Pobrecita

Imagine being sick and having lots of congestion.  You can’t stop coughing or sneezing.  Your throat is sore.  You are tired but can’t get any rest.  Now imagine being 7 months old and having these problems, but you can’t communicate them because you can’t talk.

My baby is sick!  I feel so bad for her.  It started on Sunday.  She had a fever and was coughing at night.  I took her to the doctor.  He said there wasn’t much I could do for her.  Just keep liquids in her and treat the fever with a little baby tylenol.

It is four days later and I think she has gotten worse.  What was once a night only cough is now a 24-hour cough.  She sneezes all the time.  And when she sneezes she shoots out gobs of snot from her nose.  It’s really quite fascinating.  They should make it a task on Minute to Win It.  Baby’s got talent!

Neither of us has slept much in the last couple of days.  She coughs all through the night and I am kept up by her coughing and by holding her so she can sleep.  It doesn’t seem to help.

She looks so pathetic and I wish I could make her feel better.  Thankfully the ladies at daycare are more than happy to hold her during the day and give her some extra TLC.

Today I am taking her back to the doctor.  Since her cough has become worse and more frequent, I think it’s best to stay on top of it.  And apparently I’m made of money.

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pobrecita

  1. ThisOneWoman says:

    Hello. I’m a lurker delurking. In addition to frequent doctor visits one thing I did for my son when he was too small for cough meds was to run a hot shower in the bathroom and sit in there with him. It helped to loosen the mucous in his chest and relieved some of his coughing. I hope Foxy feels better soon.

    • AR Gal says:

      It works for adults too. Ask me how I know?

      I also stood over a pot of boiling water with a towel over my head to suck up the steam. Too bad Foxy’s not big enough for that method. It actually worked better than the shower.

  2. Tiombe25 says:

    So sorry to here that Foxy is not feeling well. Hope she gets better soon. I agree the hot shower does help.

  3. SimplyB says:

    I hope Foxy gets well soon.

    As much as I love it, being a mother is hard and when they are sick it makes things worse. My girl has very bad eczema and is up all night scratching. I wish I could do something but nothing so far has worked. I can tell she is miserable.

    • Nerd Girl says:

      Have you tried fluocinonide? It’s RX only, but only costs like $5 for a ginormous tube. I put that on my/Lovegirl’s eczema and then put on a thin coat of Aquaphor. Has worked like a dream for us.

      • keyalus says:

        We went the rx route for Lewis’s eczema too. After he couldn’t fit baby mittens anymore the scratching got especially bad. We use an oil called DermaSmoothe that works very well.

    • Krissy says:

      I went RX with Jas’s ezcema too. After the J&J tried to do my sweet girl in I took her to the doc. They gave her hydro 2.5% and her skin cleared up by the next day. It was awesome. That Aquaphor works wonders too.

  4. Honest says:

    Hope Foxy feels better soon.

  5. Nerd Girl says:

    Awwww. I hope Foxy is better soon and that you’re both able to get some rest.

  6. mzinspiredmind says:

    I agree w/ This1Woman. Dony is asthmatic. He had his first attack around 5months old. His attack started w/ lots of coughing. One thing that tremendously helped was running a hot shower and sitting in the bathroom w/him with the door closed. The steam helped loosen all that up in his chest.

  7. keyalus says:

    It sucks really bad when they are sick. Imagine having a cold and not being able to blow your own nose! How miserable!

    The shower trick can help. You can also buy a little cool mist humidifier thing at the drug store. That is supposed to help but the shower is free. 🙂

    You are right to check on the cough. We thought Lewis had a cough once but it went on for a while and it turned out to be pneumonia. Trust your instincts in that area.

  8. Steph says:

    That sucks! If that were my son, and one day it will be, I think I’d ask the doctor to give me something for the emotional pain of having to watch him suffer through the sickness. Hope she feels better very soon!

  9. sherri says:

    get a good humidifier. It will help u both at night

    There really isnt much you can do for colds at this age,

  10. BK says:

    Hope Foxy gets better soon.

    The shower or humidifier will provide some relief also.

    An old island trick.. if you have any coconut oil.. mix it with a lil bit of nutmeg, vicks or vaseline (whichever you prefer) and warm it. rub the soles of her feet put on her socks.. put a lil bit in the mole of her head and a lil behind her ears.. she will be like nothing ever happened.. although it will all come out of her the next day.. through her diaper & nose..

  11. Shea says:

    Poor Foxy. I hope she feels better soon.

  12. Deljah says:

    Get well soon, Foxy!! Stay strong, Mommy!

  13. Krissy says:

    Poor girl. I hope she feels better soon and that you both are able to get some rest. A humidifier with some vicks worked wonders for jas when she was younger and had colds. Now she kinda knows how to blow so that helps a bit.

  14. doahleigh says:

    Sick babies make me so sad. On happy note though, love the new blog look!

Say something

