for me was working out and watching what I ate (doing the points etc) both at home and when out and about. I did not give up the wine because well I like to drink wine and I decided if I had to give something up it would be fatty and fried foods.

    Good Luck and feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

  15. I too have been brainwashed by the long flowing hair, and great outfits. Sigh. But I’ve lost 4 pounds in 2 weeks!

  16. 1969 says:

    Best of luck. I have a friend that lost 40 pounds doing WW. It works.

  17. Icey1273 says:

    Rock it don’t stop it Babs!!! As others have stated WW does work. The first time I did it several years ago I lost 25 pounds and thought I was doing IT! Best of luck!

Say something

