Ghostface and the Hair Chronicles

I’m sitting here looking pretty ridiculous.  It’s my hair.  It kinda looks like it’s supposed to look like this on purpose, but I know that it’s not.  It’s going to take some time to figure out how to work this new regimen.  My smooth and straight took years to perfect and now I am starting from scratch.

Friday night I twisted it and rolled it.  I used my standard jojoba oil and some creamy stuff from shea moisture.  Don’t ask me what it was exactly.  Saturday morning I took it down and immediately started looking for a hat.  Unfortunately, I didn’t really have anything that would go with a hat, so I had to fix it so I could go out in public.

I took a pic of myself and gasped.  I had ghostface! Last week I went to buy my regular makeup and somehow let the girl talk me into going a shade lighter.  Now, I’ve been NC 45 for a decade, so I don’t know why I drank the kool-aid and went with NC 42.  I suppose it looked fine all week at work, but under the bright flash it was awful.  I grabbed that stuff and headed straight to Nordie’s to exchange.

I redid my hair Saturday night and felt that it looked a little better.  Today it looks…eh…I’m not really feeling it but I’ve gotten several compliments from people that don’t know any better.

I will probably do it again this evening.  I suppose I have to keep trying different things until I find what works.

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ghostface and the Hair Chronicles

  1. Krissy says:

    It looks pretty good to me. Styles really are trial and error.

  2. yahrein says:

    86 the rollers. Hi Babs. Lurker here. Sometimes it’s hard to let go of the familiar. But rollers just turn a twistout into a fro. Try just twisting or a braid out.

  3. busybodyk says:

    I think it looks good! You will notice that people will notice your hair a lot more and you will get more compliments.

  4. Icey1273 says:

    Girl BYE!! Your hair looks good! The twist out will be your natural hair Jesus in the beginning! LOLOL

  5. K. says:

    Your hair looks good to me. I’m transitioning too and there are good days and bad days w/ the hair b/c u just never know how it’s gonna turn out. Kind of frustrating but this stage won’t last forever!

  6. sundaze says:

    I like the hair. Transitioning or not, twistouts can be hit or miss until you master them. By by then your hair has grown, the shape and hang are different, and you have to get used to the way they look all over again.

  7. Shea says:

    It looks nice to me. What was it supposed to look like? I can’t speak for all natural heads, but my styles still turn out differently each time, and I’ve been in the game for 15yrs.

    Watch out how often you manipulate your hair. That can cause breakage, but since you’re just going to cut the relaxed ends off anyway, practice away.

  8. CaliSlim says:

    Come on back to the creamy crack girl!!!!!
    BTW, why’d you scrap the Laila Ali look plan?

  9. CreolePeach says:

    I don’t see anything wrong. If you’re using the Shea Moisture in the jar (I get it from Target). I use it almost daily, and I found it made my hair feeling thicker than usual and not so soft. If you’re noticing that also, one tip I can give is to put a little bit of moisturizing lotion or some of that clear smoothing gel (don’t know what it’s called) on top of it.

  10. I use a few Shea Moisture products and I love them! Also a little goes a long way. If I use to much, it makes my hair look too greasy and heavy. I’ve been natural for 9 months and my twist-out comes out different EVERY.TIME!

  11. Deljah says:

    Good luck with your transition!

  12. Lisa says:

    Your hair looks nice Babs! It will take some getting used to since you’re used to wearing your hair straight. Hang in there, it truly is trial and error. Do what works for you.

Say something

