Q&A

I Q, you A:

Would you let your 10 year old daughter listen to Ke$ha?

____

Black People:  Do you get offended/annoyed when you hear white people use the term “ghetto”?

____

White People:  Do you get offended/annoyed when you hear black people use the term “white trash”?

____

What is your current favorite song?

 

 

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Q&A

  1. Krissy says:

    I’ve only heard one song from kehsa and at the moment I can’t even remember how it goes so I’m gonna day no lol

    I don’t see anything wrong with white folks sayin ghetto.*shrug*

    My fav song of the moment is ” lay with you” by El Debarge and faith evans. I can hear it 10times a day and it never gets old to me

  2. 1) Who is Ke$ha?
    2) Yes
    3) dunno, as I am not of the caucasian persuasion
    4) Start It Up – Lloyd Banks, Kanye West, Swizz Beatz, Fabulous and Ryan Leslie

  3. missmajestic says:

    Kesha cole? I don’t know who Ke$sha is?
    2. I would if they were referring to black people. I have double standards! It’s like the N-word.
    3. I don’t see why they would. They seem to be proud of being called trash or redneck. Jeff Foxworthy? You don’t see that same sentiment with black folk IMO.
    share my life by KEM

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    1. I know who she is, but no clue what she sings. So, no.
    2. I’m over the usage of the word ghetto by pretty much everyone, but offended, no.
    3. Black and Yellow by Wiz Khalifa. Does that make me ghetto??

  5. Honest says:

    1) probably not that “wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy”. I have a few songs on my ipod for my running mix.

    2) Nope

    3) I’m not white

    4) I don’t have a favorite one at this time but lately I’ve been down with whatever Rhi Rhi is singing with that drake, David Guetta re mixes and anything that has me turning up the volume in the car.

  6. busybodyk says:

    Yes
    Yes
    N/A
    ditto Honest

  7. innerdiva says:

    Nope. Her lyrics are questionable for anyone under legal drinking age.
    Depends on the context of the conversation. Sometimes it’s odd, but I think the media tosses the word “ghetto” around so much that it’s become more common. And black folks weren’t the only ones who lived in the ghetto.
    Current fave? I have 2. I’ve been playing “To Zion” because it has so much more meaning to me now. And I really like Trey Song’s “Unusual” if I don’t really listen to what he’s saying.

  8. Barista says:

    Ha. I don’t know too many people who LIKE being called white trash (as suggested above), but then again I don’t frequent the trailer parks or Appalachian foothills. I don’t care who uses the term because I know it doesn’t apply to me…and in some situations it totally applies.

    And I know I’m not black (really, I do know this for real), but I get pretty bothered when I hear the word ghetto used in certain contexts by white people.

  9. Gladys says:

    1) I doubt it. I don’t even know what she sings and for the longest I thought she was black and her name was pronounced ‘key-sha’.

    2) No, not really.

    3) NA

    4) You Are by Uncle Charlie (Charlie Wilson)

  10. Dark&Lovely says:

    1. At 10, probably not. I think at age 9 or 10 is when kids start paying attention to lyrics, although they may not totally understand what they mean.
    2. Sometimes, depending on the context, I get annoyed when white people use the word ghetto. I wouldn’t say it offends me, but annoying, yes. Its like sometimes they say it only because they are talking to a black person, as to “relate” to them. Kinda like when the say, “Whaddup girl!” Whaddup?!? For real? They don’t address their white friends like that.
    3. n/a
    4. It was “Black n Yellow”, but I’m a bit tired of that now. I like “You be killin ’em” by Fabolous and the song with Diddy and lil wayne and Mary J singing the hook, not sure what its called, “Lookin for someone to love me” ?? that might be it

  11. jamie says:

    1- Who?
    2- NA
    3- I don’t like any term that is used to generalize/stereotype any group in a negative and deragatory manner.
    4- Bartender song by Rehab.

  12. Clu says:

    1. No
    2. I find it annoying.
    3. n/a
    4. I still listen to tthe entire Roots album “How I Got Over” on loop but it does nothing for me at the gym. Black & Yellow gets me amp’d so I love it.

  13. keyalus says:

    1. I dunno. There is a lot more offensive music played on the radio than Kesha’s stuff to me. If I were to limit her I might as well turn off everything on the radio. The avg music played on your Hot 97 type station is highly sexualized and just plain crass.

    2. It depends on the context. I recognize that the comment is more about socio-economic status than race. But do poor people deserve to be made fun of and stigmatized and lumped into one stereotypical group?

    3. N/A

    4. Anthony David & Algebra – 4evermore

  14. Jack says:

    1. I would try and discourage it because she SUCKS!!

    2. was not aware that ghetto was exclusive to a race, it always meant poor part of town to me, but not being black I don’t know if it is offensive.

    3. I never used white trash growing up but trailer trash was a fav of mine and I have been called worse things then that.

    4. Flex Gym Beat Sauce(Duck Sauce vs. Dizzee Rascal vs. Ray Krebbs vs. Michael Jackson) & Folsom Prison Gangstaz(Eazy-E vs. Johnny Cash) which are on the Best of Bootie 2010 mash up cd.

  15. amyg says:

    ditto on Jack for the first three….Favorite song???? not sure – I love a song until I hear it too many times, and then I hate it.

  16. t. sheree says:

    1 – No.
    2 – No.
    3 – n/a
    4 – It’s old, but I’ve been playing John Ma.yer’s I Don’t Trust Myself (with Loving You) on repeat. As far as what’s playing now…Trey Songz Can’t Be Friends.

  17. K says:

    1. Negatory
    2. n/a
    3. Nope. Because I’m not.
    4. I’m liking CeeLo’s F* You and

  18. Sammy Sue says:

    1: Who is she?
    2/3: Unfortunately, there are always people in this world who are content to use derogatory language directed at hurting others. It’s really up to us how we react to those people and situations. I choose to ignore the ignorant, those people who don’t have a broader vocabulary to use 🙂
    4: Into the Mystic and Amazing Grace (any version will do)

Say something

